Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5
90%[average]
Dry Grip
94%
Wet Grip
93%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
91%
Wear
88%
Comfort
83%
Buy Again
89%

Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 Reviews

90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

I've used these tires in two completely different cars, FF layout compact hatch and a FR sports car. I will mostly focus on what I think of the tires driven in a 2017 Mazda MX-5. Similar to what's said on the video reviews, the most impressive thing about this tire is the steering feedback. You feel connected to the ground and control becomes predictable. The tires can handle heat, at least in this platform. 3 consecutive hours of track time with only 10mins stops in Spanish Summer heat did not reduce the performance and the feeling of these tires. Wear is also pretty amazing both in track and daily driving. My only complain, to give it one, would be it's inspiring wet performance. I feel the car a bit more floaty compared to the firm stance you get in dry pavement. In conclusion, these tires are, not only an amazing option as one of the top all-around performing tires, but also a very intelligent choice as the price point of these come around at a very economical range compared to it's high-tier and similarly performing competitors.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta ST180

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta ST180

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 700 Average miles

Audi S3

Really very good all-rounders, have used many performance tyres but these are probably the best all-rounders.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,500 Spirited miles

Honda Civic 1.8 5 door

I've experimented with a lot of tyres in my 6 years of driving, across many different cars and these Goodyear AS5s are the champions by a long shot. My Civic is no speed demon but it corners well, so exposes bad tyres easily on tight country roads. I had the factory Bridgestones on the rear and some Nexens up front when I bought the car and finding the limit was very easy, it'd even spin the front wheels if I took off quickly (with the mighty 140bhp on tap), but I haven't had a single example of wheelspin or loss of grip with the Goodyears. Wet or dry, hot or cold; the grip is just immense in all scenarios and gives me 100% confidence when driving the car hard. The Goodyears are noisier and slightly harsher than the tyres I had before, which is to be expected with performance tyres, but the driving feel, steering response, braking performance and wet/dry ability they offer in return is worth every bit. And they were only £70/corner fully fitted for 225/45/17 - chump change in exchange for my family's safety in an emergency and the fun I can have when I'm in the car alone. I've covered 1500 miles since they were fitted and can see no wear yet, which is also nice. Don't cheap out on tyres, they're the only thing sticking you to the road. I can recommend these Asymmetric 5s wholeheartedly.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Audi A5

These wheels have excellent dry behavior. In the wet they suffer little aquaplaning and offer excellent grip shortly after setting off. On my FWD car they counteract understeer well. They offer little sideshift at high speed. They are comfortable and do not emit excessive noise.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Lexus IS350

I've had these on a Lexus IS350 F Sport for about 3 months, had the factory Dunlop SP Sport Max on there before. My previous car was a Mazda 3 SP25 which came with the same Dunlops from the factory, changed those to Michelin Pilot Sport 4 after 90,000kms. Put 30,000 kms on the Michelins on the Mazda, and about 15,000 on the Goodyears so far. I also fitted slightly wider 235/40 18 fronts (original 225/40 18) and 265/35 18 rears (original 255/35 18). I did the same for the Mazda, 225/35 18s instead of 215/40 18s factory. I can say that the Goodyears have firmed up the steering much more, in good way, where there is resistance and feel on turn-in that was not there with the Dunlops. much more grip in all conditions, esp. in the wet. No tyre squeal at the limit either (unlike the Dunlops). The ride is much smoother than the Dunlops as well. The Michelin PS4 was also a much grippier tyre than the Dunlops on the Mazda (absolutely incredible grip in the wet, can pretty much drive as if the road is dry), but much less feel and they felt much softer and more of a touring tyre than a sporty tyre, quieter than the both the Dunlops and Goodyears. The Goodyears are a better balance between the hard sidewalled and low grip Dunlops and the massively grippy but overly soft Michelins. I would sum up by saying the Michelins are the better tyre overall UNLESS you value sporty dynamics and feel and feedback highly, in which case the Goodyears are a better compromise, albeit with slightly less overall grip. Either way, much much better than the Dunlops. Hope that helps! BTW, thanks to tyrereviews.com for all the reviews and detail that helped me make my choice, very very useful!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 800 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo Giuiletta

These replaced a set of Falken FK510 and I'm surprised how average they are. It was soon noticeable how much noisier and less comfortable they were than the Falkens. More use has generally revealed less feel and sportiness as well. Have only driven them in the wet on one occasion, and they were fine for grip, but not overly impressive. Overall a little disappointing and not the premium tyre I thought they would be. Very much a mid range tyre in terms of performance.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 26,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI

had all the asymmetrics on this car the 5 is the best so far the others were good also.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz E Class AMG

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.