Bridgestone Turanza T005

The Bridgestone Turanza T005 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Turanza T005
80%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
80%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
75%
Comfort
79%
Buy Again
75%

Bridgestone Turanza T005 Reviews (4)

93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Spirited miles

Renault Megane

I bought this tyre after using a pirelli p1 cinturato before. the p1s were very good tyres with excelent road feedback and confidence both dry and wet..this turanzas are a level above p1s...wet grip is just amazing there is no plenty of road feedback but confidence is top notch...breaking is great and comfort is good...I do not no about wear yet but p1s last about 25.000km which is not that good...before p1s I had michelin es plus and they lasted 35.000km easily..I recommend bridgeston t005.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
0%

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Nissan Datsun 260z

The car - 1970’s 1100kg classic sports car pushing out over 230bhp and 210lbft to the rear tyres.

In short - I am gobsmacked by how good these tyres are and recommend a buy any day in this size and for this type of car (powerful, light, RWD).

Previously using the Michelins Energy Saver tyres, they suddenly and without any notice lost grip on a damp road at around 30mph and on say 20%throttle in 3rd. It sacred the b’jeezez out of me snaking across both lanes of the dual carriageway and ending up on the stuff on the side of the road. So in came the T005 tyres.

Getting caught out in torrential rain in Silverstone, the wet grip and handling were utterly phenomenal!! Even on the surrounding dirty country roads. I was pushing 90% or more as hard in the wet as I could in the dry, carrying big speeds into the corners. This is no exaggeration. They inspire so much confidence in the wet. For example: With the Michelins I could easily smoke up the rear tyres in the wet or dry pulling out of junctions. With the Turanzas it takes a LOT of effort to make them let go in the wet let alone in the dry. I would be burning the clutch at 5krpm to get them to let go in the dry.

Dry grip is excellent and road feedback is way better than the Michelins.

The on the edge handling behaviour is very progressive in the wet and a tiny bit mushy in the dry before they start to let go. But the 70 profile probably contributes to that. Although you get plenty of feedback as to when they are reaching that limit. Roundabouts are an absolute hoot.

Braking in the wet as you expect is outstanding. Dry braking is also excellent but again can get a little mushy before lock up (no ABS on my car). Having said that, it is MUCH harder to get lock up than with the Michelins and it’s now a rare occurrence, allowing for braking much later and harder, carrying more speed into the corner and able to get on the power much earlier.

I can’t comment on wear as the car only does a 1000 miles a year with some light track work. Given how grippy they are, I doubt they would last a million miles, but that’s the compromise you make on any tyre for having great traction.

I was hoping to use the excellent continental premium contact 6s I run on both my other cars, but given they aren’t available in this size, the T005s in my humble opinion are as close as you can get.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-70-14-H
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta mk7

Excellent, exemplary all-round tyre. Grip and handling as good as for premium sport tyres, but these are better in comfort, wet performance and fuel economy.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
35%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,200 Easy Going miles

Nissan Micra

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
58%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 3
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Impreza

As a Subaru Impreza driver of almost 15 years, tyre expectations were previously set and needed to be met. Sadly, whilst the Turanza T005 has some good positives, overall it's one word. Bad.

Dry grip is extremely good along with confident wet grip. Comfort wise it's excellent. And that's it, unfortunately. Feedback is mediocre and handling is towards the poor end of the scale. Why? The sidewalls are ridiculously soft resulting in a tyre which looks flaccid and has response and handling to match. Even the coast to a speed hump sees the tyre give way whilst it tries to right itself.

Circa 3 weeks old and it's not possible to comment on longevity or wear, but this tyre will not be purchased again. Big disappointment, Bridgestone. In hindsight, I could have spent less and got much more.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Honda Accord

Bought the car recently with winter tires still on (Hankook Icebear W300), no summer set, and immediately started looking for decent summer tires. Turanza T005 was on top of my short list, mostly because of other people's reviews. Drove only 1'000 miles so far and I'm impressed with what I've got. I think the car delivers its full potential on these tires. Extremely satisfied with the handling characteristics, dry and wet grip and comfort also, although they are not the quietest tires that I've had so far (mostly Dunlops and Michelins). Here where I live the price for a set of four is 270 euros and that's only marginally more expensive than many other "no name" tires - I won't mention any of the brands, but a budget tires for my car would cost somewhere between 200-250 euros. I don't think it's wise to gamble just to save a few bucks. Would buy again 100%.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15 Spirited miles

Peugeot 306 GTI6

These tyres have very good grip in the dry and suprising grip in the wet, not under steered in the rain once and are very comfy but I think this is because of the soft side wall which then leads to a lack of feedback when driving and ruins the handling when cornering fast. Road noise is also good in that in my car i cant hear them over the wind noise.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2D Sport

Factory fit tyres on new car and relatively pleased so far. I had previously always fitted michelin crossclimate+ to my previous cars (variety of 'family' hatchbacks) as had always felt very confident in their ability to deal with all scenarios. After the early days and the tyres have started to bed in, they're very comfortable, secure in the wet, and I'm getting good mileage on them (I have managed to achieve/slight exceed the manufacturer quoted WTLP economy figures over the last few tanks). Seem to stop well in the few emergency situations when they have been required, interestingly seem slight less confidence-inspiring in the dry than the wet! Haven't had any really cold/icey conditions to test them in, but seem ok for normal driving in the 5-10oC range. Not that great cornering tho, can feel them losing traction if taking too much speed into the corner/roundabout, although this may be more me needing to adjust to driving a larger/heavier/less agile type of car, and seems to be improving as they bed in anyway.

Too early to comment on wear yet. I think when it does come time to replace them, I'll probably go back to crossclimates or similar, however that's more due to a personal preference for all seasons, and on current evidence, I think I'll be happy to run these ones down properly before changing.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Spirited miles

BMW 550i

I was suspicious from the beginning that a single model will be able to perform well across the size ranges (t005 available from 14 to 20”); However I bought them as in my case that would be most pragmatic decision. Why?
I need 4 tyres, same tread, same wear (due to xdrive) and different size for front and rear axles and run flat. Available options are Michelin, Pirelli, Dunlop and t005. All the others are quite old models, expected to be revamped in a year, which will make it very hard to find a new tyre in case of a failure.
At my size, Bridgestone t005 are with EU label - B for fuel, B for wet road and 71dB.
EU label says it all - it’s a noisy tire and I wouldn’t expect a lot on a wet road.
When it comes to comfort, it’s a tricky topic for rft but are slightly (very slightly) better vs the Michelin I took out (they still had the dept, but we’re already 7 years old (DOT) and I needed a change.
Yes, t005 has the BMW star marking, which helped me taking the decision.
Note the review I’m doing is after my first 500km.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat Estate 2.0 TDI (170)

Excellent tyres. Best Bridgestones ever. I like safe and predictible handling. The comfort is great also. Definately I will buy these tyres again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.