Bridgestone Turanza T005

The Bridgestone Turanza T005 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Turanza T005
81%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
81%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
76%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
76%

Bridgestone Turanza T005 Reviews (4)

78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Mazda 6 Tourer 2.2D Sport

Factory fit tyres on new car and relatively pleased so far. I had previously always fitted michelin crossclimate+ to my previous cars (variety of 'family' hatchbacks) as had always felt very confident in their ability to deal with all scenarios. After the early days and the tyres have started to bed in, they're very comfortable, secure in the wet, and I'm getting good mileage on them (I have managed to achieve/slight exceed the manufacturer quoted WTLP economy figures over the last few tanks). Seem to stop well in the few emergency situations when they have been required, interestingly seem slight less confidence-inspiring in the dry than the wet! Haven't had any really cold/icey conditions to test them in, but seem ok for normal driving in the 5-10oC range. Not that great cornering tho, can feel them losing traction if taking too much speed into the corner/roundabout, although this may be more me needing to adjust to driving a larger/heavier/less agile type of car, and seems to be improving as they bed in anyway.

Too early to comment on wear yet. I think when it does come time to replace them, I'll probably go back to crossclimates or similar, however that's more due to a personal preference for all seasons, and on current evidence, I think I'll be happy to run these ones down properly before changing.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Spirited miles

BMW 550i

I was suspicious from the beginning that a single model will be able to perform well across the size ranges (t005 available from 14 to 20”); However I bought them as in my case that would be most pragmatic decision. Why?
I need 4 tyres, same tread, same wear (due to xdrive) and different size for front and rear axles and run flat. Available options are Michelin, Pirelli, Dunlop and t005. All the others are quite old models, expected to be revamped in a year, which will make it very hard to find a new tyre in case of a failure.
At my size, Bridgestone t005 are with EU label - B for fuel, B for wet road and 71dB.
EU label says it all - it’s a noisy tire and I wouldn’t expect a lot on a wet road.
When it comes to comfort, it’s a tricky topic for rft but are slightly (very slightly) better vs the Michelin I took out (they still had the dept, but we’re already 7 years old (DOT) and I needed a change.
Yes, t005 has the BMW star marking, which helped me taking the decision.
Note the review I’m doing is after my first 500km.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,500 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat Estate 2.0 TDI (170)

Excellent tyres. Best Bridgestones ever. I like safe and predictible handling. The comfort is great also. Definately I will buy these tyres again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Volvo Volvo V40

Excellent dry and wet grip. Excellent handling. They are new so I can not say anything about wear. I had Michelin Energy Saver before and I can say that this is totally different car with Turanza T005. Recommend to everyone!

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 22,000 Average miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium X

mk4 mondeo t.x 163 . gave these a try 180 x2 at national tyres . just done 22k still plenty of tread left . great grip wet or dry .will buy again

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-W
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Kia Motors Soul 1.6 GDI

Pros:
- Great handling, brake and grip in the dry.
- Even better in the wet.
- Very stable at highway speed and on a twisty roads.
- Feedback is best I had with tyre ever since I drive a car /more than 35 years/.
- Good economy.

Cons:
- Need a little warm up for best results.
- These tyres are noisy.
- I suppose they'll fit better on a cars with softer suspencion.
Definately best Bridgestone tyres I've ever drove. They replaced my OEM Nexen's N Blue HD, ordinary tyres which I've throw away after 1000 miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Ford Focus MK3

very good grip in dry and wet conditions , smooth ride , comfortable , low rolling resistance , fuel economy , good braking , good handling in corners ,

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-V
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Touran 1.2 TSI

It's unbelievable what progress Bridgstone made in comparison to previous T001. This one is more comfortable, more stable in cornering, better in dry conditions and superior in the wet. The only slight weakness is the noise. The handle is predictibale in the wet with slight tendensy to understeer in dry, but I like it. Back in the years I always use to trust the Michelin most, but now I'm more satisfied with the direct and precize behaviour of Bridgstone's. Yes they are louder, harder and lasted less but I'll stick with them. I recommend these tyres for either calm and spirited drivers.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet

I went for Turanza T005 based on positive rewievs and expecting a mild and wet winter.
I drove around 2000 miles since then on mostly wet and cold roads with temps around 0-10 C.
Excellent wet grip and handling with a lot of feedback. Very low noise, quite pleased. Previously I had T001, also not bad, very predictable tyre and Nexen Nfera Su1 which had poor wet handling, I would say even dangerous.
Looking forward to spring, summer and warm weather, because on dry so far grip is sensational.
Tyre wear is OK, so far no big diff. between front/rear, it will increase later, after all it's FWD with decent hp.
I didn't drive to the limit due to low temps.
I would buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.