Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3

The Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3
71%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
78%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
73%
Wear
60%
Comfort
65%
Buy Again
64%

Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 Reviews (2)

86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

I've had several tyre combinations on this car and the Eagle F1 GSD3 is the one that offered the best of all worlds. I've been using these for years now, and covered many miles.
I'd rate the feedback as excellent and the wet performance and cold weather performance as surprisingly good.
Downsides: wears quite fast depending on driving style. Quite expensive.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Spirited miles

Opel Corsa C

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Renault 19

Have them on my Renault 19 16v for near 10 years now. Tyres haven't really wore down anything visible yet. Look well on the car and happy with grip in both dry and wet weather.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet

These tyres ARE still available in certain sizes as they were standard fit on a few cars and they are required to supply them for a few years to come.

You need to be extremely careful when purchasing them online as some online retailers have been getting the ones that were manufactured in Thailand and do not have the E mark making them illegal in the UK and Europe.

Tyre shopper are still supplying E marked GSD3 tyres. The Thai factories also are producing the E marked tyres destined for the UK and exactly the same spec as the ones produced in Germany.

Check with your retailer they ARE E marked before purchase.

Cracking tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
10%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 1
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Jaguar XJ6

These tyres were replaced in Europe in 2007, the tyres are still manufactured in thailand for the asian market, if you check goodyears website in europe you will NOT find this tyre for sale.
If you contact goodyear themselves they will tell you that the tyres are not legal in the UK and will ask you for details of the company that supplied them to you.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-V
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio III Initiale 2.0

Lost grip on wet roads 3 times going 20mph around a corner. They do not feel safe and won't be buying again. Fine in the dry and good at preventing aquaplaning.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Nissan 300ZX

I've tested these tyres from both German and the Asian manufacturers.
There is a significant difference in quality or something occuring between their origins. The Asian sourced ones are unpredictable at speed, and seem to be noiser too. I also suspect a much higher wear rate than the German sourced ones.
I go through tyres quickly as I use them for track days. The GSD3s to wear faster than most, but they are comfortable and can be used for longer tourers with respectable performance.
Apparently these tyres were discontinued due to a high manufacturing cost.
I now reside with Bridgestone RE11s as an all round tyre - but yet to try Eagle F1 Asymmetrics

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 100,000 Spirited miles

Nissan R33 Skyline GtS25T

First tyre I fitted to my Skyline - excellent in the dry, fantastic steering response, phenomenal in the wet, almost LETHAL in snow, ice and even just very cold weather - they simply freeze, to the extent that you can tell just by looking at them!

If you have two sets of rims, the F1s are probably the best summer tyre around, given the wet UK climate. If you only have one set of rims, don't buy (recommend Bridgestone Turanza Er300).

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Mazda mx 5

Have had these on my MX5 for about 3 months now. Great once they have warmed up, but like the Yoko Advans they replaced, cold damp days make the car feel a bit too "twitchy" at the front for my liking esp. in damp conditions. I think this is the problem with "Summer" tyres in general, rather than the GSD3. In fact in the first couple of weeks I had the tracking checked, and re-checked - then twigged that the problem started when I switched from the Nokian winter tyres (March of 2012). Adding about 3-4 lb pressure over standard helped. Once they get warmed up going they really are great on twisty roads, wet or dry.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-16-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.