Bridgestone Potenza S001

The Bridgestone Potenza S001 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Potenza S001
72%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
73%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
69%
Comfort
64%
Buy Again
62%

Bridgestone Potenza S001 Reviews

31%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

BMW X4 20d X drive

BMW X4 Runflats. 69 plate. 10,000 mls 3mm left on both fronts. Felt I was driving on air . No feedback. With so much wear you would have expected the tyres to have stuck to the road. Exactly the opposite! Worst of both worlds for wear and grip. Costing approx 200 each fitted. Definitely not buying again.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-
39%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 24,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards)

Bought a 2015 MX5 with these tires on as OEM. The car has done 24000 miles from new and the tires are worn out. The ride is bumpy and the tires feel really hard to the point where they don't grip well. Driving hard in the dry they are acceptable. Driving hard in the wet is not possible due to low levels of grip. In the wet it's like driving with banana skins on your wheels and steering becomes inprecise. These tires are probably great if you live in a hot, dry country as they do start to grip well when warmed up. Unfortunately I live in Scotland!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 17,500 Spirited miles

Subaru Legacy 2.0GT Spec B

These were already fitted to my fresh import in 2018 and while I find most tyres aren't worth writing about, these were eye widening. Best performance tyres I've ever had, with pin sharp turn-in and what seemed like unlimited grip in both dry and wet, summer or winter. Gave me the confidence to push-on down UK back roads in all weathers. Main down side was the very firm ride, feeling every irregularity in the road. Subaru recommends relatively low tyres pressures, especially on the rear and I believe this contributed to bold shoulders at 17,500 miles, so I now run an extra 2psi. These are no longer available in my tyre size and so I've switched to the older RE050A, which actually seem a better compromise for a performance family estate, with a more compliant ride, while retaining most of the performance. Just waiting to see how they wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-18-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 11,500 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C200 w205

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

Is a hard overall tyre. Very good grip on the dry but need much time to warm. Very good handline, the steering well obeys immediately. So, hard tyre = hard to wear. Three years with sporty driving on dry contitions, over than 40k kilometers and still alive. Wet grip it's not the best point of this tyre. Looks nice till 120km/h but don't pushing more than 120 on wet contitions. About comfort. No, the point of this tyre also isn't the comfortable. Very noisy on good roads, and very shaking on bumpy road.Yes i am very hapy about this tyre for my personal use and i will buy it again

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 80,000 Average miles

BMW F30 320D

A good dry performer. Average web performance Front installation lasted more than 80000miles RFT tyres were too stiff and produced a bumpy ride especially with 19"

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 32,320 Spirited miles

BMW 125D

I have also got a pair of 225/40/18’s on the front. These tyres get a lot of stick. They are runflats and with any run flat they are going to be a tad noisy. These tyres have been on the car since new and covered 32k miles with 2-2-3mm of tread left (lot of motorway miles). Dry grip fantastic on a decent surface. If you go over bumps and the likes especially at speed you will have your back tested. Pot holes will give you a scare too. They are runflats though and all runflats I have owned over the years have the same comfort level. (I haven’t tried the driveguard ones yet as they only have specific sizes). In the right conditions though they are fantastic if your messing with 200bhp plus. On a dry day I wouldn’t hesitate to launch the car around a tight bend at speed as these things stick to the road well. These tyres are 3 years old too and no puncture issues or damage. I have a new set going on the car next week.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-18-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Mitsubishi Attrage GS

Lasted 50 Loud Bad wet grip

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-V
43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20 Easy Going miles

SEAT Leon SC FR 1.4 TSI

Feels like running on plastic tyres. You check and double check the air pressure, maybe you overinflated them. :( No comfort, low grip on dry,with 150 hp you lose grip on accelation, on mountain curves is lacking confidence by not showing you the amount of grip you have and on wet..... Ohhhh...on wet you have to be very carefull. Extra carefull. Zero grip. After one season i see know small cracks on it. And i don't drive sporty. They are noisy. More noisy then the winter tyres i had this winter. It sucks. I bought the car with those tyres. I would not pay a penny on them if i have a choice

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
34%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 3
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTI PP DSG

These tyres were already on my MK7 Golf GTI which has around 320bhp thanks to a few upgrades, but these tyres are not capable of handling the increased power. Straight-line acceleration in any gear up to 3rd and sometimes even 4th causes the traction control light to come on and taking dry corners I would usually do at 60mph in my much slower Scirocco causes a lot of squeal on these tyres at a tame 50mph in the Golf. These tyres are also incredibly loud. Considering my Scirocco before (workhorse) had a mix of budget tyres on it including some Avons which cracked within 12 months of having them and I thought they were noisy, I was looking forward to a quieter, more luxurious drive on these premium tyres in the Golf, but unfortunately I've been quite disappointed. The tyres are just too hard for fast road use, and are not a good solution for putting the power down on a mapped GTI, though I'm sure as a result the mileage would be great. Unfortunately I'm not getting on with them so will be changing to something grippier when I change wheels in the next few weeks.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.