Uniroyal RainSport 5

The Uniroyal RainSport 5 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Uniroyal RainSport 5
72%[average]
Dry Grip
75%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
68%
Progressiveness
72%
Wear
67%
Comfort
72%
Buy Again
68%

Uniroyal RainSport 5 Reviews

0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 300 Average miles

Kia Motors Stinger GTS

Another user has already provided a similar review (posted July 30,2020 for a BMW 330i). My experience is very similar. I bought these tyres specifically for use in the wet, and immediately found that my car (Stinger GTS) became a lot less stable. The rear feels floaty, going around corners at 50-60mph the car feels as though its losing grip (A-roads, motorways). Also on acceleration, the rear starts fishtailing. Car has done less than 500miles and I have contacted the supplier to let them know the car is not safe to drive. Will be replacing them with others tyres (Conti Sport Contact same factory fitted) asap.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-W
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus mk2

I was a fan of the previous Rainsport 3, so naturally I decided to give these a go on my car. After a few thousand miles, I have come to the conclusion that they are not as good as the previous version in any area except for wear. They are not a terrible tyre by any means, but they just don't seem to grip as well or inspire as much confidence as the Rainsport 3. I will probably look elsewhere next time.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E Class

Had a new set of Uniroyal Rainsport 5 put on a Merc E Class Saloon, Amg line, in May 2020. Have to say fantastic tyres that inspire a lot of confidence in the wet. Driven them at motorway speeds in heavy rain, through big puddles near the central divider and never had an issue with aquaplaning. Really grippy in the wet, even round corners. Brake on the dot. Dry performance is good too, never had any issues - but they definitely come alive in the wet. Quite a bit of road noise, but that is perhaps expected for a 265/35/18 XL tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

BMW Z4 3.0Si

Had a full set of 3’s on 2 z4’s now. Original run flats were dreadful. Current Z4 is a 3litre have 5’s now on the back as the wore out first, 3’s on the front. Absolutely excellent in all ways. Used it on track (silverstone) loads of grip great handling. I got rid of the run flats as they tramlines terribly, despit what someone else says these don’t.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
19%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 2
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 400 Average miles

Vauxhall Omega

After replacing front shocks, springs, disks and callipers I fitted the uniroyal rain tyre to my 2002 Omega. Whereas the car prior to the Umiroyals behaved as a car should the uni royals skip, tramline consistently at low speeds i.e.30 to 40 mph. High speeds they seem ok but are frightening at low speeds, do not trust them at all!!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
10%
Breakdown Score
  • Road Feedback 0
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW 330i

I'm not over exaggerating, fitted to the rear of my 330i these were dangerous. Chronic lack fo stability, the car was steering from the rear at normal road speeds & lacked stability both straight ahead & around corners from the outset. I don't know why but I assume due to overly soft sidewalls. Uniroyals removed after 1000 miles & returned to supplier for investigation. Repalced with Goodyear Eagle F1's that are brilliant.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-W
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

BMW 123d

A little disappointed with these. They provide good but not exceptional levels of grip in the wet and dry. Compared to the previous version the sidewalls are stiffer and that also has a negative effect on the ride quality. They are also quite noisy on faster roads, possibly due to the open tread pattern. They also don't inspire much confidence in spirited driving, and you can feel them skipping on the road in the dry if you try to throw the car around on corners. I think if you are coming from a budget tyre you would be very happy with them, but if you are trying to compare them to a premium summer tyre such as a goodyear or Michelin then you are going to be disspointed.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Impreza WRX

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Audi Q7

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 295-35-21-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,500 Average miles

Ford Fiesta mk7

I had a pair of sailsun front tyres that were fitted to my Fiesta When I purchased it,the car was terrible in the wet and often aqua plained on the front in corners.I have now put the Sailsuns on the rear and fitted 2 rainsport5 to the front, this has fixed the problem and the road noise also seems a lot better.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.