Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3

The Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3
71%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
78%
Road Feedback
76%
Progressiveness
73%
Wear
60%
Comfort
65%
Buy Again
64%

Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 Reviews

90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 30,000 Average miles

Toyota Yaris

I had a newly bought set of these for the summer, being almost low-profile. Other than the fact that they do look amazing due to their sporty look, they have been very good and reliable tires. And they really lasted a long distance without too much wear, in spite of the good grip and feel that they offered. Of course, not very good in cold, wet times (early springs or late autumns) but for what their built, on summer, they do what they're expected to do, and do it well. Progressive and reliable. Would definitely buy again also given the affordable price.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-16-V
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Suzuki swift sport

Totally superb tyre for a Swift Sport MK1. Had been using Falkens for over 2 years and fancied a change. Totally transformed the car. Steering feels 'tighter' the punishing ride of the Mk1 Swift Sport (ZC31) on Falkens (912 eco runs) has been replaced by a ride which is very firm and fantastic (so much better than the extra load 85W Falkens). Turn in is better plus you feel the grip so much more.
The Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3s are fantastic for the Mk1 Swift Sport. Only regret is I didn't get them 2 years ago.
Forget all the alternative tyre size for Swift Sports (i.e trying to avoid buying 195/45/R17s), and 'extra load' 85W or so tyres.
Get these. They are phenomenal.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

BMW 320i

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Fiat Panda

A poor tyre in my opinion. It grips fine in the dry (like every other tyre on sale), but has no real directional stability... Off centre the car darts this way and that. Once into a corner with a little lock on, all's well, the breakaway is progressive, and all feels fine. Traction isn't great (195 tyres on for 100hp 1.4 should be more than enough!) but wheelspin coming out of corners is common.

In the wet I feel they are ok. Standing water, and general motorway confidence is fine, and with smooth inputs you can still travel quickly on b-roads. Sharp inputs - inputs I'd expect a car to understeer from but still actually turn(!) aren't great in the wet (or damp) though. I expect more from a tyre.

All in all, if I have to replace my tyres I'll probably get another couple of these (standard fit, and there's nothing else good in my size), but I'd be looking for something more modern these days.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-15-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf GTI

This tyre gives me a lot of confidence in the wet. The way it cuts through water is much better than my last set of tyres. Cornering and braking is excellent too.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,215 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 156 JTD

These tyres are fantastic. Their grip is spectacular. I don't know why some people put a bad comments on these tyres, probably they had them already on their car and they wore out... I have put them brand new. Wet grip is fabulous, like I'm driving on dry surface. They are a littlebit noisy, and this is only reason why I gave them a grade 9 of 10. I'm sorry that this model of tyre is discontinued of production in Europe. My set is made in Germany, and this model is still producing in USA, and Asia...

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
37%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 0 Average miles

Honda CIVIC 1.6 VTEC

Got is set of tyres with my car .
Almost got into a accident turning in a bend , skid at around 35km/hr in a car park when it was wet . Immediately change to S drive which was good and had long wear .

This set of tyre was quite bad in wet , unassured handling ...

Would never buy it again

Tyre size reviewed: 210-50-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Suzuki swift sport

Tyres come on car from new and in my opinion are fantastic and grip superbly fairly speedy driving aswell

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-17-W
38%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Mazda MX5

I needto update my original review but cannot find it.

I used these tyres last summer, grio fantastic (once warmed up) etc. Shortly after putting them back on for this summer I notice a rythmic humming noise coming from somewhere, just like a differential on the way out.

After a bit of swopping them back for the Winter tyres (in pairs of course) I have found that

1) The noise is coming from the GSD3 tyres
2) If you check the tyres after the car has been standing overnight, all 4 show a flat spot where the tyre touches the ground
3) If the tyres are stored on their side (as they are over Winter) for just a couple of days the flat spot disappears, but not the noise.
4) After a run of about 10 miles the flat spot almost disappears, but not the noise.
5) in all cases the tread depth is even all round the tyre

The oldest tyre is date 5108, the two newest are 3711 and 3911, and the wheels are stored on their side during the Winter

Two of the tyres have had 2 summer's use, the other two just one summer - and a short one at that.

These particular tyres are the most expensive I have ever bought (205/50/16 on an MX5 mk3) and I am not happy about having to fork out several hundred pounds to replace them.

I've always bought Goodyear as the tyre of choice, and have recommended them to others. I can no longer do either

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

BMW 325i M Sport

Had these fitted to my BMW 325ci. Excellent dry grip and feel I was at first really impressed. However, after a couple of years and still with plenty of tread I had major problems with what I thought was wheel balancing, after re-balancing on several occasions at independent tyre fitters, changing wheels thinking they were buckled to BMW balancing the wheels whilst fitted to the car, my dealer concluded That 3 out of the 4 GSD3 tyres fitted to my car were buckled. I immediately changed all 4 tyres to Falken FK452 with no problems, would not use Goodyear again.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-30-19-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.