Continental ContiSportContact 5 P

The Continental ContiSportContact 5 P is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P
73%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
81%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
79%
Wear
56%
Comfort
74%
Buy Again
57%

Continental ContiSportContact 5 P Reviews

54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E Coupe Facelift W207

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E Coupe Facelift W207

Hi , third report re the Continental 5p tyres. I played about with tyre pressure but within the Mercedes Benz pressure for my C207/400. The best pressure I found is 33 psi with a slight reduction in road noise and an even better ride. The tyres have now travelled approx 8000 miles and still look very good thread wise. Only real issue I have I cannot replace the MO approved tyre with the 5p because they have been discontinued. I don't think that the Michelin 4S tyre suits the C207 so a little stuffed in future tyre choice !

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Suzuki swift sport

For a UHP they don´t grip as you wish. In a Spirited driving you will notice that it got low limits and wear really quick.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Opel ASTRA H 1.6 TURBO

I wore these tyres for six years, espesially on dry and wet road, in Greece. I am driving an Opel Astra H GTC 1.6 Turbo 180HP. My driving style is mainly calm with some breakouts of aggresive and pushing driving, so I think I have a well-known aspect about the tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 18,500 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Tiguan

I had these Contis on May 2019 and so far I have managed to draw out of them, 30000 Kilometers (18500 Miles). Great grip, extremely soft tire (black stuff was layed on my garage tiles while the tires where brand new), improved comfort and same consumption to the Dunlop Maxx GT I had previously on. But if it wasn't for the covid quarantine that we went through last March to June, trully the tires would be changed on the year. My 4 motion Tiguan, that runs on the 1.4 tsi, is not a very heavy car, is a 4X4 so wheel spin is not an option and being a family man, heavy cornering and braking are avoided. So I am now way less tthan he legal limit trying to squeeze a few extra kms from them. Nice tire for whom can afford them, but not a clever investment in terms of wear. I am leaning towards the Goodyear Assymetric 5, sister choice to the Dunlops I had before, but with much stronger performance according to your tests and reviews.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto

If you can afford to replace them every year ,well yes, it is an excellent tyre. Ok the Volvo is heavy and strong but you just expect more from premium tyres that cost an arm and a leg, especially when not pushing them to the limit and adopting a easy going drive style.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-21-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 52,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Kuga

Had these tyres fitted from new on 19” Ford wheels. Front tyres lasted 19,000 miles(30000kms) and rear tyres are now ready to be replaced after 52,000 miles over 80,000 kms!! I have a sensible driving style and even after towing a large caravan these tyres have always performed well in all conditions and never let me down. Now trying Falken FK510 on fronts, 2000 miles so far performing well.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-19-V
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C220 CDI Blue Eff.

Can drive 200+ km/h in the wet very grippy.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E Class AMG

This is a follow up to my previous review.I have not looked at the previous comments so I cannot be influenced by it.The dry grip after 5000 mile is still Suberb.The wet grip.I expect we have all done it but I was driving a little to fast on a road I did not know.The speed limit was 40mph and I was driving at 40mph and I came to a bend that just went on and on and on.The car / tyre combination performed perfectly and it drove as just as if the car was on rails.The Golf that was following me ( a little to close ) ended up up the wrong side of the road.I feel that the comfort has improved but the road noise is always in the back ground.However , and there is always a however is tyre wear.The car has been serviced recently and the tyre wear was noted as follows.Front tyres 6mm thread left and the rears have 5mm left.From memory these tyres when new had 7.5mm of thread on them.Please make your own mind up to tyre wear.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon Cupra 290

These tyres came fitted as standard on my Leon Cupra 290.

Dry grip is very good, handles well through country lanes which I drive most days and braking is really good.
As another reviewer pointed out, they do tend to cause pretty bad wheel hop when pulling away quickly at like a junction or don't really grip well in a straight line.
I'm a slightly spirited driver but I don't drive on the limits of the tyres at all.

They are now down to 3mm after 6000 miles which is extremely shocking considering these cost £130+ per corner.
Now they have gotten to this wear level, wet grip is reduced massively sliding all over the place and they've become really unpredictable in wet weather.

I probably won't use these tyres again due to the poor wear rate.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.