Nexen N8000

The Nexen N8000 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Nexen N8000
72%[average]
Dry Grip
79%
Wet Grip
74%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
66%
Wear
68%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
69%

Nexen N8000 Reviews

58%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Ford fiesta st

On a Fiesta ST 1.5 ecoboost 200 bhp when brought. The car with 12000 miles on it and the garage had changed the front tyres as they were worn. Changed from standard fit Michelin Sports SP4s to these Nexen n8000s. So how did I find / like them over 500 miles Got the car and went out in the dry for a get to know you better quick drive. initial thoughts Nexens have come along way. good grip no issues on dry country B roads. Thought to myself think I must reset my thoughts on where Nexens are in my tyre catalogue. However 2 days later went out with my better half on a wet day (drizzle not downpour) and wow white line shimmy, understeer at no cornering speed. wheelspin with no real accelerator. night and day to their dry performance. Just changed to standard fit Michelin SP4s after 500 miles and so much better. Not recommended if you are a spirited driver, think they would be Ok on a very low power commuter type car (Fiesta 1.0 as example).

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
43%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 8,000 Spirited miles

BMW 325i M Sport

I had a sudden burst to my Falken FK510 tyres and it was a late evening. The only nearby workshop with 265/30/19 ready stock is Nexen N8000. Tried them on for 6 months, what I can tell is that this is a budget non-performance tyre. Dry grip is subpar. I have no confidence to go fast in corner like I used to with Bridgestone, Falken FK510 and Continental CSC6. Again, I understand this is a budget tyre but I didn't expect the dry grip to be this bad. Wet grip on the other hand, it is not too bad. So far no aquaplaning in the past 6 months. My advice is to go for a better tyre if budget is not an issue for you. Avoid this tyre at all cost if driving feel and safety at highspeed is your concern.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-30-19-W
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Volkswagen CC

Casings failed with large circumferential cracks. Very lucky not to have gone bang replaced with Goodyears all round, consider these to be poor budget tyres that suffered dangerous structural failures

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Volkswagen EOS

Replaced my goodyears on the eos, the nexen tires a very comfortable at the price, 10 % less precise when handling, but great grip, no noise tires for a vw Eos!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 600 Spirited miles

MG 6

Brought these to replace similar tyres , for the price I can't complain , I've not done enough miles to really comment on wear ect . But over all a good tyre .

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 3 series

Bought nexen because this is my secondary summer setup for this car and did not want to spend alot of money.
Tyres are very nice suprise, specially for money they cost.
Dry grip is excelent, super quiet, low rolling resistance.
Wet grip is ok, not bad but not specially good either.
Probably will buy again...

Tyre size reviewed: 255-30-19-W
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 15 Easy Going miles

MINI Cooper

Not recommended

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

Having fitted Nexen N8000 R18 92Y tyres to my newly acquired Skoda Octavia VRS TDI hatchback they were nearly new. Driving on them mixed style for 20 000 miles (32 000km) I must say the are very good all-rounders. Honestly, being fun of Michelins (driven on my previous cars on Michelin primacy, cross climate and pilot sport3-which truly transformed my car to entirely different level) Nexens do not reach quite the level of Michelins. However, the Nexen N8000 is really dependable tire (HP true work horse) which will not let you down in any situation, from driving in the town (pot holes and kerb parking), through the Grossglockner pass (4 persons in the car and multiple passes) to the German autobahn (nearly empty car) with speeds in corners about 125MP/H (200km/h) and once I saw on dash board in down hill 160MP/H (258 KM/H)!!! They never let me down and offer very good blend of longevity, performance and fun. They are bargain for the price, and there is still a good few thousands miles left in the tread. Ideally I would get Michlelin Pilot sports 3 or 4 these days for my car. But I wouldn't feel bad at all to go for Nexen N8000 again If I would be a few quid short ;) Definitely would get them again as an alternative to the ultimate tyre :)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11,000 Average miles

MINI Cooper

very good hold on the first year, after this noticeable weakness...

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 42,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz CLK 320 Coupe

I had these fitted on my 2005 CLK 320 with 218 HP. I rotated them left/right every 10,000 kilometers. They lasted me 68,000 kilometers and I was very happy with their dry and wet performance. They endured some nasty potholes without any trouble. Very good tires for $90 each for 225/45R17.

I fitted them in the rear as well and rotated them every 10,000 km. They now have 52,000 km and they need replacement. Same performance. They cost $100 each for 245/40R17.

If they are in your budget, definitely buy them!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.