Vredestein Ultrac Cento

The Vredestein Ultrac Cento is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Ultrac Cento
80%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
78%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
73%
Wear
86%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
79%

Vredestein Ultrac Cento Reviews (2)

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 35,000 Average miles

BMW 318D

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 159

Did some research and compared these to the Bridgestone's I had on before. Bridgestone's were quite and grippy but £50 a tyre more expensive.
So I wanted the Sessantas but there are none suited to my Alfa. I was advised to give these a go. I cover a lot of miles and did 1000 in the first week on the new Centro's (design by the stylist for my car coincidentally).
The tyres took a while to bed in and as a result MPG suffered failing to get above 46MPG compared to the usual 50. Since then and in mixed conditions they have added an extra 4mpg (54mpg) compared to the Bridgestones.
The weather is getting worse and I read some other reviewers concerns about these tyres in snow and ice so will update when the weather reaches that stage.
Overall great tyres so far, would say slightly more road noise than Bridgestones but it's not too bad considering the cost saving

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 9,000 Average miles

Skoda Superb II combi 2.0 tdi cr

Excellent!!!! (if slightly noisy)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Volkswagen GT TDI 150 PD

Was after a set of Sessantas after they came so highly recommended, but they were unavailable from local stockist so took a punt on these instead and i can say i've never looked back! Worth every penny, handling and grip is outstanding in all conditions, road noise is extremely low and they have out standing durability, looking as fresh as they did the day the were fitted back in December 2010.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Renault Megane

Good tyres!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Tdi 4 motion

The Vredestein Cento does what it says; a very good all round tyre.
I replaced the Continental Sportcontact 3 which where on the car with these tyres.
The Conti Sport 3 is a very good tyre for handling and braking in both the dry and wet. However, it has a few drawbacks:-
Expensive
Poor wear rate
Increased fuel consumption; around 2 MPG less.
Tram lining
Tyres aged and went soft causing an acceleration lag

The Cento is virtually as go as the Conti Sport 3 for handling in the dry and wet.
Like the Conti, it is one of the few tyres which can cope with the Golf's torque in the wet.

Cento plus points:-
An all rounder.
Good handling in dry and wet.
Refined and comfortable, for a directional reinforced high performance tyre.
Strong tyre so very little acceleration lag.
Sit well on narrower width rims.
Reduced fuel consumption.
Reinforced tyre in 225/45 R17 is standard.
Very good value for money.

Cento lesser points:-
Feedback is acceptable, however, room for improvement.
Braking is good, just not excellent like the Conti Sport 3.
Limited availability.

Will I choose the Vredestein or Conti next time?
It would mainly come down to cost.
The Conti is the slightly better performer; just not worth the premium price, and then some more for the reinforced option.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Saab Automobile 9 3 SE Turbo

I've replaced the front set of Vredestein Sportrac 3 with these new Ultrac Centos on my SAAB 9-3 Turbo. These new tyres offer exceptional refinement and low road noise something which makes them ideal for long distance highway driving. Keeping up with the Vredestein tradition, the Ultrac Cento offers respectable grip in the wet which translates into a reassuring and sure-footed handling in adverse weather conditions.

The downside that comes at the cost of refinement is reduced feedback and average dry grip. Specifically, under hard acceleration in 1st and 2nd gear my car torque-steered excessively, something which was almost completely absent with the Sportrac 3. The same can be said for the roadholding which, although progressive, is nowhere near as good as before.

Overall, the Ultrac Cento seems an ideal choice for someone looking for a refined, quiet and sure-footed tyre. Any spirited driving will not be rewarded accordingly with this tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4

I have had these tyres for a few months now and the tyres are awesome for motorway cruising...and excellent rain grip and awesome on handling and cornering...We've had some crazy snow and ice and they are bad, probably the worse in snow and ice i've ever had i think its due to the tread pattern...but overall i am happy with them...hence i have noticed my fuel consumption to have increased... but i dont think i would buy them again...probably try something different...dunno yet

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
68%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E Class Estate

Fitted these tyres as replacements for Continental Premium Contacts which were on the car and half worn when I bought it.
I immediately noticed how smooth and quiet they were compared to the worn-out Contis.
My only issue with them is the fuel consumption. Part of the reason for buying them was their low rolling resistance claim. I have found that my fuel consumption has been worse since they were fitted which is disappointing.


Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.