Bridgestone Potenza S001

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Potenza S001
72%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
73%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
69%
Comfort
64%
Buy Again
62%

Bridgestone Potenza S001 Reviews (2)

43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20 Easy Going miles

SEAT Leon SC FR 1.4 TSI

Feels like running on plastic tyres. You check and double check the air pressure, maybe you overinflated them. :( No comfort, low grip on dry,with 150 hp you lose grip on accelation, on mountain curves is lacking confidence by not showing you the amount of grip you have and on wet..... Ohhhh...on wet you have to be very carefull. Extra carefull. Zero grip. After one season i see know small cracks on it. And i don't drive sporty. They are noisy. More noisy then the winter tyres i had this winter. It sucks. I bought the car with those tyres. I would not pay a penny on them if i have a choice

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
34%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTI PP DSG

These tyres were already on my MK7 Golf GTI which has around 320bhp thanks to a few upgrades, but these tyres are not capable of handling the increased power. Straight-line acceleration in any gear up to 3rd and sometimes even 4th causes the traction control light to come on and taking dry corners I would usually do at 60mph in my much slower Scirocco causes a lot of squeal on these tyres at a tame 50mph in the Golf. These tyres are also incredibly loud. Considering my Scirocco before (workhorse) had a mix of budget tyres on it including some Avons which cracked within 12 months of having them and I thought they were noisy, I was looking forward to a quieter, more luxurious drive on these premium tyres in the Golf, but unfortunately I've been quite disappointed. The tyres are just too hard for fast road use, and are not a good solution for putting the power down on a mapped GTI, though I'm sure as a result the mileage would be great. Unfortunately I'm not getting on with them so will be changing to something grippier when I change wheels in the next few weeks.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Honda Civic 1.8 VTEC Sport

Fine on wet & dry not normally pushed car @max despite available 170bhp.. v. grippy in dry when car was occasionally pushed hard into corners. Got 45000km on 4 good wear on awful roads in West of Ireland...noisy..definitely transmit bumps etc through may not be best choice if you travel>60% on country roads ...excellent on motorways

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
37%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 2,000 Spirited miles

BMW 218d Active Tourer

Overpriced, not even close in performance as the price of them suggests.

Wet grip is appalling. Tyre noise is horrific, fuel economy is worse from my previous set of dunlops.

Steering wheel feedback is good, and I like how they have a lip and sit proud of the edge of the alloy giving slight protection. but I dont trust them one bit and no longer trust my car because of it. Very unpredictable handling when pushed. My BMW is xdrive and now struggles for grip off the line as the dunlops didnt.

Recommended by a BMW specialist over the dunlops when I had them fitted, would never listen to BMW again, will never buy again and will never recommend to anyone. Plenty of tyres out there that are better for the money.

Worst 800 pound I ever spent.

Very disappointed Bridgestone!



Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Spirited miles

Mazda mx 5

These are oem tyres fitted to a 2019 Mazda mx5. The car has 5000km's done, and mostly driven on city roads with the odd dual carriageway blast here and there.
My initial thoughts were that they felt like a hard compound tyre. The rear wheels have lost traction when conditions were damp under mild acceleration numerous times. Traction control has kicked in a lot during wet weather. Car has skidded out sideways (a little) on many occasions, but not enough to cause serious concern, however its enough to warrant removal of tyres.
On occasions where I've had to accelerate hard from a standstill these tyres spun in wet and damp conditions,
But they managed to grip ok whilst dry.

Under normal weather conditions they perform adequately but still aren't a match for the calibre of the car they are fitted to.
Ive noticed poor road feedback at speed, high noise, and theyre not very accurate in terms of road position. The response is very slow and not confidence inspiring.
At times ive felt like my car is not a sports car. I've had landsail tyres on a Hyundai coupe that performed better than these potenzas.

While road conditions are poor in my country, there's no excuse to be fitting these tyres as oem equipment. Combining these tyres to the Irish climate, Irish roads, and finally to a tail happy rear wheel drive car is asking for trouble.

I do not recommend these tyres unless you live in a warm/moderate climate and only do motorway trips.
They are not suitable for my car or it's driving environment.
I will be changing these tyres asap.


Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD

Fitted as original equipment on my 17 plate Golf Mk7 GTD. I'm not a boy racer so the grip in both wet and dry is more than adequate for my purposes. I do like to accelerate though, and this is beginning to show as relatively high wear on the fronts, but probably no more than any other tyre exhibit. The big disappointment however is the road noise on anything other than the smoothest of surfaces - to be frank, it's often b****y awful and can turn what should have been a pleasant drive into an ordeal. Unless you are deaf, do not buy these tyres!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

SEAT 1.4 TSI

I'm driving 6,000 miles (18,000-26,000). I am not satisfied. He does a lot of skating and doesn't reassure the bends. Also very hard. The tire life is long and the tread depth is very good but the handling is below my expectations. I won't buy it again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,600 Spirited miles

Subaru Impreza WRX

+Amazing grip, never lost traction.
+Even at hard launches the brand new clutch is slipping while the tires are launching the car.
+The tire is definitely quieter than Pirelli p zero and and offer much better wet grip.

- The only possible con of the tires is that their supreme performance is very dependent on the pressure.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)

Great in the dry, lethal in the wet. Loose traction suddenly, few scary moments!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
68%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

BMW 120d M sport

Not at all a bad tyre, but the difference in dry vs. wet is surprisingly large. The grip loss in the wet is sudden. (Maybe the Runflat design is partly to blame for that.)

I think the RE720 (yes that was LONG time ago) and the 050A were much better in the wet, not much more grip, but much more progressive slip. It's all about confidence and control.

S001 will stand up to a trackday, which was part its predecessors brief too. That makes it a good choice over some other UHPs, which tend to overheat and never really recover.

Oh, if you have lots of motorway miles, the noise is quite intrusive.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.