Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport

The Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport
90%[average]
Dry Grip
98%
Wet Grip
91%
Road Feedback
96%
Progressiveness
98%
Wear
75%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
93%

Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport Reviews

93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

BMW 428i m sport coupe

I choose these tires as a alternative to the more expensive Michelin PS4S which don't even come in my size. The Eagle F1 supersport is better by all means than the Continental SC5* Runflats with which the car came on. Noise is less intrusive than runflats but still loud on some types of pavement, but when driving on highway speeds on a long trip it gets better. you get used to it. Stability in the curves is almost the same as the old ones (because of stiff side walls) but have faster steering and acceleration being little more comfortable than RFT... The tires are couple of Kg lighter than any of runflats which would prove useful on a track for people wanting to maximize tire effectiveness. On colder temperature already under 5 degrees Celsius were the tires somewhat strugling with traction on an near ice cold road, so pay attention not to use these in autumn/winter season. Thread wear is yet to be concluded.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-18-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Spirited miles

Audi S3

In the past 12 years I have had 3 golf gtis one of them totally standard and 1 chipped and the other upgraded in several aspects like suspension brakes chip etc. , my latest car is an audi s3 so my review is about tyres used on these fast hatchbacks. I have used in these cars the following tyres: conti sport contact 5, yokohama advan k105, good year assymetric, assy 2, assy 3, pirelli pzero and michelin ps2. Said this , a few days ago i had to change the assy 3 so i went to the dealer and looked for replacement, the natural evolution was the assy 5, but once at the dealer i was offered to try the new good year super sport , if i didnt like it i would be able to change them to the assy 5 , no charge. This is how confident the dealer was . Ok down to .. its totally mind bending .. steering response.. k105 breaker.. sticks like the ps2 or even better, .. at the limit is almost fool proof .... wet? still no experience but i can imagine it will be good. So , its always been quite easy to make a performance tire that grips great in the dry but there are two major points that will make a great dry tire that will make it a great tire over all: WET PERFORMANCE AND COMFORT. I am quite picky now about the comfort part and thats why i have been using goodyears assys lately. this tire isnt as comfy as the assy 3 but.. its almost there plus you can really feel the performance difference as soon as u get your hands in the wheel. Damn this is a new era for tires!! grip, comfort, steering response .. confident limit.. this is one of perhaps 3 tyres out there that are able to perform in every area like this. Not going back for the assy5 s ... Thank you goodyear dealer!! u made my day!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 200 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E Class Estate

Really good match for my car. Decided to remove the stock Pirelli run flats and go for a good premium’normal’ tyre. The difference is night and day. Feel. Comfort. Grip (wet and dry) all improved instantly. I have no idea how long these will last. But for every day driving I can’t imagine there are many out there that are better. If you have a car with noisy run flats these are a significant improvement. Almost sure I’ll buy these again. 9/10. Only drawback is they are not cheap. But you get what you pay for.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-W
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 50 Easy Going miles

Ford Focus RS

OK just got the new 235/35/19 Goodyear f1 supersport tyres for my mk2 focus rs on 11/7/20, 1st impression after 50 kilometers,car felt a lot more planted over the conti contact 3 I have replaced,weather was raining so drove sensible on the way home, definitely a improvement on the way the rs drives now, nice and Sharpe,quite light also along the motorway,tyre guys put 42 psi f and 40 psi r, so I have adjusted to 35 & 33 for now and will play with psi, what I have noticed is there more noise on certain types of road but the new smooth roads are pretty quiet,once there scrubbed in I will return a updated review and hopefully I'm loving them,They do look a very nice on the rs rims to by the way, tread isn't that deep either so wear rate will be interesting.purchased based on this review page as I wasn't paying ps4s money per a tyre, my choice was this supersport or the falken fk510,cheers from Australia

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW 120d M sport

This tyre has transformed my BMW. The steering feel on my model is sorely lacking, but this tyre offers so much feedback that it will not be silenced. The grip in dry and wet are both quite exceptional, but be aware that cold summer mornings (10-15 degrees C) require warming of the tyres before all the grip is there. I had the opportunity to try the tyre on a dry track, and it stood up well - so for anyone who does only the odd trackday, this tyre should be on your list. Did I mention the feedback? It has made my very capable, but always slightly dull BMW a really fun car to drive! Even at perfectly sane and socially acceptable speeds on the road the car is so much more satisfying to drive. It feels more alive and very talkative. Comfort is good, firm but rarely jarring, and it is surprisingly quiet for a performance tyre. Jonathan's review pitching this tyre against the PS4S is spot on the money.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Audi 1.8T Quattro

After buying my Audi from new I had the unfortunate realisation that the car was fitted with Hankook tyres as standard, something I thought was strange for a performance car, and then I thought Audi must have tested these tyres on the tts prior to making them standard. How wrong, to say there was no feel through the steering would be an understatement and there was so much understeer. After fitting the Goodyear eagle f1 super sports to the car within second of driving the difference was unbelievable I could feel the road and the understeer was gone, initially the two fronts were changed and instead of understeer I got oversteer on a tight corner in very wet conditions, when I replaced the rears the cars handling has been epic. My car now feels alive, wet handling dry handling wet and dry braking, no more loss of traction and the esp light doesn’t flicker anymore. Can’t rate these tyres high enough and there a lot quieter too. I found tyre reviews very helpful when selecting the right tyres for my car, the only way to know what tyres are really like is to check out peoples experiences with them

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-19-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 6,000 Spirited miles

Mazda RX8

My RX8 is used on the road (all year) and track days during the winter months. On the road, the Super Sports are as firm as I would want to go. The dry weather grip is excellent and they perform very well in the wet even on cold days. I suspect the rolling resistance is quite high as the MPG is lower than previous tyres. On track, they are mega. The dry grip is pretty darned close to a semi slick; those stiff tyre walls I think. The wet weather grip is amazing. Semi slicks do not work on cold, wet tracks but these Super Sports are amazing. On a cold, wet track in the winter, they produce grip from the out lap and I am often among the fastest cars out there. For the track day driver they are a superb tyre for wet and dry that work well on the road. Oh, they were relatively cheap too.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

I have these tyres fitted to my 2008 Civic Type-R in 225/40R18 92Y and have found them to be a little disappointing if I'm honest. Having come from the AS2 and AS3 I had high hopes, as they were great all-rounders. But these didn't impress long term. Initial impression were good. There was an increase is road noise which was expected, but that came with an increase in feel, especially when pushed. But these tyres need to be warm to perform. From cold the dry grip is good, but not great. They're fine at 'nippy' speeds but quickly give up past that until warm, understeering and oversteering before you might expect. But once warm they're a real pleasure, very preditcable and consistant, great turn-in and excellent on the limit. Really confidence inspiring. In the wet they're good, but but no better than the AS3, especially at lower speeds. Over 40-50mph the same predictability comes through, good feel, good turn-in, but they didn't really impress in outright wet grip as the tests suggest. Also they are particularly poor on greasy roads, with far more understeer than the AS3 in the same conditions. They're difinitely a summer tyre. But my main issue is the wear rate. I know these are sporty summer tyres but my word they're wearing fast. I'll be lucky to get 5k miles including rotating them. They're also getting louder and it's kinda distracting now. Considering the mixed performance, the price and the wear rate, I can't recommend these tyres. I wish I'd tried the AS5 or Pilot Sport 4 instead.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane RS265

Tyre is really good when pushing the car hard on the corners. It loads up very nice and you can feel what is going on with the car. They do require some heat to be at their best.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

I was running michelin pilot supersports, (18s so couldn't get PS4S) but after the review of these vs the PS4S I thought I'd give them a go. I will compare direct to the michelin supersports. handling is just as good, dry grip is just as good, braking just as good,so no problems there , then we come to wet grip.... wow, MUCH better than the supersports. As far as I'm concerned there are no drawbacks to these tyres, excellent in every way. equally to the michelin, but better in the wet. Another good thing, much cheaper than the michelin supersports too!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.