Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3

The Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3
83%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
85%
Progressiveness
84%
Wear
74%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
80%

Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 Reviews

81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI

Excellent hydroplaning resistance, good in dry, numb handling feel, comfortable, soft sidewalls. As long as you're not the type that pushes the car to the limit, this is an excellent tyre. Perfect for family car. I drive a proton waja fitted with coilovers and stiffen anti roll bars. Needless to say, road feedback is determined mostly by the tyre due to stiff characteristics of the suspension setup. I touge my car up Fraser's hill, Ulu yam,...etc occasionally. Driven on these tyres until it reaches the markers Here's my opinion, the sidewalls are too soft and causes a delayed response for corner entry or sudden lane changes. This gives the impression of losing control but it's actually all fine. Therefore it's not as predictable at the limits in the dry. The grip on these are superb and it can almost match semi slicks when it's warmed up. In the wet is where these tyre shine, it gives you full confidence in the wet. Never once hydroplaned in these tyres even after accidentally hitting puddles on highway speeds. In terms of comfort, it made my car feel very comfortable even though I'm on coilovers, some of my friends and family didn't even notice I'm on stiffen suspension. Noise level is also very low. It tends to wear on the outside due to the sidewall flex. But running some negative camber managed to balanced it out. Overall an impressive tyre and would buy again for a family car. For car enthusiasts, you probably want some other tyres which has stiffer sidewalls.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-15-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio 172 Cup

Bought Clio Cup in 2017 with 2 x Uniroyal rainsport 3 and 2 x Toyo T1R fitted - Then fitted new 4 x new Toyo T1R as they had been recommended by a hard core clio nut. I couldn't resist a bargain (having picked them up for £30 per corner).but was never happy with the performance. The dry grip was OK but in the wet they were lethal. Having already switched from T1Rs on my Accord Type R to Michelin Pilot Sport 4 I decided to bite the bullet and get Michelin Pilot Sport 3 for the Clio. Better grip in the dry and now pretty good in the wet too, a great all year round tyre. After 5000 miles the average usable tread depth remaining is 4.6mm (to the legal limit bars). My main criticism is that feedback from the tyre is a little numb. My next tyre upgrade (for summer and track use only) will be Dunlop DZ03G and reduction in wheel size to 15". Moral of the story, never scrimp on tyres, it only costs in the long run. Buy the best available regardless of cost otherwise you never reach your car's potential.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-16-V
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 50,000 Spirited miles

Daihatsu Perodua Myvi 1.3 SE

Honestly one of the most worth it tyres to have.

Previous tyres was RE003, before changing to PS3.

Constant sprited driving in the "malaysian supercar". Casual Genting/Uluyam car.

Still grips and able to be pushed to car's limit even after over 50000km on tyres on dry. Wet performance have not deteriorated too bad.

Noise level was low at beginning, but gets louder over time. Still acceptable and not re003 loud.

This is the most reliable and well performed tyres so far.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta mk7 150HP

Very over estimated (and also over priced).

Weak handling and feedback in dry, they feel spongy all the time. To make it more sharp, buying new Bridgestone T005 (same size) gives you totally different league driving experience.

Definitely do not recommend PS3.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 26,000 Spirited miles

Mitsubishi Colt

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C180 AMG Sport Estate

I bought my 2012 C180 CGI AMG about 6000 miles ago and it came with PS3s in the front. They were DOTxx15, so very high points on wear!
They had about 3 mm of thread when I bought the car and when changed them for the PS4s 10 days ago they still had 2 mm of thread! Main reason of changing before getting to the legal 1.6 mm is that I had a bolt stuck in one of the tire. (Yes, I drove the car for the last 2 months - about 1000 miles - knwoingly that I have an allen bolt stuck in one of the tires).
I was amazed how good they were even at the end of their life - 4 years old and only 2 mm of thread - going hard around roundabouts or cruising at high speeds on the motorway - no issues!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Spirited miles

Audi A5

Originally had Pirelli Rosso Tyres on my 2015 A5 S-Line 1.8TSi, seemed to grip ok but first outing out on a motorway revealed terrific tyre noise roar which having been used to a almost deafly silence in a previous car which happen to have Michelins on was quite alarming. Although the Pirelli's were no where near worn I quickly replaced them with some PS3's, straight away this cut the road roar down to an acceptable level, don't have to turn the radio up so much now! The Michelins have also made the suspension a little more forgiving on the S-line's harsh ride and the dry grip is what you would expect from a Michelin.
The one thing it hasn't completely cured is the tramlining which probably is more to due to the width of the tyres and suspension set up,(appears to be a common complaint on the Audi) I have found that reducing the tyre pressure a couple of LBs has slightly improved that issue. Wet grip on quick get away is probably not as good as the Pirelli but again the car is crying out for traction control especially when the weight of the engine/gearbox on the A4/A5 is forward of the front axle.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai i30

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Daihatsu Perodua Myvi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 190-50-15-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.