Bridgestone Weather Control A005

The Bridgestone Weather Control A005 is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Weather Control A005
72%[average]
Dry Grip
82%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
73%
Wear
70%
Comfort
75%
Buy Again
66%

Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Reviews

51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 9,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD

Tyres fitted in emergency just before a long Scandinavian road (read rough road & track) trip. They were ok to begin with for grip all round but have progressively dropped off. They're nearly worn out now and I won't buy again simply because they've only done 9000 miles and are down to the legal limit. They haven't lasted long enough to be tested in snow but have been fine on rough and cold, wet roads. Maybe better suited to a lower powered car.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-R
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Suzuki 2007 Vtt Suzuki swift

Iam very satisfied with a005 they are the best tyre for rain and wet roads the grip is phenomenal you feel like you drive on dry road. Unfortunately
I haven't driven in snow yet so I don't test them on snow/ice conditions. In summer they were ok with good grip and normal brake distance. I will make a new review when I will test them on snow. I also notice that they were a bit noisy the first days but after a few days the noise stopped.My car is a suzuki swift and iam from Greece. I really recommend them especially for rainy countries or countries with hot summer and a few days with snow .

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Spirited miles

BMW 130

Purchased for a BMW 1 series, with the weather getting worse and the rears needed replacing soon. The original fronts were always a little weak by design. Have gone for 1 size increase (the maximum for my wheel size). This has increased the tyre height marginally but also increased the footprint. Took car out and about on a usually bumpy road with it raining and in the limited time I have had the tyres, there is a definite improvement.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 2
  • Trockenhaftung 3
  • Nassgriff 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 11,000 Easy Going miles

Peugeot 308

I have bittersweet thoughts about this tyre (Peugeot 308 II series):

POSITIVES:
- Dry and wet handling and grip, both in the summer and winter (up to 38°C in the summer and down to -7°C in the winter).
- Price compared to competition, 225 45 17's cost me 85€ per tyre (Italy).
- Comfort is very good, pretty silent for 4s tires and the general driving comfort is good.
- Road feedback is good, feels like a summer tyre in warm weather and in the winter (dry and wet) I always feel safe.

NEGATIVES:
- Snow handling and grip, just TERRIBLE. I know that these are 4s tires and not winter tires so I wasn't expecting them to perform as the latter, but as soon as there is a minimal amount of snow on the road you start to feel unsafe. When the road is flat they perform better than a summer tyre, but you really need to slow down (1st or 2nd gear) and watch you driving. When the road starts going uphill or downhill is where they throw in the towel, almost NO grip and handling is reaaaally sketchy.

I can't really say much about the wear, I'm up to 18'000km and for now it looks to be normal.

Would I buy them again? Absolutely not! As I said above, I know these are not winter tires and I cannot expect them to perform as such, but the idea behind this model is that you should feel relatively safe when the conditions get a bit rough (and that's what the ads publicize), and in a couple of occasions I really feared for my safety and believe me, the weather was far from being anywhere nearto a snow storm/blizzard like.

If you are absolutely sure you won't be driving on snow, or if you have other options in case it snows, then I would recommend this tyre, otherwise try with another model/brand.


Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Spirited miles

BMW 1 series

Fitted to my BMW M140 and they have made the difference, excellent wet grip, assured at zero temperatures and still match premium summer tyres in the dry. My M140 is now as sure footed in winter as it is on the Michelin MPSS in the summer!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia estate

I was really hoping to have that 'wow' effect, but unfortunately it never worked.
These tyres are really good in heavy rain, but that's where it ends.
First, they are noisy. Secondly, I don't feel comfortable when having to brake when it's wet and the temperature is pretty low.
The last thing and probably the worst is the huge increase of fuel consumption straight from the first day they were fitted. It's terrible to be honest. I feel as if I am driving a tank.
In my opinion, they are nowhere near to my previous Michelin Cross Climates.
Maybe sounds a bit harsh, but that's my opinion on them. My judgement is purely based on my experience.
I definitely do not recommend Bridgestone All-weather Control.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Citroën C4 Grand Picasso

Bought for front wheels of my Citroen Grand Piccasso, to replace budget tyres which gave 16500 miles.
After 9500 miles the MOT station declared them "..worn close to legal limit on inner edge, nearside" and " ...worn close to legal limit offside...(HEAVY INNER WEAR - DANGEROUS"
Changed to Goodyear at 10185 miles and had geometry checked.AMAZINGLY, WELL WITHIN SPEC.
Have monitored Goodyear tyres for over 8000 miles and no sign of inner edge wear.
I contacted Bridgestone at this stage. They made half-hearted offer to have the tyre which I retained inspected, but suggested that most likely outcome would be decision that it was a steering geometry fault (which it wasn't.
I must admit that I can understand this way of thinking, but in any event, I will not again buy tyres of this type as I cannot live with 10000 miles from a premium tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 500 Spirited miles

Renault Talisman 160 edc estate

These are 245/40 19 Y tyres and not a common size, so I was pleased that Bridgestone had an All Season product available, as previously on a BMW 5 series estate I had Michelin Cross Climate tyres. I was very happy indeed with the Michelin’s, that gave superior all round grip and handling, plus an acceptable performance in snow and ice. They also wore very well staying on the car for two winters.

First impressions of these Bridgestones is that compared to the Continental Sport Contact 5 tyres my car came with from new, they are much more generous in size on the wheel. They make the Continental’s appear one size less. These A005 tyres have a far superior rim protector too. My Bridgestones are made in Hungary.

Road noise is about the same as the Continentals, and ride comfort slightly worse but that could be to do with the tyre pressures. I will remove a bit of air from the Bridgestones to ‘tune’ the ride better.

It is a bit early to comment on how these tyres cope with winter conditions, but in the wet grip levels are very high and at autoroute speeds aquaplaning resistance is exemplary. The aggressive tread pattern promises a high level of grip when the going gets tough, and I certainly feel much more confident entering the winter period with all season tyres on.

Choosing these tyres via the information in owner reviews on this website and the links to the group tests, have proved to be accurate. Many thanks.


Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 6
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz B180Cdi

44.000 ca. km in 13 months: excellent performances on wet and dry, quite sufficient on winter conditions usefull to rich your destination in emergency.
But bad comfort: the more you ride the more noisy, Only the first 10.000 km have been normal, after a disaster. During the last 4000 km were a strange vibration too on front axle between 120/130 kph, impressive.
I just replaced them now with new Crossclimate plus Michelin, excellent comfort, wear, and better winter although minor (a litle bit) dry and wet performances

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Legacy

Good tyre, performs reasonably well in all conditions! Yet to use in ice and snow...

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.