Michelin Primacy 4

The Michelin Primacy 4 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Primacy 4
81%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
84%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
78%
Wear
84%
Comfort
85%
Buy Again
74%

Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews

94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 20,000 Spirited miles

Fiat Punto Evo mjet 95hp

Best tyres for my Fiat Punto! Silent, grippy and last long. Drive mostly on motorways. Wear is OK, even with my sporty drivestyle. Bumps and ridges are damped nicely. Would definitely buy again! Gighly recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-V
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 1,000 Easy Going miles

BMW 520i

Had the Dunlop Veuro 303 previously. This tire has uneven wear on all tires and also had step wear on all tires for some reason. This made the ride noisy and felt as though my wheel bearings had gone bad. I decided to go with the Primary 4 after 3 months of reviewing and must say what a difference this makes. The ride comfort is amazing and the road noise is nearly gone fully. I can't comment on the wet grip as we live in a desert (Dubai). I will update this review after a few months on the tire wear. But from the reviews, it looks as though they will last me 60k km.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 1,000 Spirited miles

Peugeot 208 1.5 BlueHDi

The tire is at 6.2mm of tread, Treadwear 340 Traction A Temperature A readings. You get what you'd expect out of a premium tire manufacturer for the touring segment. Dry and wet grip are phenomenal. Braking hard in the dry is like being kicked backwards. If anything (or anyone) is loose in the car, they'll start flying forward, be careful. That's how good the grip is. Wet braking is astonishing, too. Even if the tarmac is horribly slippery, you still get friction and decelerate. On good tarmac, when braking in the wet you start wondering if it really is wet outside and not dry. Straight aqua: I cannot comment yet, because the conditions have not been appropriate for conclusions. I think feedback, handling and comfort are balanced perfectly fine so as to blend the properties of a grippy and comfortable tire with those of a long-lasting and effective in wet braking one. Noise is very low, not the lowest I have experienced, but definitely low. For wear, I cannot comment so far, but given my experience with Michelin for more than two decades, I'd say they'll most likely top 80.000 before getting anywhere near the 1.6mm limit. As for their price, I got them for 250 euros a set of four, balanced, new valves. Buy again? Hell yeah.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Ford Focus

In January 2020 I did get a new Focus ST Line (182 BHP) fitted OEM with these tires. For some reason Ford has switched from Pilot Sport3 to Primacy4 on all new ST-Lines with 18" rims. I know the PS3's very well from my 2 Peugeot's 308 GT's I had before the Focus. Perfect tires with the only disadvantage they wear faster. But back to the Primacy4. From start on I had vibrations on all conditions at nearly all speed (tires cold and warm, warm lesser vibrations but still there). The wheels where balanced and the car drove straight perfectly, so that could not be the reason. After approx. 3000 miles the garage switched under garanty the tires to Continental PreniumContact6. The difference could be feld immediately, apart from a little more road noise with the Conti's and a little bit less feedback, esp. turn in, the Conti's where much more comfortablee (no vibrations) and much more grip also (inner wheel didn't slip anymore in same conditions). I think that the combination of hard wheel suspension bushes of the Focus im combination with the longtidunal laminated profile of the Primacy4 its results in more vibrations, the reason why none of the Focusses I did testdrive (they had all PS3) had the same problem. I did testdrive a Peugeot 208 II with 16 inch rims and this car had also the same vibrations but lesser due to a more comfortable suspension set up. For me never again Primacy4 tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5 Spirited miles

BMW 320D

F30 BMW 320D on standard factory fitted Bridgestone runflats on potholed concrete Bangkok roads was enough to shake fillings loose and they had to go. Fitted Michellin Primacy 4 and as they say the difference was like night and day. I can now drive on streets I have steadfastly avoided in the past and the expressway ride feels like air suspension in comparison. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Michellin Primacy 4

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-R
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Vios

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 6,000 Average miles

Honda BRV

I'm using 205/55/16 in my Honda BR-V. I live in Jakarta, Indonesia with not too good asphalt quality. I used it for my daily activity to the office. My office located about 12 kms from my house. In high speed, it feels great plenty of grip either in dry condition or wet condition. Cornering also feels great. I can easily control my car. The factory tyre is a Bridgestone Ecopia. Compared with previous tyre, Michelin Primacy 4 have a lot better noise. Honda is well known for bad road noise specially from tyre. But with Michelin Primacy 4, it can be minimalized. You still can hear some noise but a lot better than the factory tyre. After using about 10.000 kms, the tyre still feel great.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 100 Spirited miles

Renault Megane

Superb Tyre in wet and dry conditions. Virtually no road noise . I really trust these tyres as they grip so well

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Honda Accord

I purchased a set of 4 of Primacy 4 tyres approx. 4 weeks ago after being told the Primacy LC were not available.
After having 8 sets of Primacy LC these tyres are a very hard compound compared to the Primacy LC and the amount of noise and thumping of the suspension over bump strips,expansion gaps on bridges and general road pot holes is beyond belief. I now have rattles in the car and suspension that I have never had before. Adjusting tyre pressures has made no difference and when the tyres are cold the problem is worse. The tread is far to hard and is not compliant and has been developed for wear and not handling. Braking is very good on dry roads but only average on wet roads and it is very easy to spin the front wheels on acceleration from traffic lights on damp bitumen.
The smoothness of the Primacy LC's on the same roads has gone, along with the road holding when pushing into corners at speed and I am using a lot more fuel compared to when the Primacy LC's were fitted.
my regular commute to work is approx.350 kms per week on the open road and I was getting 400km per half tank.
This has now dropped back to between 310km & 350 km since fitting the Primacy 4.
These tyres are overpriced and ride very harshly and do not inspire confidence in corners and there must be better buys.
I have only done 2000km on them so far so I cannot judge what the wear rate will but as that a very hard tyre know doubt it quite high.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-16-V
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia mk2 vrs

Quite a decent tyre nothing much to complain about grips really well driven around 10k km and there is almost no wear at all ! Pretty happy with them

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.