Continental ContiSportContact 5 P

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 P is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P
73%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
78%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
56%
Comfort
74%
Buy Again
58%

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P Reviews (4)

77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon Cupra 280

Tyres that came with the car and have had no problems. Plenty of grip in the dry and quite good in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 28,000 Spirited miles

Audi RS6 Quattro

Good tyre, lasted 29,000km on my RS6 (came with them new). I was surprised I got so many kms considering the feedback on wear. Will buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 285-30-21-N
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E Class

In many respects these are OK, except for the excessive wear. I can't afford to replace tyres every 8-10 months. Who can? I just drive a car, not race it. I'll never buy a car with these on again, and I'll never put them on myself. Feedback on the later versions is much the same.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Passat

Excellent tyres at a high cost.....terrible tread wear.....only lasted 12000 kms on a passat 1.9tdi.....Replaced by verdestein ultrac cento.....plenty more miles and same comfort,grip(except wet which is good not excellent )
wont recommend unless you like to spend lots of money on tyre and would like to replace pretty often.......

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-W
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon ST FR DSG TDI 150HP

What can I say. I am on this website for a reason, and it is not a positive one.
As mentioned many times before, nice tyre, ok grip, a lot of spinning when starting. Maybe it is a car itself, Leon ST FR 150 DSG, but still spins too easy in my opinion.
Wear of the tyre is, shocking. I am fast driver but, honestly I have driven car for over 20 years and never came accross something like that . I have 4k kilometers and I am already concerned about the state of them. Slowing down now so hopefully will get to 8k ! My X5 was really bad, but it was doing 12-15k kilometers !!! I looked at the price of new ones and at approximately 115-130 EUR, I will definitely look into the different brands. Maybe they are all like that these days ??!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen passat GT

Great tyres apart from the wear. I have a VW Passat Estate GT 240 4 motion, fronts are done and rears almost done after 6000 miles. Grip worth the money, but wear is not.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-W
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Mazda 6 2.0 D

They may be a good tyre to start with but the wear on them is appalling. They are marketed as a sports tyre and they were fitted to my Mazda 6 sport and lasted less than 5,000 miles. I dread to think how long they'd last on an actual sports car. I had them sent back to Continental for testing as I was convinced they must have been duff! They waffled on about the set up of the car - but it is a sport version and was fitted with sport tyres - for the price of them I'd expect a lot more for my money. Will never buy a Continental tyre again

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 24,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon FR tdi

These tyres came standard from factory on my Seat Leon FR; have got 40000km out of them and only now down to 3mm. I've found these tyres superb in the dry weather and dry roads; car literally grips like a train on rails. But as soon as a little rain comes, the car can become very dicey coming out of roundabouts ect. I'm not entirely sure if this is due to the power of the car and I haven't driven the car with other branded tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Audi A3 Sportback

Perfect tyre for all conditions, but wear to bad unfortunatelly. Would recommend and buy it again!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
44%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,100 Easy Going miles

BMW 530D

A month ago I have bought a brand new 245/40/R18 Continental SportContact 5P tyres (DOT 4815) I want to express my complete disappointment from the tyres. They have an absolutely terrible wear - I have driven 3500km and the tyre tread is almost gone, it is near the tread markers - they were originally 6.6mm and now they are 3.6mm. I have a perfect car geometry (set just before I bought the new tyres) so its not a problem with the car - the wear of the tyre is symmetrical. Given the fact that the tyres are very expensive (one of the most expensive on the market for its category) I would definitely not buy a Continental tyres again and I will not recommend them to anybody. This is really disappointing issue and most people should know that the tyre will last for less than 5000kms.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.