Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme

The Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme is a Winter Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme
77%[average]
Dry Grip
83%
Wet Grip
86%
Road Feedback
82%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
87%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
90%

Vredestein Wintrac Xtreme Reviews (2)

88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Spirited miles

MG ZT 260

First winter tyres I'd ever used. Very good in the snow on my MG ZT V8.Very good in the wet too.
However all four tyres have now split on the inside walls - they are dated 2010.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Toyota RAV4

great tyres. had 4 of those for the last 4 winters on my RAV4 SUV and they are in excellent shape. highly recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

BMW Z4

A very quiet winter tyre, even if runflat. On my BMW Z4 they are predictable, on dry road very grippy, quick and precise. Excellent on wet too. They grip very good and provide always an excellent traction and have no slip. On snow they give the best and they go on where other cars have to mount chaines. This is the second winter, and they will stay a third too. Very good wear. An excellent winter tire, godd on dry and wet roads too. I recomend and love this tyres. Absolutely good price for this performance.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

Great winter tyre does more than you expect and quiet too

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-20-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Nissan Navara 2.5tdi

Wearing theme in a Navara 2.5td, I can say that this Tyre is excellent. I don't know how many kilometers are on theme because they where on my Navara when I bought it one year ago. Although that this is a type of Tyre I would never choose because is a winter Tyre and I originated in Greece (my car was imported from Belgium), I have to submit that I was really surprised.
Excellent grip on dry and wet. On the highway very steadily even with 180km/h and no noise at all. Never test theme on snow but on icy road pretty slippery (I think on icy road the only solution is studded tires). But the big surprise came when I went of road (not very extreme) with another 20 vehicles. I had the highest degree of difficulty comparing the Tyres of the rest vehicles and I never stuck. Even on mud terrain (with no high gradient).
I highly recommend them for someone who drive fast and wants sometimes to go of road.
Now I am ready to replace theme and decided to purchase for Michelin Latitude Cross

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 42,000 Easy Going miles

Skoda Yeti

An excellent winter tyre. I've driven mine on many track and poor quality roads in the Highlands of Scotland and they handle everything I've thrown at them. 42,000 miles out a set is superb!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz ML

Excellent winter tyre, a little noisy as you would expect from a winter tyre and not the cheapest but they grip very well especially in winter conditions, I have yet to try them out in the snow but in the mud they will get you out of trouble.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-19-V
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Spirited miles

Volvo XC90 2.5t AWD VOR

Just purchased few days ago and for wear I cant fill stars.
First I must inform you that I buy allways Pirelli Scorpion for my
XC90 2.5T for winter and summer and I like it so much no noise at all
at high speeds ect. but price is around 280 Eur one pcs.
For Serbian bad holes full roads its crazy to buy again so expensive
tires especially in winter time where no one care for big holes in streets,
channels and bumpy roads with high shoulders very sharp edges...
I buy a little bit cheaper tire Vredestein and I like it first days.
Soon I will come back to make better review but for first days Im
happy with tracking and rain streets even if tire was marked as not so
good on rain - its not true at all with so heavy Volvo XC90.
Waiting snow tomorrow yeeeeeeeeee. Yes I reccomend to buy this tire not bcs.
its cheaper not at all but for this money you will get very good winter tires. Regards from Serbia and Slovenian Alps soon full of snow. GO to snow on Kranjska Gora with Vredestein 4 Xtreme and you will love it. Branko

Tyre size reviewed: 235-60-18-H
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Spirited miles

Ford S Max Titanium X Sport

never had winter tyres so thought I'd give them a try and was amazed when the snow came in 2012/2013 never got stuck when others did, will say not that great in the wet but the snow and slush is where they perform.
I mad a point in driving to Manchester over snake pass in heavy snow and was even able to overtake.
car is S max ecoboost with 250bhp so in the dry the tyres do kick the traction control in so not as good as summer tyres.
this year of 2014 / 2015 ive fitted Michelin alpine 3.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 25,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz CL500

Mercedes are notoriously poor performers in cold weather conditions, I was introduced to this tyre eight years ago and after speaking with Vredestein tech boys, decided to run them all year. What a move! The tyre is a real performer all year, solid in the rain and when there's snow on the ground, you wouldn't know it, I have a reasonable incline on my driveway which, without these tyres, I cannot climb without totally clearing. My wife has an E320 Estate which are also fitted with Wintrac Extreme's and again drives like a front wheel drive in the winter. If there is a downside, I wouldnt give it the full monty (ie.5.5l full throttle on the bends) in summer time, so as long as you're not a boy racer, and want a Merc to have grip in the winter, fantastic tyre!!!!

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-18-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.