Continental ContiSportContact 5 P

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 P is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P
73%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
78%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
56%
Comfort
74%
Buy Again
58%

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P Reviews (2)

81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E Class AMG

This is a follow up to my previous review.I have not looked at the previous comments so I cannot be influenced by it.The dry grip after 5000 mile is still Suberb.The wet grip.I expect we have all done it but I was driving a little to fast on a road I did not know.The speed limit was 40mph and I was driving at 40mph and I came to a bend that just went on and on and on.The car / tyre combination performed perfectly and it drove as just as if the car was on rails.The Golf that was following me ( a little to close ) ended up up the wrong side of the road.I feel that the comfort has improved but the road noise is always in the back ground.However , and there is always a however is tyre wear.The car has been serviced recently and the tyre wear was noted as follows.Front tyres 6mm thread left and the rears have 5mm left.From memory these tyres when new had 7.5mm of thread on them.Please make your own mind up to tyre wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon Cupra 290

These tyres came fitted as standard on my Leon Cupra 290.

Dry grip is very good, handles well through country lanes which I drive most days and braking is really good.
As another reviewer pointed out, they do tend to cause pretty bad wheel hop when pulling away quickly at like a junction or don't really grip well in a straight line.
I'm a slightly spirited driver but I don't drive on the limits of the tyres at all.

They are now down to 3mm after 6000 miles which is extremely shocking considering these cost £130+ per corner.
Now they have gotten to this wear level, wet grip is reduced massively sliding all over the place and they've become really unpredictable in wet weather.

I probably won't use these tyres again due to the poor wear rate.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Cupra 300

These tyres aren't horrible, but they have 2 big weaknesses. First straight line grip isn't great, too much wheel spin and wheel hop, making fast starts a bit of a tricky affair. The other weakness is wear. Its really terrible. I'll be lucky to see 6000 miles from them, and that mostly low speed town driving.

Handling and feedback is decent and they are safe, but the weaknesses really mean I wont get them again, and cant recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 4,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16

Hi , my car has 235/35/19 on the front and 255/30/19 on the rear.Before I write any comment on the tyres on my car it is important to keep to the tyre size that Mercedes recommend.I had the tyres changed and the dealer but the wrong size on the rear and it it was noted in the handling.Issue rectified.

I find that both in the dry and wet the handling is excellent.The braking performance again is good but you need to remember that the car behind you has also got to stop.

I do feel that the feedback from the tyres are satisfactory but I purchased the car to travel long distance in comfort.The car handling is good and is very enjoyable to drive on the UKs A and B roads.
In all honesty the tyres could be a little quieter but the ride is suberb.
Tyre life could be better but I change them at 10000 regardless of tread left.
When the time comes to change the tyres again I will buy Conts and hope I can still get the 5Ps.


Tyre size reviewed: 255-30-19-V
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD)

Terrible quick wearing, factory fitted as standard on Cupra 290 brake FWD vehicle, down to under 2mm after just 6000 miles! Not hard driving, just standard journeys, quite a short commute with a lot of stopping and starting, but this is still pathetic!

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-R
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 8 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz 190 2.3 16

Just had the first service on A250 at 12 months/ 8,500 km's to be told it needs new front tyres. Been happy with the grip and handing but not happy it they don't last for at least 40,000kms.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 23,000 Spirited miles

Ford Kuga

Expensive tyres, relatively noisy, not best on wet surface i imagine as it doesnt feel confident go round corners at relatively fast speed, aquaplaning is safe though. Not bad overall but would rather try something else next.
Front tyres worn out almost completely at 23 000 which could be alright for some, but...

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Audi S3

These tyres came on the car when purchased. These were the Audi specific AO model. Dry and wet grip were very good, with good feedback and handling. The rim protector was the best I have seen on any tyre. The major drawback of this tyre for me is the road noise and for this reason I would not purchase these again. They were the worst tyres I have had in winter, just slid everywhere. However, I was happy enough with the mileage for the type of car. Going to try Michelin Pilot Sport 4S next time.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Audi A3 2.0 TDI 140

Upgraded from my potenza s001 (which I loved). I rotate my tyres every season for even wear so they tend to get to the wear line at similar times.

Commuting across a-roads in the chilterns mainly with a weekly trip on the motorway and a long stint to the west country every 4 months or so - handled well across it all. Never once had to worry about losing grip when driving to road conditions. Handled the beast from the east ok - had one dodgy hill which a combination of my exceptional driving (thank you) and the tyres meant we made it up and home no worries.

Brakes when I want them to, no wheel spin ever and look good. Road noise is a bit of a meh (but I got a a3 diesel) but tbh my radio is up so much I never really notice it much anyway.

I've slapped on 12000 miles or so and I've probably got another 3000 miles before I wave them goodbye. Worth a punt but alittle pricey. Deciding whether to go for the new 6's or try either a newer brand or some michelins.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Audi A3 s3 2.0 tfsi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.