Bridgestone Turanza T005

The Bridgestone Turanza T005 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Bridgestone Turanza T005
81%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
82%
Wear
76%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
75%

Bridgestone Turanza T005 Reviews

79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 7,000 Average miles

BMW 218d Active Tourer

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 28,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai i30 CRDi

Positive: Amazingly good grip on dry and wet roads. It is extremely safe to drive a car with these tires. The car’s fuel consumption is really very low with Turazna T005. Negative: I think it wears out relatively quickly. I was able to drive roughly 45,000 km (28,000 miles) with these. The grip is very temperature dependent. Excellent in warm and hot. Not bad in cool weather either. Around 8 degrees Celsius, it no longer feels safe. I use winter tires in winter, but it can be relatively cold in both fall and spring. I’ve never had a summer tire that has lost so much from gripping because of the temperature. The tire is very loud, which ruins comfort. In terms of safety, I am not satisfied with aquaplaning resistance alone. That could be better. I would only buy it again if the sound insulation of my car would be much better. I'm switching to Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 now.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 45,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi

One of the best tyres i had. Replacing 2 Goodyear efficent grip performance ( good tyres but awkward road feedback). They suit the car very well. They grip extremely well both dry and wet, even when pushed hard. They seem to perform much better on warm weather than on cold conditions. Great confort and great mpg. Excelent road feedback. Maybe i'll change for 4 seasons tyres. Maybe i'll try the new brigestone a005 Evo which seem to BE more summer tyres with winter performance and more peace of mind on winter conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 6,213 Spirited miles

Opel Astra K 1.4T 150

Great wet and dry handling. Good response. Comfortable and trustable at high speed and performance using.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A180 1.6turbo 2013

Used these to replace a set of OEM T001 Runflats 3 months ago and essentially transformed the car comfort-wise. However, it's obviously difficult to attribute as to how much the change is due to the change from the T001 to T005 or due to the fact that my replacement set are not runflats. The T001 RFTs did give a sharper initiall steering response, though as cornering loads increased, the steering response move back to normal. Levels of dry grip did not live up to the sporty nature of the initial steering response, but was adequate. The T005s on the had feel a tad slower to react, but have a more linear performance when it comes to response and grip, which is good for a comfort-biased touring tyre. Driven responsibly, the T005s also behave well in the wet. They clear water thin sheets of standing water well, but of course my set should, as they are quite new. They give ample warning of impending loss of cornering grip, which is as equally as important as outright grip. As most people have noticed, these tyres are premium comfort biased tyres, so it should be no surprise that comfort is their forte. They run quietly on all surfaces, and even on course surfaces, road roar appears well controlled. Even with the relatively high tyre pressures Mercedes specify for what is quite a small car (36.5/33 psi), road shock absorbtion is adequate. This was where the factory fitted T001 RFTs were atrocious. I am so far very satisfied with my purchase, and do not regret the slight premium I paid for these tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,500 Average miles

Nissan LEAF Tekna

The tyre appears to grip quite well, however one drawback appears that it is too soft. During 3-4 months of usage number of stones embedded in it, with one eventually puncturing it causing deflation. I have never experienced a puncture before that could be caused by a small stone.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-W
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta ST180

Been on fiesta st-2 2016 for 8 months and after alignment and checked pressures have found lacking grip in dry and wet. Very disappointing as had potenza previously which good but no longer make for this size. Very hard tyre and takes a long time to reach temperature and gives no feed back or confidence to push. I will not be buying again and eventhough 5mm left on 4 thinking of buying new tyres michelin. My tyres cost £105 each and frustrating as a lot to spend.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-40-17-W
62%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Easy Going miles

Opel insignia

Pros: good grip and braking, comfortable around town, low fuel use, okeyish handling, good price compared to other premium brands. Cons: it's an eco tyre so terrible road feedback. I never know what the wheels are doing. Very noisy at speed. Not so comfortable when you hit a pothole or a bump at cruising speeds. Haven't driven them yet in the rain nd can't comment on wear rate. All an all an eco tyre for almost exclusive city or low speed use and very good on fuel. I drive 95% around town so i would buy again as it's cheaper compared to other premium tyres in my size (245/45/18). Those who enjoy/prefer spirited driving, stay away.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Average miles

Toyota Corolla E140

I drove my car about 700km with combination roads (asphalt, pave, also little bit dirt road). FYI, my Turanza series is T005A which is made in Indonesia. I felt quieter than my previous tyre (Ecopia EP150), also greater handling too. In wet road condition, i feel there is no big differences. So far, I'm satisfied with my new tyres and I'm enjoying it to drive more far! But, this tyre has the highest price in my country in it's class. Also, this tyre get dirty easily on it's sidewall especially if you drive it on the dirt road.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-15-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 15,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E Class AMG

I put a full set on my e class estate as it was on budget tyres when I bought it, they transformed the ride and handling (why do folk put cheap tyres on premium cars?). the ride is quite firm on the AMG spec but the tyres do not `give in` when cornering etc. Due for a set of rears soon and they WILL be Turanza T005`s again for peace of mind when driving in the dry or heavy rain.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.