Radar Dimax R8 plus

The Radar Dimax R8 plus is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Radar Dimax R8 plus
70%[average]
Dry Grip
80%
Wet Grip
73%
Road Feedback
66%
Progressiveness
70%
Wear
73%
Comfort
63%
Buy Again
62%

Radar Dimax R8 plus Reviews

94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen GOLF GTI MK6 remmapped

Potentially the tyres to stop skidding, and wheel spin Would highly recommend in the wet!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
62%
Breakdown Score
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3 Average miles

Volkswagen Touareg

So I just had all four tyres (Bridgestone Dueler HP Sport) changed and I went with budget Radar Dimax R8+(DOT 1619). This is an initial review of their performance which mind you is based on a 2.5 mile drive in the wet. Dry Grip: Can't write on this yet as I am yet to drive in the dry. Wet Grip: I was actually impressed by the grip in the wet - they seemed to respond quicker with about same stopping distance to my previous tyres which were rated C for wet (and down to 1.3mm trea depth). Road Feedback: was definitely milder compared to my previous, bumps didn't get feel as crude as before (maybe the "well-inflatedness" of the new ones factored into this). Handling: There was a certain sponginess to how they felt,accelerating seemed a little laggy but taking corners felt slightly better and there was no skidding. Wear: can't say much on ths as they are brand new - came with full 7mm tread depth, I'll see how wear goes - fingers crossed. Comfort: I usually drive with suspension set to comfort(else the mrs throws-up everywhere) but I did feel a slight but noticeable increase in comfort level. Buy again: Only time will tell! Looks: I like the tread pattern - with the reassuring 4 main groves present, not a big-fan of the checquered finish on the sidewall and they look a little pale too (will have to get them darkened somehow). Conclusion: So far so good, I have an eighty-mile roundtrip coming up, hopefully that will give more positive insight.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 37,000 Average miles

Audi A6 2.0 TDIe C6 model

OK guys I don't normally do reviews but maybe it will help someone. I got 4 of Dimax r8+ put on my car 27 months ago just before I went for a long trip from UK to Eastern Europe, 3 weeks = 3500 miles. On my return to the UK there was a storm in Germany rain was pouring and we didn't have any spare time to stop and wait otherwise we would have missed our ferry and even in the heavy rain at the motorway limit speeds these tyres performed extremely well. In the dry no issues at all. I covered 37000 miles in 27 months and fronts have just over 2 mm left (ready for new ones), rear ones got about 4.5mm left. The tyres noise is average not too noisy but not very quiet ether, when it comes to rate the noise it also depends what car in mine average noise is present at low speeds with the windows down, but for the tyres ratings I would say the noise is acceptable. I had softer tyres before slightly more expensive on a different car that performed really well and very quite but only lasted for about 20k. I do recommend these because they will not break the bank and they do good mileage.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,500 Average miles

Infiniti Q50S Hybrid

Got these tires new when I bought my car. After barely 20,000km, there was absolutely no tread left on my rear tires (I've got the pictures to prove it). I use my car for commuting, mostly highway. This is absolutely the worst tire I've ever seen when it comes to wear, stay away from it !!

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-19-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Average miles

Honda Accord

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Jeep Grand Cherokee

These are great tyres. Can’t believe how little I paid for these compared to “premium” brands.
I genuinely can’t find fault with them.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-50-20-W
18%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 4
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 1
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 600 Average miles

BMW 520d M Sport

Done 600 miles in these tyres so far and they scare the heck out of me. The car is now unpredictable and the handling is scary to say the least. would never under any circumstances buy these again even for half the price. Probably OK for Town driving up to about 40 MPH but above that and they seem in conflict to the car and its suspension settings (Main Dealer Serviced 3 year old BMW). The last time I had Tyres that handled this badly was with Cross Ply's back in the late 1970's. In terms of experience I have driven over a million miles in all sorts of vehicles in all weathers and conditions all over the world from old bangers to brand new Beemers and Mercs and these tyres are unlike anything I have ever experienced. I have no idea how long they will last but I hope they wear out quickly because at the moment I am considering writing them off and putting it down to experience and buying something safer albeit more expensive.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-20-W
52%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW M3 e46

These tyres constantly change shape as they warm up and cool down with speed changes. The vibration in the steering and noise when this happens is quite bad, though it goes away with more time driving. These tyres are probably fine for low speed town driving, as this problem occurs when transitioning between motorway/freeway speeds and town speeds.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Volvo S60 D5 R Design

Bought 4 of these for S60 D4 VOLVO.All in under £200 just over a year ago.
They replaced used set of PZEROs that were on there. And I tell you what, I cant spot the difference.....

Wet and dry handling is just as good. Never felt scared of as if they are going to give way or break away.
Wear also looks good for a 10,000m after a year.

Only one problem was the front nearside developed a puncture in the sidewall which was the only downside to these.

Brand snobbery has gone a long way.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-19-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.