Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5
89%[average]
Dry Grip
94%
Wet Grip
93%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
91%
Wear
87%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
89%

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews (4)

0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Polo GTI

Got a 2019 polo GTI originally on 215/40 R18 Bridgestone turanza t005, these were terrible for traction, very scary in the wet particularly with aqua planing. Swapped for 225 section Goodyear’s and the car is transformed, so much better in the wet and much better for traction. Definitely buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Jaguar XKR 5.0

Must admit I am very impressed. There is not a single aspect in which I can fault these tyres. Excellent dry grip and progressive at the limit, settled in the wet with good aquaplaning resistance which is important on 285 section tyres. Quiet on poor roads and consideration how much I like to turn the traction control off they are only showing minimal wear. It is difficult to comprehend how much better the Michelin PS4s could be to warrant the astronomical price difference. Car is a '13 Jaguar XKR 500bhp

Tyre size reviewed: 285-30-20-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Average miles

SEAT Leon FR 1.4 EcoTSI

They have very good grip in dry and even better grip in wet conditions. The handling in my car has become much more predictable after replacing Pirelli p7 to these. One downside is these tyres are a little bit noisy but not too loud like the p7s, however the other good aspects make up well for it, I simply don't care about it. They provide enough comfort for potholes etc. and rough asphalt too.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 100 Spirited miles

Audi S3

Brilliant! I drive a 2015 Audi S3, 8V, and have been driving on Michelin PS4 for the last 3 years. The PS4 is an amazing tyre, and with my combined highway and spirited driving including launching the car from time to time, I achieved 50,000 Km's on a single set of tyres with around 2.5mm - 3.0mm thread depth left over (with regular tyre rotations). The problem I had with the Michelin PS4 from day 1 was that they felt spongy and vague. This worsened after lowering the car with sport springs. The grip however, was amazing in any condition, Dry or Wet, and around hard bends/corners, the tyres just stuck to the road. This was all good, but I was not able to tell what the car was really doing from the vague steering feel. My biggest complaint was the day to day feeling of the car with the PS4 feeling somewhat bouncy or spongy like the car needed new shock absorbers to stiffen up the suspension in order to get more road feel.. After months of research and reviews, as well as watching the TyreReviews video of the Michelin PS4, Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5 and Continental Premium Contact 6 comparisons, I had to watch this a good few times to make sure, I then finally took the plunge to purchase a new set of Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5's. All I can Say is WOW! The Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5 gave me exactly what I was looking for, greater road feeling, increased steering response and feeling, and the stiffer ride quality that I so desperately needed. I will definitely purchase these tyres again, over the Michelin PS4. Haven't really has a chance to test the full characteristics of the Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5 as yet, but dry grip so far is amazing, with no or very very little difference when compared to the Michelin PS4, where the PS4 might have an edge of stopping a tab bit quicker, but this difference is so small, and this might also be due to the Goodyear F1 Assymetric 5 still being new. I previously had 2 sets of Continental SC5 prior to fitting the Michelin PS4, as this was the factory tyre for my car, however, the Continental SC5 only lasted around an average of 25,000 KM's per set. The Continental SC5 was very comfortable, very soft, gripped well in the Dry only, but very bad grip in the Wet. The other issue that I had with the Continental SC5 was that when pushing the car hard in corners, the outside shoulder of the Continental SC5's always became plain, with pieces of rubber falling off. So for me, no more Continental.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.8 5 door

Easily the best tyres I've ever used on any car I've owned. My Civic's no speed demon but it does corner hard. The car had some ancient factory Bridgestone Turanzas and cheapo Nexens when I bought it and found it super sketchy on tight bends and wet roads. Fitted some Goodyear Asymmetric 5s and I haven't lost grip once, even flooring it in 1st in the pouring rain. The cornering and handling is dramatically improved, greatly reduced understeer, pleasantly predictable behaviour on the limit. I'm seriously impressed considering I paid £70/corner fully fitted. The road noise is surprisingly minimal too compared to tyres I've used in the past. Pilotsport 4s are likely even better but would have also cost me £90 more in total to buy and fit. Price/performance, you cannot beat the Goodyears. Rainsport 3s used to be my go-to tyre but as good as they are in the wet, there's no denying they're squishy and floaty; the Asymmetric 5s match their wet performance but also drive like proper performance tyres at speed. Can't comment on wear; I've done 1000 miles and they look identical to when they were fitted. I have no doubt they'll outlast my ownership by many years, as I don't tend to keep cars long.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane III Coupe 2.0 TCE 180 BHP

Fantastic tyres. Replaced some budget tyres for these which felt unstable as they were not suitable for the horsepower on my car. Dry grip is really good any corner you throw at them they will grip & give you instant feedback if you need to brake or alter your line. Wet grip is even better. Even standing water they just plow throw it like its dry conditions. Low noise as well which is also a great feature. I understand they also last a very long time. They are an excellent choice if safety is your no1 consideration & I cannot imagine buying anything else for my car to replace these with when they finally wear out.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-P
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 800 Spirited miles

Mazda 3 MPS

The king of All Around tires is the american Goodyear! Very good to excellent in all aspects! They replaced Dunlop Sport Maxx 2 that were very good at dry but NOT GRIPPY AT ALL at wet roads! I made a research about this matter and i saw with surprise that is a characteristic of all Dunlop tires in general!!! I purchased them because as a sister company of Goodyear i thought that it was the same thing but BIG MISTAKE. Goodyear is a real PREMIUM brand and you feel it when driving: they grip so hard at the road that i press the right pedal softer than before gaining at fuel consumption, wet grip gives a dry-grip feel (!) that makes you go faster especially at corners, low noise, comfort but not as 2nd gen that i had in the past and better braking. A plus also is the good price ;)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mazda Mazda 3 MPS Luxury

Went from the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 on my 2008 Mazda 3 MPS, the Goodyear's have much better road feedback, dry and wet grip is similar, though I'd give the edge to the Goodyear in the dry and the Michelin in the wet. I have also had the Michelin Pilot Super Sport, and the Goodyear feel righ in between a Super Sport and a PS4. Also has a much better sidewall, very thick, so if you want to protect those rims, this is much better option. It just feels much better than the Michelin, you feel the road more, and it feel like you have more control, excellent comfort and noise, and very good price point. Not as floaty and vague as the Michelin's. If you're thinking between the two which to get, the Goodyear's 100%, haven't tested. wear yet, but apparently it's very good. So far great tyre. Very impressed.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

BMW E46 330i

Was looking for a premium SPORTS tyre and chosing between Michelin Pilot Sport 4 and Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymetric 5. As Jonanthan (TyreReviews) pointed out in one of his videos PS4 is less sporty. I would even add that PS4 has softer tyre contact patch as oposed to Asymetric 5. In my experience Asymetric 5 is a very good summer tyre. Rain/aquaplaning no problem. Noise OK. Comfort levels high - road bumps are absorbed easily. In terms of how sporty the tyre is there are mixed feelings. On one hand its reactions to steering input are quick and the car feels agile on the other hand the feedback sadly is muted (previously had Toyo tyre set with very hard sidewall/low comfort but very good feedback)and this significantly reduces overall feeling of the tyre . Not sure if high sidewall (225/45/R17) is to blame but at least in my configuration Asymetric 5 feels like top level touring tyre with some sport credentials due to this I prefer to have moderate driving as oposed to spirited driving style. When replacement is due I will look for a tyre with more rigid sidewall for a better feedback.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 900 Average miles

BMW 530 D Sport Touring

Rim protection, non runflat, good comfort, maybe more noisy than p7 but like it a lot

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.