Vredestein Wintrac Pro

The Vredestein Wintrac Pro is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Wintrac Pro
89%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
91%
Road Feedback
87%
Progressiveness
80%
Wear
84%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
91%

Vredestein Wintrac Pro Reviews

94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Audi S5

Great winter tyres, highly recommend. Amazing traction in the Scottish winter and snow. Good handling balance at the limit and provides plenty of feedback of the road surface. Corners and grips well in temperatures under 0 degrees Celsius. A must buy for any performance vehicle if looking to drive spiritedly in the colder months. Driving a stage 2 Audi S5 with 485 Bhp, a good tyre is a must even with Quattro to put the power down when the road is slippery, wet and cold. The tyre is vary predictable at the limit when driving on an dry road and provides confidence when braking. Would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW M240i

Winter time. Came from Michelin PS4 summer tyres. When changing to Vredestein Wintrac Pro straight away i've noticed it handles like the Michelin. Very stable, tight handling. Grip is amazing. Having a Stage2 M240i with 480bhp. Accelerating from 0 is spot on. Almost no wheelspin! And that for RWD!! In wet it feels very confident. No issues at all. First day of big snow, I went for a big trip with my buddy. Leaving the parking uphill, it went like on dry surface. My buddy took 30min to finally get free. Just proves how amazing the Vredestein is. And really shows a wintertyre is the best choice in these winter condition. Trust level 100. Wouldn't choose any other tyre than this. You wont regret it

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 6,000 Average miles

Ford fiesta st

I bought these tyres in November 2019 and had them fitted to my 2019 Ford Fiesta ST. There was very little choice for winter tyres when it came to the wheel size on this car so I was limited to only this one or the very overpriced Pirelli Sotozero 3s. For the first winter that I had them fitted it was mostly just cold and wet (no snow) but the level of grip that this tyre offers over the Michelin pilot super sports (fitted to this car as standard) in temperatures below about 5°C is worth it even if you don’t get any snow. Fast forward to December 2020/January 2021 and I can confirm that in the snow these tyres are extremely capable. A full three inches of snow is no problem for these tyres. I have also used these tyres on icy roads and they hold up well there too, with abs breaking coming on when you slam the breaks but it stopping the car some several meters shorter than if you had summer tyres on. The tyres also preform equally as well in slushy/wet snow. If I had to rate the handling/breaking for fresh dry snow I would say 10/10, for slushy/wet snow 9/10 and icy roads would be 8/10. It’s also worth noting that even after 6000 miles on these tyres there is very little wear and they probably still have another full winter in them if not 2. Overall a fantastic tyre that significantly improves the safety of your car during the winter.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-18-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Audi S3

Bought these last year for my then new-to-me Facelift Audi S3 to replace some General Tyres(!) summers that the dealers fitted before I bought the car. I was impressed with the Vredestein Wintrac Extremes I'd run a good few years ago on my Yeti, so thought I'd give these a go as they are UHP rated. They were a definite improvement over the Generals, but as I didn't know the car, it wasn't really a good comparison. During this summer however, I ran Michelin PS4s on the S3, & they didn't seem the big step up from the Wintrac Pros I was expecting, & now I've refitted the Vreds I noticed straight away that the steering's actually better, the car's slightly quieter & ride's better than it was on the PS4s. I found the Wintrac Pros really good in the wet & in cold, dry conditions but I didn't get the opportunity to drive on snow or much ice last year so can't comment on that yet, & I'm not really expecting great wear, but dynamically & subjectively these are a great winter tyre & good value. If we get proper winter weather this year, I'll update accordingly & it'll be interesting to compare them to the Dunlop Wintersport 5s that are currently on the Yeti (which subjectively & for grip in all conditions have been really impressive) but so far, highly recommend these Wintrac Pros.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Easy Going miles

Honda Civic Type R

The tyres need a short warm up phase to grip on slippery road around freezing. City driving is not really enough to get them to grip well enough, that you don't experience slip at acceleration from a stand still. Once moving, they quickly bite into the road surface when dry, wet and snowy roads are a little more tricky. The confidence you build on snow and slush is phenomenal though. As long as you drive smoothly, the tyres keep you on track even in tight corners. Bumps and pot holes are transfered to your bum quite directly, but not as harsh as with the 245/30 summer tyres. Aquaplaning sets in at closer to 100km/h with nearly new tyres. Thread wear is great. Over the 20000km in mild weather on motorway and city streets, they still look almost as new. Smooth driving and no hard exeleration or braking are key for long thread life. Cornering feels a little less direct than on the 245/30 summer tyres and I wouldn't recommend track use. Though rated up to 270km/h, sporty driving is possible. Long distance driving is okay. Road noise is acceptable, comfort is good. Comfort setting goes best with the Wintrac Pro for everyday driving, if your car has different driving modes. They do take emergency manouvers very well though. Though I have no experience, if they do well under repeated manouvers. The tyres quickly tell you, when they lose traction, gaining it back quickly as well.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Toyota GT86

There tires are AMAZING. Let me start by saying that obviously this tire has been judge keeping in mind we're still talking about a winter tire: so for example when I give it a 9/10 on dry grip it's not the same as a 9/10 summer tire, but for being a winter tire it's very very good. Wet grip is great which again is to be expected on a winter tire. Road feedback is one of the strenght of these tires, honestly they feel better than the summer Michelin Primacy that were previously fitted. Handling is good (again compared to other winter tires). When it comes to comfort and noise there are definitely more compliant tires out there but considering the feel they give you it's a very welcome compromise. What really amazed me the most is snow and ice grip: in these conditions they are OUTSTANDING. With my RWD car I've gone through incredibly deep snow (while bottoming out) without a problem while other FWD cars with winter tires were completely stuck. Even starting from a complete stop on a hill was no problem. I know that might compromise wear if you use them only on tarmac but if you need to drive on snow these are just incredible.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW 335d

Feels much more like a summer tyre than previous winter tyres from Dunlop and Pirelli. Handles well. Good wet and dry grip/braking in cold conditions. Limited experience of snow as used in UK, France and Germany for past two winters. Appear long lasting. Only negative is significant increase in fuel consumption.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-18-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

BMW M3

Using tyres on BMW M4 F82 only in winter sesion. Dry grip is like with summer tyres very good. Road feedback is also very good. Snow and Ice Grip is not perfect but its normal, you can feel save. Most important that you feel road very detail. I will buy for sure it again

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 159

Very positive suprise. I use them on Alfa159 2.0. Summer tyre is same size Hankook Ventus Prime3, but Wintrac pro is matching the grip, if not better than the Hankook, while comfort and noise level are much better.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.