Continental ContiSportContact 5 P

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 P is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P
73%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
78%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
56%
Comfort
73%
Buy Again
58%

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P Reviews (5)

44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,100 Easy Going miles

BMW 530D

A month ago I have bought a brand new 245/40/R18 Continental SportContact 5P tyres (DOT 4815) I want to express my complete disappointment from the tyres. They have an absolutely terrible wear - I have driven 3500km and the tyre tread is almost gone, it is near the tread markers - they were originally 6.6mm and now they are 3.6mm. I have a perfect car geometry (set just before I bought the new tyres) so its not a problem with the car - the wear of the tyre is symmetrical. Given the fact that the tyres are very expensive (one of the most expensive on the market for its category) I would definitely not buy a Continental tyres again and I will not recommend them to anybody. This is really disappointing issue and most people should know that the tyre will last for less than 5000kms.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDI 140 SLine

Drived 40.000 kms on my A4 2.0 tdi. wear are on the limit but tyres still have good dry grip and wet, only change them because doesn't feel confident with acquaplaning.
Good tyre, but high wear rates

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C63 AMG

I replaced Michelin PS2 tyres with these on my Mercedes Benz C63. I have to say, they're a vast improvement, front and back. There is plenty of predictability at the rear whereby the PS2 I found would go without much warning. Rear traction is very good, TCS rarely interrupts unless wet/cold and the front tyres dig in and guide you round with precision. The car is naturally quite tail happy but, after 5000 spirited miles on the rear, there's still a good 6mm of meat which, is contrary to the reviews I've read about fast wear. I do however have the geometry correct and don't melt the tyres driving like my life depends on it each way of my commute. Front wear I cannot comment on as these are newer but, so far so good. I'd like to try Michelin PSS next as a direct comparison, as they seem to be the only real contender but, I won't be upset if these 5P's last a while.

Road noise is low, and ride is slightly less crashy, a God send with this bone shaking suspension but by no means is the ride squishy, nor do the sidewalls give way; I'm not sure how they've done it.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI

These tyres came factory fitted to my new 2.0ltr Passat sport. After 8000 miles front tyres are down below legal limit and need replacing. Very poor wear with normal driving and won't be buying them again!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz A250 AMG Sport

Fitted to Mercedes A250 Sport. Front tyre wear was excessive despite mainly moderate driving. Quite good in all other areas but due to tyre wear and price, I think better is available elsewhere.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Average miles

Audi A8

Very poor wear. Under half the mielage I got from ContiSport Contact 3s

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-18-W
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 7,000 Spirited miles

BMW 530d F10

When I bought the car, 530D BMW, I bought new continental tires. After 7000 Miles, the tires are almost at the legal limit. In just 6 months, seems a fast wear to me. I drove mostly on highways and national roads.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,500 Spirited miles

Daihatsu Perodua Kelisa

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 34 Average miles

Ford Kuga

Factory fitted on TF Ford Kuga Diesel. Have 55,400klm (Approx 34,500miles) and still have around 10,000klm life in the rear and 5,000klm in the front. Combination of city and freeway. I agree that noise is a bit of an issue but this is a wagon. Not as bad as the Michelins on the Mitsubishi wagon.
Great grip in wet and dry. No traction control lights seen in 2 years. Not used to low profile so I did not pick up on slow deflating rear and then it just gave way at 110kph - cut through the tyre wall before I could get it off the road. At $450 a tyre fitted I find it expensive but looking at getting them again - they feel safe and good wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-19-V
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 8,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E Coupe Facelift W207

First of all, this conti is very expensive in Thailand and the price is unreasonable due to it performance in overall. This tyre has great grip on dry but not on wet especially on its aqua planning. You get connected to the road and have great feedback due to it sportiness. On the other hand, this conti is lack of comfort and has significant noise when run just over 80km. The tyre wear quickly after 8000miles on my Mercedes. To conclude, with this price i think you should spend on Michelin Pilot Super Sport(expensive but great) or Vredestein Ultrac Vorti(cheap and great tyre) which have good balance between sport and comfort.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-30-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.