Nexen N8000

The Nexen N8000 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nexen N8000
72%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
74%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
66%
Wear
68%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
69%

Nexen N8000 Reviews (3)

57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Average miles

Skoda Yeti

I bought a used and approved 3 year old Yeti 2.0 tdi (fwd wth 17" alloys) with a full set of four fitted to the vehicle, with rears measuring approximately 8mm and the fronts 7mm, so whilst not brand new, hardly used in real terms. I wouldn't normally go for a budget brand, but after reading some positive and balanced reviews on this website, and the tyres so close to a brand new tread depth, I decided to be open minded and stick with them to see how I got on.

After covering 5K on the full set, my report is a mixed bag. Good Points were ride comfort good on Motorways, acceptable wear rate and good stability in hard braking conditions. However my two biggest gripes were 1. high road noise and 2. lack of feedback and grip.

The road noise I could live with as after all they were a budget tyre, so there had to be a compromise somewhere, but the absence of feedback, feel and grip offered by this tyre in anything other than bone dry conditions was for me a deal breaker. I am not a sporty driver, but when driving on a wet dark country road at night (something my daily commute regularly involves), I need to be able to turn the steering wheel in the bends and feel confident there will be grip for me. I also need to be able to pull away from junctions in the wet without the wheels spinning up and the traction control light blinking at me at only light throttle. Add into the equation wheel wobble becoming progressively worse once the fronts were only half worn, I replaced them with a set of Goodyear Efficient Grip performance, which for my vehicle are far superior in every respect and my fuel economy improved by a couple of mpg too, which justified the decision further.

Summary: OK for the money, and if you have a very 'Steady Eddie' driving style, but a classic example of you get what you pay for, and when the only thing between you and the road is your tyres, why cut corners?

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
72%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 700 Average miles

Citroën DS3 THP 150

Before buying, I read many reviews on this tyre and I can confirm the qualities and downsides of this tire. That is, they ride very quietly and comfortably, however steering precision is poor as a result of soft walls. In a sports cars, you may want a premium brand if you don't want to lose agility. On the other hand, they can be highly recommended for low powered cars and if low cost is a priority. I'm happy for having saved a lot of money choosing them over the Michelins Pilot Exalto 2 that come originally in my car, although these are undoubtedly better tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25 Average miles

BMW 530i M sport

Great tyres which I would recommend for anyone driving an E60 BMW. Very comfortable and quiet. Great grip in the dry and in wet conditions. My vehicle has nearly 300bhp and these tyres coped very well with the power. I had previously run on Conti's which I must admit are sheer class, particularly in wet conditions but these Nexen Tyres were just as good and for a fraction of the price. The only difference is that with the Conti's, the traction control warning light never engaged but it did on a few occasions with the Nexen's although this was nothing serious to worry about. These tyres suited my vehicle perfectly and were recommended to me by a tyre specialist - he was spot on! Great tyres in terms of wear too with my rear tyres getting nearly 25,000 miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

BMW 330d M Sport

I have been pleasantly surprised with these tyres, they hold the road very well in the dry and seem to be hardly wearing. More than enough grip to have confidence on country roads and I have no reservations about using them on my Nurburgring trip this year.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-30-19-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Hyundai Sonata LF 2.0 2016

Use before Pirelli P Zero, F1A2...
They are all noiser than these N8000.
Price wise, N8000 is just a friction of them.
One pc of Pirelli P Zero i could have bought 2pcs of N8000.
Of course it is made from different country. One is germany the another one is korea.
Good and bad, N8000 definitely is a quieter tyres. Grip wise a little inferior to P Zero for sure.
Definitely will go for N8000!!!

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-20-W
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Yeti

I posted a review of these on my Skoda Yeti in December 2014. My thoughts on these excellent tyres haven't changed. They grip well in the dry and are ok in the wet but I hasten toadd,I'm a arefuldriver, not sporty by any stretch.
They have only just got to the point where I am replacing them after over 25000 miles (40000 km). So I am putting 4 more on my little monster, for under £210 fully fitted, which is £80 less than I paid for them late 2014! A bargain without doubt.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 300 Spirited miles

Subaru Impreza WRX STI

These are a massively underrated tyre. It may not have won many of the tests that it's been in but that fact that it's been up there competing with the big boys in so many tests says a lot.

Running these as a temporary tyre on a 2008 Subaru Impreza STI which naturally destroys tyres so I'm yet to see how long these will last (only been on the car for ~200 miles so far). They do seem to have a bit of flex on the car when cornering compared to the Dunlop Sport Maxx's that were removed but these were down to the limit so were very flat! Will see how they are after a 500 mile run in on the corners and will update if they do get better but so far, quite surprised by these considering they cost ~£50 a corner on 17s!

Massive strong point is the water clearance on these... they are genuinely not affected by any water on the road so top marks here! Much better than the Dunlop Sport Maxx on water. Please note, they have no rim protection so don't look that meaty on the car.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,200 Spirited miles

Audi 1.8T Quattro

Had these fitted 3,200 miles ago downgraded from Continental Sport Contact 5. Can say nothing bad really. Handle pretty good, very quiet not as quiet as the Continental but you get what you pay for. (Im not going to spend and extra £70 per corner just to cut the road noise down a little by 2db) Rather just buy a car which generally gives low road noise (Mercedes, Rangerover, Jaguar)
People say they are Budget tyres but they actually are Mid-Rage a key supplier to many of the leading car manufacturers such as Hyundai, Kia, Vauxhall, Volkswagen, Chevrolet, Corvette (do your research you will be shocked) This is the main reason I purchased them
I have done over 3000 miles and the tread is exactly the same mileage wise they seem like they will last forever.
Highly recommended, Will definitely buy again!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

SEAT Leon FR Plus

Bought these to replace my ps3s, which were amazing in wet and dry conditions, however budget constraints meant had to replace with something cheaper. Initially for the first 500 miles or so they were awful, then after dropping my tyre pressure and they had worn in, they have started to perform well, pretty grippy in wet and dry conditions, can confidently hit bends at similar speeds with ps3s on, will probably try something else but for the money well worth it, far better than other budget brands hands down! Give them a try if you're on a budget, you don't b disappointed.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Saab Automobile 2.0T (210bhp)

These tyres are nothing short of dangerous in the wet. They were greatly recommended so I put them on our A170 and 93 Sport 20t with Hersch. Frightened out my wits on first drive in the wet. Two other expert drivers confirmed same. Car wants to go straight on and slides on rou dabouts, .even at moderate speeds. Replaced for safety

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.