Vredestein Wintrac Pro

The Vredestein Wintrac Pro is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Wintrac Pro
89%[average]
Dry Grip
91%
Wet Grip
91%
Road Feedback
88%
Progressiveness
85%
Wear
82%
Comfort
90%
Buy Again
90%

Vredestein Wintrac Pro Reviews

99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Easy Going miles

Honda Civic Type R

The tyres need a short warm up phase to grip on slippery road around freezing. City driving is not really enough to get them to grip well enough, that you don't experience slip at acceleration from a stand still. Once moving, they quickly bite into the road surface when dry, wet and snowy roads are a little more tricky. The confidence you build on snow and slush is phenomenal though. As long as you drive smoothly, the tyres keep you on track even in tight corners. Bumps and pot holes are transfered to your bum quite directly, but not as harsh as with the 245/30 summer tyres. Aquaplaning sets in at closer to 100km/h with nearly new tyres. Thread wear is great. Over the 20000km in mild weather on motorway and city streets, they still look almost as new. Smooth driving and no hard exeleration or braking are key for long thread life. Cornering feels a little less direct than on the 245/30 summer tyres and I wouldn't recommend track use. Though rated up to 270km/h, sporty driving is possible. Long distance driving is okay. Road noise is acceptable, comfort is good. Comfort setting goes best with the Wintrac Pro for everyday driving, if your car has different driving modes. They do take emergency manouvers very well though. Though I have no experience, if they do well under repeated manouvers. The tyres quickly tell you, when they lose traction, gaining it back quickly as well.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Toyota GT86

There tires are AMAZING. Let me start by saying that obviously this tire has been judge keeping in mind we're still talking about a winter tire: so for example when I give it a 9/10 on dry grip it's not the same as a 9/10 summer tire, but for being a winter tire it's very very good. Wet grip is great which again is to be expected on a winter tire. Road feedback is one of the strenght of these tires, honestly they feel better than the summer Michelin Primacy that were previously fitted. Handling is good (again compared to other winter tires). When it comes to comfort and noise there are definitely more compliant tires out there but considering the feel they give you it's a very welcome compromise. What really amazed me the most is snow and ice grip: in these conditions they are OUTSTANDING. With my RWD car I've gone through incredibly deep snow (while bottoming out) without a problem while other FWD cars with winter tires were completely stuck. Even starting from a complete stop on a hill was no problem. I know that might compromise wear if you use them only on tarmac but if you need to drive on snow these are just incredible.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Spirited miles

BMW 335d

Feels much more like a summer tyre than previous winter tyres from Dunlop and Pirelli. Handles well. Good wet and dry grip/braking in cold conditions. Limited experience of snow as used in UK, France and Germany for past two winters. Appear long lasting. Only negative is significant increase in fuel consumption.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-18-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

BMW M3

Using tyres on BMW M4 F82 only in winter sesion. Dry grip is like with summer tyres very good. Road feedback is also very good. Snow and Ice Grip is not perfect but its normal, you can feel save. Most important that you feel road very detail. I will buy for sure it again

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-19-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 159

Very positive suprise. I use them on Alfa159 2.0. Summer tyre is same size Hankook Ventus Prime3, but Wintrac pro is matching the grip, if not better than the Hankook, while comfort and noise level are much better.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-V
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 11,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz Vito

225/50 R17 XL
Tyres wear on the out sides long before the middle. Even with them blown up to max pressure. Tyres so hard it affects the cornering of the van.
Fitted to 2018 Vito medium wheelbase weighing 2.8 ton

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-V
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 159 2.4 jtdm 200hp

In snow and ice this is the best winter tire i ever used. Under 0°c in dry condition working perfektly. Even in city, or at high speed. On slightly wet road is the weakest point of this tire. In a real rain storm there is no problem.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-V
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

BMW 440i Gran Coupe M Sport

These tyres replaced Pirelli Sottozero 240 S2 RFTs on my car (I also have direct experience of Goodyear Ultragrip Performance Gen 1s on my wife's BMW 335i). The Vredestien Wintrac Pros are far closer in performance to the Goodyears rather than the Pirellis which were good in the wet but not when things got very difficult ie snow and ice. The Vredesteins are good in all conditions but where they excel over the GYs is steering feel which is far more responsive. They are also slightly quieter and better riding. The only downside with the Vredesteins is needing to increase tyre pressures (especially rear) to prevent roll from a softish sidewall (in comparison to a runflat). My car has adaptive suspension so little change in ride comfort, however they are significantly quieter than the Pirellis. When it comes to chaging the tyres on my wife's 335i, I'll choose the Vredestein's over the GYs.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Jaguar Jaguar XE

Bought these tyres on the strength of Autobild UHP winter tyre test 2018. Had the chance to drive through snow , slush and ice on saturday here in Scotland . Last winter I had the misfortune to experience a few scary moments when my UHP summer tyres lost traction where I skidded and slid all over the place in conditions not nearly severe as saturday past. These tyres in one word are phenomenal . I never lost traction once , I felt so safe and confident throughout my whole journey.

My wife has a mini cooper with UHP winter tyres , now on their second season. Her tyres are good but not in the same class as the Wintrac pro , they have a sluggish steering response and mushy feel at temps above 10c. The Wintrac pro at 9c last week felt very planted on dry roads , I am really quite amazed at how they've managed to achieve this .

My experience with premium winter tyres in the past have never been this good. All I can say is I'm so glad that these tyres are tested to the limit by those who know how and we all learn so much before making an expensive mistake. If you review this and decide to buy you will Not be disappointed and before you ask , I'm not affiliated with Vredestein in any shape or form . Good luck with your choice .

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.