Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5
89%[average]
Dry Grip
94%
Wet Grip
93%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
91%
Wear
87%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
89%

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews (2)

90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Audi A5

These wheels have excellent dry behavior. In the wet they suffer little aquaplaning and offer excellent grip shortly after setting off. On my FWD car they counteract understeer well. They offer little sideshift at high speed. They are comfortable and do not emit excessive noise.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Lexus IS350

I've had these on a Lexus IS350 F Sport for about 3 months, had the factory Dunlop SP Sport Max on there before. My previous car was a Mazda 3 SP25 which came with the same Dunlops from the factory, changed those to Michelin Pilot Sport 4 after 90,000kms. Put 30,000 kms on the Michelins on the Mazda, and about 15,000 on the Goodyears so far. I also fitted slightly wider 235/40 18 fronts (original 225/40 18) and 265/35 18 rears (original 255/35 18). I did the same for the Mazda, 225/35 18s instead of 215/40 18s factory. I can say that the Goodyears have firmed up the steering much more, in good way, where there is resistance and feel on turn-in that was not there with the Dunlops. much more grip in all conditions, esp. in the wet. No tyre squeal at the limit either (unlike the Dunlops). The ride is much smoother than the Dunlops as well. The Michelin PS4 was also a much grippier tyre than the Dunlops on the Mazda (absolutely incredible grip in the wet, can pretty much drive as if the road is dry), but much less feel and they felt much softer and more of a touring tyre than a sporty tyre, quieter than the both the Dunlops and Goodyears. The Goodyears are a better balance between the hard sidewalled and low grip Dunlops and the massively grippy but overly soft Michelins. I would sum up by saying the Michelins are the better tyre overall UNLESS you value sporty dynamics and feel and feedback highly, in which case the Goodyears are a better compromise, albeit with slightly less overall grip. Either way, much much better than the Dunlops. Hope that helps! BTW, thanks to tyrereviews.com for all the reviews and detail that helped me make my choice, very very useful!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 800 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo Giuiletta

These replaced a set of Falken FK510 and I'm surprised how average they are. It was soon noticeable how much noisier and less comfortable they were than the Falkens. More use has generally revealed less feel and sportiness as well. Have only driven them in the wet on one occasion, and they were fine for grip, but not overly impressive. Overall a little disappointing and not the premium tyre I thought they would be. Very much a mid range tyre in terms of performance.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 26,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI

had all the asymmetrics on this car the 5 is the best so far the others were good also.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E Class AMG

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Spirited miles

Mitsubishi EVO 8

I bought my Evo in November, and it came with AD08r's. I know these tyres are highly rated in the Jap scene with a lot of people running them, as they are known to be a track tyre for the road. The thing is, they made my car feel extremely nervous and gave next to no confidence in the bends (which may surprise a few people but I'm being honest, as a racing driver I'll be upfront about if something sucks no matter what it is). I did a lot of research before deciding to buy a set of Asymmetric 5's, and let me tell you they are amazing. After I'd scrubbed them in, it felt like a whole new car. They inspire so much confidence and I've yet to break grip with them. Sometimes where I'd expect them to start slipping, they just refuse to let up. They work from much lower temperatures than the AD08's, which are like an ice rink until they get a decent amount of heat (classic characteristic of a track tyre). The thing is though, the amount of heat that AD08's need to give you the grip you want is beyond what you can safely achieve on the road without getting into trouble, hence why they're more of a track tyre. You'll get them lukewarm at best. For the Asymmetric 5's, they are pretty much ready to go from the start, and throughout the drive they just get better. The sidewalls have some give to them, but it's honestly just the right amount for my car. The geo setup makes my Evo quite light on its feet and agile, so coupled with the AD08's it was honestly just WAY too sensitive. One little movement on the steering and it would dart, just felt very unstable and crap (coming from someone with very smooth hand movements). The Asymmetric 5's dial the steering sensitivity back to exactly where I want it, still nice and direct, but it's perfectly stable unlike the AD08's. They're also more comfortable due to the softer sidewall (what you want on the road) while still giving you a good amount of feedback. In my opinion the feedback level could be slightly higher, but it's definitely enough (the sidewalls are not solid like a track tyre after all). Also due to the softer sidewalls, they allowed me to set my coilovers to a stiffer setting to get the car handling even better, while still being more comfortable than the AD08's were on a softer setting (win win). I've driven them in the wet once, and they honestly had more grip than the AD08's did on a dry road (which again may surprise some people but again I'm being honest. It highlights how much the AD08's don't work at road driving temps, and the importance of having the correct tyre compound for what you're doing). I gradually built boost towards the exit of a roundabout for instance, and when I floored it at the exit it just gripped! For reference if I tried to exit a corner like that in the wet with the AD08's, I'd probably be dead lmao. My Evo has over 400 hp and torque so it's not slow either. I can't comment on the wear at present because it's only been a few hundred miles, but my Evo is not a daily driver at all, so time wise they're gonna last a while. I would 100% recommend these tyres, but just remember that all cars will act to the same tyre differently, and that goes for all tyres. It's a lot to do with the way they're setup more than anything. P.S. I'm not trying to make the AD08's sound terrible, they're just for the track not the road. I'm sure once you wake them up on a track they're completely fine, but for the road there are many better options. Many people think getting a track tyre will give you an advantage over other people on the road...it doesn't. They're called "track" tyres for a reason.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Honda S2000

these i imagine would be great on a saloon or coupe, as they are very comfortable, however on my s2000 they feel quite wobbly on the rear. i had hankook v12 evo 2 before changing and you had excellent stability. might not grip as well but you were faster with confidence. but the ride quality was quite harsh which the goodyears resolved well. on smooth track surfaces the goodyears seem to perform well. I believe these tyres are bouncy and unsettle the car, giving you the impression the back end is breaking away but actually its more likely the tyre is folding over as the sidewalls cannot cope with the extra grip. I have opted for some PS4 this time round to compare......if they are similar, i think I will have to look at a road legal semi slick. I recommend if you like comfort or dont drive a sports car

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 23,000 Average miles

Volkswagen 147tsi highlin

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,662 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C200 CGI with amg wheels

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
31%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Focus MK3

Very poor tyre, haven’t lasted well so expected fantastic grip but not the case, just about decent in dry, useless in everything else, do not inspire any confidence in the tyre at all, The tyres they replaced were far superior, couple of people have driven my car in poor conditions and agree fully with this, car is borderline dangerous in anything other than perfectly dry weather, avoid these tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.