Continental ContiSportContact 5 P

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 P is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P
73%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
78%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
56%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
58%

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P Reviews (6)

30%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Audi S4

Audi S4 B8 Avant, 255x35x19 AO
Coming from kumho ecsta le sport, decided on these after reading all the wonderfull 'professional' reviews. What can I say, but what an overated , overpriced tyre !
+ they absorb bumps and pot holes very well,
- from a sporty perspective they lack any reasonable cornering ability, the side walls must be made of jelly, explaining there comfort ability
- The cornering feedback if your brave enough to push them is near non existent.Certainly in the wet driving like miss daisy is the order of the day.
- The noise levels are just too high unless you wear ear defenders, put the pressure up to Audis recommended 41/41 to try to make them have some sort of handling ability and enter tramlining and braking instability and even more noise on anything but a perfect sealed surface.
Run them at audi's normal 36/33 and just forget any kind of sporty driving, but at least then they don't tramline.
And just to add to the expensive insult the fuel economy goes through the floor.
Cant truly comment on wear as couldn't stand them any longer so scrapped them at 2000 miles.
Have now fitted Dunlop sportmaxx RT, and the difference is truly night and day,ive got my audi S4 back again !!, will do a review of these when ive done some more miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 7,500 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate

goog weels but to fast grip 7500 miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-W
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

BMW 545

I bought a pair of those for rear and i'm totaly disapointed, they easily lose traction even when starting moderatly on dry road! ESC is blinking most of the time... i've had previously DUNLOP and BRIDGESTONE on back - nothing like this happened to them ever.

Tyre size reviewed: 285-30-19-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 13,500 Average miles

Honda CIVIC CDTI

lasted 13500 miles on the front (forgot to rotate)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra VXR

Bought these after having the 19" version on my previous alloys and finding them very good. Once again, I found these tyres to be superb in both the wet and dry, only just starting to show signs of loosing their performance at the time of replacing (around 2mm). Sidewalls nice and stiff in the XL version and were very progressive. These seemed to last a bit longer than the 19" version I had previously used which is a bonus. Approx 14k on my 295bhp Stage 3 Astra VXR. Very rarely span up when quickly pulling away from a standing start and only in cold, damp conditions. Very happy with them. Will be trying Michelin Pilot Super Sports next.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Astra VXR

Excellent tyre with very good grip in the wet or dry, even when worn down to the last couple of mm. The sidewalls feel nice and stiff (XL version) which gives better feedback and less roll in the corners. The downside is they are slightly noisier than others such as the Goodyear Eagle F1A2, however I felt it was worth it. Although not ideal, I used these during the winter months with no problems other than on ice or deep snow. Couldn't ask for more from "Summer Tyres". They lasted approximately 12k miles which in my opinion is acceptable for this level of performance.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Spirited miles

Ford S Max

Fitted them to the front on a smax 2.0 diesel after the previous Goodyear Vector 4 seasons had worn out. Advised by Ford not to fit the goodyears again after they only lasted 9 months and 8000 miles very heavy wear on front outsides. Sad to report the conti's have only lasted 3000 miles and 4 months and they need changing. The s-max is now on 32000 miles and 3 and a half years old and it has eaten its way through 2 sets of tyres on the back and 4 on the front. Ford say this is normal for the type of driving done, hilly area, fast a and b roads with lots of accelerateing, braking and turning. Think I will go back to the vectors as I still have these on the back from 2 years ago and they still have about 4.5 mm of tread left. Car did have run flats new and was bought as an ex demo, Ford changed them to non run flats whilst it was still demo.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 22,000 Average miles

Volkswagen CC

Tyres have been good lasted well at 22,000 just changing the fronts, rears are still ok for now. Bought the contiseal because of the self sealing for minor punctures and they have been very satisfactory.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Audi A5

Had high expectations for these tyres but after 7000 miles it was time for them to go. Took them off with 4mm still remaining all round on four tyres. Took them off in October and put the winter tyres on so temperatures were ok and we werent driving on snow and ice with the contis. They were fine to start with as new tyres should be but once down to 4mm they were rubbish. The car lost traction when setting off, it was slipping a bit on corners and the car was skittish. It was as though these tyres were made of two bands of rubber, a soft outer layer and a hard inner one. Would i have these tyres on my car again? No way. Just done 5000 miles with Goodyear eagles on and much much better, hardly any wear and the cars stable and quiet and got total confidence back again.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,500 Spirited miles

Ford S Max

These tyres were fitted on my 200bhp Ford S-Max Titanium X Sport. Factory Michelins lasted well but when I went to Contis Sport 2 it transformed the handling but the wear was quicker.I was expecting good things of the 5 and yes the handling was brilliant wet or dry , great feed back too. The noise levels were fine as well. The downside , they have just been replaced at 2.0 mm at 4500 miles and 5 months use. Even wear and grip has remained good , no tramlining like the Michelins. So unless you have deep pockets and rate grip above all else I could not recommend these on this car , or anything that is heavy .The replacement Pirelli P Nero GT , see how they go.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.