Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme

The Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme
77%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
87%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
90%

Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme Reviews (3)

84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Yeti 4 x 4

I've now done 3 winters with these (about 25K miles) & there's still at least 3mm tread left -amazing! They grip well in the dry & wet, but are truly amazing in snow & icy conditions. They're more economical than the Dunlop Sport 01 summers that I have also been running (came with the car)& are quieter too. They're about the same as the Goodyear efficient grip performance that have just replaced the Dunlops. Oh, & the icing on the cake is they were cheaper than most other premium tyres, although as I'm now searching again as it's getting near to renewal time, there doesn' seem to be so much difference. Great tyre even so.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Easy Going miles

Chrysler 300C Hemi Touring

Purchased car with tyres fitted on her.
Superb in winter condition. Left them for summer as were 3-4mm tread left on them.
Suprisingly good on dry road. Obviously slighlty noisier and not so much responsive as summer ones but over all very good tyre.
Not so sure about the price tag. Circa £150 a corner is loads of money.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-18-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Ford Focus CC

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Average miles

Alfa Romeo MiTo

After t omany years getting stuck in snow i bit the bullet and bought a pair fo the fron of the car. What a lowsey winter it turned out in the end, far to wamr and wet for my Wintrac Exteme's.
What I would say though when the Temp was low enough and even when it was very wet the tyres were very sure on the road and felt very safe. I did push the tyres a bit in different conditions to see how the felt, it was very noticble as the temps got nearer double digits that the grip went away.
When taking the tyres off I was very surprised with the lack of wear with the warmer temps we had.
The Mechanic said at that rate I should get 4-5 seasons from them.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 6,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Touareg

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 255-55-18-V
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 37,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Yeti

37,000 miles (59,500km) driven on these. Very good in all respects. Good grip in snow, quite, good wear and ok in warmer dry conditions too.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Honda Honda Civic Hatchback

Perfect tyres!! I have used and I'm using them through the Alps during this winter. In the first 1000/2000 miles the fuel consumption is a bit higher than normal, but then it stabilizes. Great comfort and very quiet. The traction on snow and ice is perfect. It seems you are driving during the summer. Best snow tyres I have ever bought!!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW Z4

Very good/enough grip for a normal drive style on wet and dry roads. Many tests say that they are not champions in the rain, but I have to say, that I don't have had any problem with aquaplaning or in heavy rain. I'm very satisfied. In the snow they are plenty of grip and traction. Wher other people were mounting snow chains, my Z4 was still running without difficulties. Starting in the snow is not a problem too. Very good product, quiet and comfortable on bumpy roads. Strongly recommended. (sorry for my english :-)

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Audi A8

I recomend this tyres! very good tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Audi RS4 Quattro

I have these fitted to my RS4, and I get so much driver confidence from these tyres which is vital for a car with so much performance. They just assist the 4WD to grip beyond expectations even when the roads are a bit icy you get confidence and grip with a great progressive feel.

I fully recommend these tyres for winter months as they are comfortable, wear is good and fairly quiet so they are easy to live with. (I can't comment on MPG as I only get 19-26 MPG anyway...)

Bad bits:
They could do with being a bit more precise on steering, but I've overlook this as the benefits outweigh the negatives.

Verdict:
What can I say, these tyres are amazing in the snow/ice and when the weather gets cold. I'd even consider leaving them on all year round, if I didn't already have a set of summer tyres as they suit 95% of my driving all year.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.