Bridgestone Potenza S001

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Potenza S001
72%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
73%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
69%
Comfort
64%
Buy Again
62%

Bridgestone Potenza S001 Reviews (3)

70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 17,000 Average miles

BMW 428i m sport coupe

Really good tyre in the warm and dry, you can really push your car round the corner and the tyres just grip. I cannot say the same for the wet, even half throttle will loose grip in a corner.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
42%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

BMW 318

long braking distances in wet, can lock the front brakes with moderate amount of braking as tyre loss grip on wet roads, not a comfortable tyre, can feel the smallest bumps in the road. tyres feel numb at times, will not buy again, fuel economy not great as well

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
95%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 800 Average miles

Audi S3

Purchased these for all 4 alloys on my Audi S3 at a very good price, had ContiSport6 before.

I have to say I have never seen the traction light flash on my car with the Potenza's on, these tyres are very good in the rain and dry, even at high speed around corners.

Launch controlled my car several times with these tyres on and it handles it very well.

Can't really complain especially when they are giving lifetime guarentee on the tyres, would purchase these on my next set for my Golf GTD.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,142 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp

Handling is simply not what i expect, a series of disappointing results.
The rear was more likely to move. It doesn't feel connected at all. My last set of tires was pirelli p zero nero and they were much better.
Next tires will be michelin pilot sport 4 or continental sport contact 6.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz SLK 230

Had these installed on my 1998 SLK 230. The car is on lowering springs and Koni yellow shocks, therefore the tyres a bit more diagonally placed. These tyres wear pretty quickly on the inside, but that has something to do with the fact that my car is lowered. So maybe I am not the right person to say anything about the wear on these tyres.

One thing I can say something about is noise, these tyres are bit noisy. After that I replaced these Bridgestones with Michelin PS2's, I noticed that those tyres were a lot quieter. The Michelins also absorb the bumps in the road far better I must say. The Michelins also seem to be more stable during high speed cornering, that doesn't that the Bridgestones handle badly, high speed stability and grip is fine. But the Michelins are better.

Overall I would recommend this tyre if you can get it cheaply. Otherwise I would recommend the Michelins.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Average miles

Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,500 Average miles

Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD

To many side wall cracks ,, dodge tyres

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTI PP DSG

Original equipment but in my view a poor choice. Some of the poorest wet weather performance I have experienced in 47 years of driving

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 29,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo Giulietta

Outstanding rigidity and dry grip. Very good wet grip and road feedback. The Durability of this tyre is marvelous as well.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf GTI MK7

Spin during 1st and 2nd gear but overall an okay tyre, wouldn't choose this tyre but it was on my MK7 Golf GTI as standard so kept them but now moving on Michelin Pilot Sport 4.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.