Pirelli P Zero

The Pirelli P Zero is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Pirelli P Zero
69%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
70%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
73%
Wear
60%
Comfort
65%
Buy Again
56%

Pirelli P Zero Reviews

93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 11 Spirited miles

Porsche 986 Boxster S

Grip, tracking, handling & feedback superb. Wear acceptable given exceptional performance. Some (premature?) perishing visible from age, but handling not noticeably affected. Mechanic advised typical of PZeros. Persuaded to try Toyos (front & rear) which regretfully NOT in same league. Will switch back ASAP.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type S 2.2 i CDTi

Used for 9 years from new. Wouldnt change as I have now 127k on the car. Get average 28k on fronts and I like to drive fast

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,500 Average miles

Jaguar XJR

My three of my cars have come with PZeros fitted. Jaguar S-Type R - followed lorry ruts like tram lines, noisy, replaced immediately with Continentals which fixed everything. XJR (1) - replaced all four due to pot hole damage and of the new ones two were not round leading to a shaking at 70 that nobody could eliminate. Dealer very unhelpful about getting them replaced after a place with a Hunter machine proved the tyres were defective. Near useless in the cold or 'lightly wet', wore down to 60% in 4500 miles and stopped gripping. XJR (2) - only just got this one, tyres are all down to about 3.5mm, traction and grip are terrible to the point of being unsafe. Will be replacing them with something else. Summary - repeatedly unimpressed, on expansion joints the car will actually skip at normal everyday speeds. Very prone to damage from pot holes, good in the dry but poor in the cold and useful grip runs out long before you reach the legal limit. Obvious QC issues if I'm able to get two bad ones in a set of four - since front/rear wheel sizes are different on these cars and I had a bad one of each it can't be written off as a batch problem. Rim protection is above average on the upside. Newer PZ4 might be better but be warned unless you SPECIFICALLY tell them otherwise JLR dealers will fit these older types by default.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
65%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12 Average miles

BMW X3 2.0d Sport

The pirelli p-zero is a very good tyre for performance in the Corners. I was extremely disappointed at the wear rate as the front tyres only lasted 12,000 miles before being replaced.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-19-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M

Good tyres if you live in warm places with little rainfall. Wear is always uneven and happens very quickly. Had the on 3 vehicles now and doesn't change with weight and sizes.

Tyre size reviewed: 285-40-20-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C220 cdi sport

Swapped from Conti to save £20/tyre. Bad move. My Merc C220 sport was fun to drive wet or dry. Wet is now frightening, car just lets go in unpredictable ways. I'm a life long biker used to the feel of the bike under my arse and adjusting as needed. The P Zero just has no feedback on a wet road. I've done 10k Miles on these tyres so plenty of time to learn to live with them. They are horrid on my Merc.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 6 MPS 2.3L V6 Turbo AWD

I love those tyres. They get warm very fast , very nice handling, very good for wet roads in the highway or in town. Ideal for roads with low grip. They wear fast!!! Previous tyres: Bridgestone RE050A, not satisfied at all especially on wet roads. P Zero Rosso, average, better than Bridgestone

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
39%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Porsche 718 GTS

These are the worst "performance tyres" I've ever had the misfortune of using. Poor grip in the wet. Enough grip in the dry. Poor feedback and not progressive at the limit.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-20-W
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Audi S6

I saw another review on these tyres by an Audi S6 owner and couldn't agree more. On a less powerful lighter car these tyres might be fine but they are useless on an S7. I also have changed to Michelin PS4 for a more conformable ride and better wear with far more stickability especially in the wet. These are expensive overpriced tyres. Note car ios S7 but the tick down box only offers S6 then S8.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-30-21-W
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,500 Spirited miles

Hyundai i30

The Pirelli P Zero HN were fitted on my Hyundai i30N Perfomance Hatchback when I bought it new. I haven't read too much good stuff about these tyres but that they'll perform this bad is out of my imagination. The home of the i30N are curves and county roads, it's not the fastest on the straight line, but for sure the fast motorway trips (I live in Germany, so 200+ km/h is nothing new to me ;) ) are not the crucial parts for such a bad wear. I've fitted them about 4500km ago and already lost 4mm tire tread. 4mm front, 3mm in the rear. I've never driven a tire that uses this extensive. My old Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 lasted over 45.000km with a car weighed over 1.8tons. Same driving style. The dry grip is good but decents fast if the tire gets stressed a lot. Wet grip is creepy. You can't even take of normally after a stop without wheelspin. Even in 3rd to 4th gear - no grip while accelerating. Aquaplaning IS A THING! Feedback is average to good. I don't like the handling. Sometimes you got grip and out of a sudden loose it whithout it being predictable - SCARY. I can't recommend this tire at all. Maybe it's the special design that they made for Hynundai but my next tyre will be Michelin PS4S or Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.