Pirelli P Zero

The Pirelli P Zero is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli P Zero
70%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
71%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
60%
Comfort
65%
Buy Again
55%

Pirelli P Zero Reviews (4)

55%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Peugeot 607

Bought 4 new tyres for my 607 2.7 hdi
Which is a comfi car of 1800 kg
I life in the south of France and commute 160 km a day on the highway.
Since it is almost never wet I could not be bordered with that.

Comming from my LingLong Greenmax I had money to spend so I bought these pirelli's at 178 a piece. ( mounted )
It always a nice feeling to treat youself and nowing you have got one of the best tyres beneath you.
They look nice to.

Ok a sporty tyre would be more uncomforable but these made a lot of noise.
Yes steering was direct and even at high ( 180 ) speed it was a solid.
Under breaking every thing was great to.
Nice feedback about grip, there is on corner near Aix en Provence where you can test this and it stays stable until high speed.
Tyre wear is more than expected, did 40k and have 3.5 mm left.

Had no failures nor had to balanced again so I had a carefree year.
But they started to make more and more noise so I changed them today.
Bought 4 new Linglongs at 65 euro's mounted

Finaly silence and ease back in my car.
For that money the best tyre for me and my car.


Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-19-W
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

BMW 330

Gouged the sidewall on a nearly new Goodyear F1 while negotiating a narrow lane in Devon, Pirelli was the only quality alternative available. Plenty of dry grip but not so good in the wet. worn out after 10K, abysmal. The Goodyear F1 on the same axle was about half worn despite 2000 more miles. Won't ever buy Pirelli again, not a patch on the F1 for mileage and not that hot on grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-17-
40%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Easy Going miles

Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel

After running Michelin Pilot sport for 4 yrs decided to change to Pirelli. One of the worst decisions. In 3 years I have had to change 5 tyres, 4 due to side wall damage and one due to a nail. My driving has not changed, Pirelli are useless when you occasi9nally mount a kerb at very low speed. I get huge understeer with these tyres. Just ditched my two fronts for Michelins.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz SLK 200

These tyres were on the car when I bought it, at 14000 milies. The fronts (225/40x18) are still the original tyres I believe, so have covered 26000 miles; the rears (245/35x18) were new when I got the car, so have covered 12000 milies.
Tread depth is about 1mm above the tread bar indicator on all four wheels - so the rears have worn twice as quick as the fronts, which sounds right. The wear rate sounds about right too (though I should try to keep a lighter right foot).
Grip - in the dry, great; in the wet, good. No complaints at all, as long as it's summer (in the UK). Once September arrives and the temperature starts dropping below 10 deg C, they become a liability. Even in the dry, if the temperature gets much below 9 or 10 deg C, then be very careful. I only have the 'baby' SLK; what it would be like in a 350 I hate to think.
Fortunately for me, the tyres are low on tread and it's August - so I'll be wearing some different rubber before the colder weather comes.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-18-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 24,000 Average miles

SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD)

I thought this car would lunch front tyres. I really did. 290hp through the front axle couldn't be sensible. 24,000 miles later the P-Zeros still have 1mm of tread spare. I haven't checked the rears yet but they were at 6mm after 17,000 miles.

I've maybe done 65% motorway driving and 35% country roads in what is always a heavily loaded daily driver and for me the Pirellis have always felt secure, maybe not as responsive or sharp in feedback, but a really solid drive. They do suffer in the wet but again no more than most. The feeling of grip didn't diminish until the last 20% of driving, but I have noticed a serious drop in grip since clearing 20,000 miles, so that's something to watch out for. I have also noticed a train-track effect in the last 4,000 miles too.

Sadly the main strength of these tyres seems to also be their main weakness. They are so hard and and so loud to drive on. Admittedly 19 inch rims always suffer for ride, but these tyres seem exceptionally hard. Road noise is a real terror. I think this may also hurt the ability to put the power down, as they feel so stiff. Bearing in mind getting off the line is the Achilles heel of a FWD car, I would really want the tyre to help the car set off smoother.

Reading other people's reviews, it looks like you can solve the noise problem by going for Goodyear E1A3s, or you can solve the off-the-line issue by going to PS4s or PSSs. However, I haven't seen any reviews that have got the kind of mileage I've had with the P-Zeros.

On balance that's also a budget argument; E1A3s are cheaper and quieter but you may get through them quicker, P-Zeros are more hard wearing but more expensive and loud, PSSs and PS4s are the ultimate for performance but you're going to pay through the nose.

Personally with the amount of motorway miles I do I'm probably going to go for the E1A3s. It's the sensible move.

Now how do I tell my wife I've spent £340 on a pair of Michelin Super Sports? XD

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Average miles

Audi a3 s line

bought the tyres as recommended for audi AO, excellent grip in the dry . good grip in the wet once tyres have warmed up. when they are cold easily spin on acceleration .... bit of road noise but not too bad , most disappointing was wear..looking to replace now down to 3mm after approx 10k miles mainly motorway driving ....unsure if going with p zero

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

BMW 525D

The tyres have too much grip and follow every track in the road. Sometimes they suddenly pull the car left or right. Which results in a slightly nervous ride..vs the continental tyres that I had before. So overall not very comfortable and the wear and tear (2 years) seems quicker as well probably because of the grip...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
39%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Average miles

Ford Mustang

Fitted to Mustang from factory, absolutely awful tyre unless it’s a really hot day. In the wet they just don’t grip at all, even on a moderately damp road they break traction without even trying. Couldn’t wait to get rid of them, pulled off the car at 9000 mile and they have 5mm left so wear rate is pretty good.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,500 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo Giulietta

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,000 Average miles

Porsche Cayman

These P-Zero N1’s came with the car. Dry handling is excellent. Unfortunately grip in any other conditions is just terrible. I have 3mm left on the rears yet even in light rain they just don’t grip. Traction control light flashing like mad on mild acceleration, the back slides out all over the place, thankfully the Porsche run an experience day at Silverstone which teaches you all about handling the car safely, not something I had planned to use quite so frequently. Anyway replacement tyres now ordered I will not be going back to Pirelli.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.