Michelin CrossClimate Plus

The Michelin CrossClimate Plus is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin CrossClimate Plus
83%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
88%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
85%

Michelin CrossClimate Plus Reviews (6)

94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Audi a3 s line

Feels like a summer tyre but is still amazing on snow.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 200 Easy Going miles

Citroën C4

Now i had chance to try them on snowy conditions, did not have any trouble at all. Just like every other winter tyre. I did not expect that. Very good Michelin.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Average miles

BMW M240i

I bought the CrossClimate Plus as a winter only tyre having spent last winter scrabbling around on the standard fitment Michelin Pilot Supersport summer tyres. I'll obviously be switching back to the Supersports for the summer so don't take this as a true "All Season" review but my reasons for going Crossclimates for winter over a full winter tyre is a) living down south so we don't see a lot of snow, and b) having had them previously Ive got a real aversion to the way winter tyres have a soft vague feeling in all conditions due to the flexibility of the blocks. Weather down here in Southern England over the past month has ranged from mild days in the low teens centigrade both wet and dry right down to -3c on a couple of mornings plus one particular night when it rained then cleared leaving greasy damp roads barely above freezing. No snow to test them in yet but I think I've now driven in the majority of normal southern winter weather and in all conditions they've been excellent so far.

They obviously don't have the carcass or block stiffness of the Supersport so the tyre does feel a little softer generally, but a bit of additional comfort (plus less road noise) isnt a bad thing in winter and thankfully there's certainly none of the vagueness or floaty block feeling I was desperate to avoid from previous expreriences on full winter tyres. They grip well when cornering and traction is excellent despite chosing a square setup with the same size tyres both ends so a narrower 225/40-18 on the rear of a 340bhp car. Things like pulling sharply out of damp or wet junctions is no longer the nervous will it grip or will it spin up event that it used to be on the Supersports, plus the annoying suspension knock/thump from cold rubber tyre blocks skipping over tarmac when reversing with some steering lock on has gone completely which is a bonus. I actually think when compared against the Supersport the usual 7c crossover rule of thumb does a slight disservice to the CrossClimate as they seem to grip better in every condition below about 10c and by the time it gets towards zero they're in another league. Standing water performance also seems fine despite what some of the reviews suggest, they might not be as good as some but I've driven some very wet roads recently through standing water at reasonable speeds and they've always felt secure (better than the Supersport anyway!). To sum up, obviously we need some snow before I'll be 100% certain I made the right winter tyre choice but so far I'm very impressed.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 100 Easy Going miles

Citroën C4

Very quiet and nice tyre. Good grip on wet road, did not have chance to test them on snow. In dry similar to summer tyres, did not felt any drawbacks.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,009 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan SE Nav 2.0 TDI 150PS 2WD 6spd Man

Had these put on the Tiguan in January and I’m glad I did in March we had the beast from the east. I have a 60 mile round trip to work. And they came through that without a problem I felt confident in going anywhere.
To date they have done just 20000 miles and they still have plenty of tread on them and I personally think they will do another 20000 before replacement.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz 320CDi

Purchased for E class had Pirelli P7s & Continentals. Cross Climate have made the steering feedback 30% sharper. The comfort factor increased 20%. Dry & wet braking improvement 15% increase. The car feels more stable in all conditions therefore win win. Bought another two sets for my daughters cars.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 30 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

3rd set of these tyres just come off. Can’t say anything negative about them. As a taxi, I’m getting 50,000 KM’s as I look after them and they pay for themselves when its frosty and snowy, as I can work.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Hyundai i40 sedan

Jon, thanks for the "London to Switzerland" video review. Having driven years on Goodyear's F1 Asymmetric range and Conti's Sport Contact range, I was sceptical of an all seasons tyre. I was wrong. For M-way, fast A-road and a mix of minor roads, Michelin CrossClimate+ proved to be sure footed, responsive and surprisingly quiet and comfy. Recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Easy Going miles

Ford Focus

Certainly more quiet than original Bridgestone and more confident with breaking and road holding. I have yet to confirm that they are as good in winter conditions.Prices do vary from different suppliers/fitters so check this out- I obtained a good deal from Kwik-fit plus a free Dash Cam ( waiting for that to arrive) Overall though I am impressed aon my top of the range car now have what I consider to be a top class tyre

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Average miles

Kia Motors Sportage

I replaced the stock Hankook Optimo with Crossclimate Plus. The difference in the cold and wet is like day and night. With a bit of snow they are perfectly fine. I have autosock on board in the winter in case of very extreme conditions. The crossclimate are supposed to be worse in dry braking but to be fair, they don't feel that way. I am very happy with them and I will continue to use them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.