Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3
83%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
84%
Wear
74%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews (4)

96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 44,000 Average miles

Honda Accord

This tyre lasted me 4 years with 70,000km on the clock. It would last me another 10,000km if it wasn't for a misaligned toe/camber on one of my front tyre which as a result made the outer wall worned out to it's minimum legal thickness. The other 3 tyres are fine and still have about 1.5-2mm above the tyre tread indicator. I drive conservatively and on occasions spirited when driving through the mountains. Compared to my OEM Michelin MXV8 in torrential rain, the PS3 cuts through water like a hot knife through butter. The level of grip is outstanding and the car felt secured and planted. In the dry, grip is good too as you would expect. Being this model is end of life now, i still highly recommend them if you can get it. But if you can't, there's always the PS4 which i have just replaced on all 4 corners.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 159

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen up!

These tyres replaced Toyo NanoEnergy 3s which I ran for about 30,000km. They were replaced not due to wear, but because the wet grip reduced dramatically and tyre noise and impact harshness increased.
PS3s were the best performance tyres available in this size, so I bought a set!

Ride comfort over sharp imperfections in the road (such as reflectors) has improved markedly, and surprisingly road noise seems lower (even though the Toyos had a 69dB rating, where the Michelins are 70 or 71dB).

Steering feel and immediacy has taken a dramatic leap forward with these tyres. Steering feel on initial turn-in is light but quick, and weight builds progressively as steering angle is increased. Now the Bilstein B12 kit fitted to my car really shines! My up! is now an overgrown go-kart.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-55-15-V
30%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Audi TT Mk1 1.8T 225BHP

Fitted these as partly worn:
rears with 4mm - after 6000 miles 1.5mm,
fronts with >5mm - after 6000 miles

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 16,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Scirocco 1,4 TSI 160hp

Michelin seems to have found the perfect balance between grip in the dry and the wet; these tyres gripped very well on dry tarmac, yet also managed to avoid understear on wet surfaces, leading the water away to the sides quickly. The dry grip might have been a little bit better if the tyre had been harder, but then I think the wet-weather abilities would have suffered.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Ford AU wagon

I had these on one of my cars for 20kmiles then when that car went to the graveyard I put them on the Fairmont which has slightly softter suspension. I had to put some more air in as they had lost a little. This caused a high road noise but as the tread blocks wore down the noise went away.

On the Falcon SR Wagon I never found their limits on cornering in fact the SR suspension likes hard acceleration to increase cornering ability. The grip in the wet is also very good, The Pirelli's I had once would fish tail down the dry road if they touched a wet spot. I can't break traction in the wet.

I usually get 70-80k km from a set in 8 months of driving.

Definately recommend them for spirited driving on all types of roads. They have saved me many times from Kangaroo's on the road.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Opel Corsa C

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Mitsubishi FTO GPvR

Not bad tyres, but not exceptional either. Too soft and squidgy for really decent handling but at the same time it's not sliding out of shape on every bend, wet or dry. Similar to Uniroyal Rainsport 2/3 and Goodyear Efficient Grip Performance in feel, slightly better then the Goodyears maybe not quite as nice as the Rainsports. Wear is truly terrible, less than 5000 miles on the front of my FTO. Don't think I'll buy again but for something small and light or a shopping wagon I think these could be a real winner. For a FWD Sports Coupe, find something else. Sadly there's very little choice for the OEM wheel size for me.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Citro├źn DS5 2.0 Hdi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 307

Probably the best tire I have ever fitted in my car. Exceptional dry and wet grip, exceptional handling.

What really impressed me the most was the road feedback they give. On slippery surface on open turns (average 80-90km/h) when they begin to reach their limit BEFORE they start to lose grip they sent a subtle, yet noticeable tik-tik, or tapping, feeling to the steering wheel. At first, I thought it was my imagination, but tested it again and again I had the same results. Really impressive, hats off to Michelin engineers.

Not even once was I able to make them squeak. I turned hard, but in the end I stopped trying because the odometer was reading 3-digit figures on country roads. In other words, not once did I feel that I brought them to their limit; rather, they broke ME in ;)

Wear was what a lot better than what you'd expect from a sports tire. At 35.000km when they were replaced, there was still 4.5mm of tread, really nice.

For comfort, I cannot comment, as I seem to be the only one around here not being able to understand whether the tires are comfortable, the sidewalls soft or hard etc. What I can comment on though was the rather high noise they made.

As for fuel economy, they gave me the same consumption as the Energy Savers I had before, increased by a 2%.

If they hadn't been replaced, I would totally recommend them. PS4 should be a better tire, but if I found the PS3s at a considerably lower price than the PS4s, I'd honestly go for them, you can't go wrong.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.