Michelin CrossClimate Plus

The Michelin CrossClimate Plus is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin CrossClimate Plus
83%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
88%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
85%

Michelin CrossClimate Plus Reviews (5)

78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 16 Average miles

Alfa Romeo Giuiletta

I had these CC+ on my Alfa Giulietta driving on a mix of country roads and motorways for about 16,000 miles until I recently sold the car. The cold weather grip in the wet and dry on the mix of hills and country lanes I regularly drive on, was very confidence inspiring. They were pretty quiet on the motorway and were very good when the weather warmed up. I actually preferred them in the winter than the summer. The front's were beginning to show signs of wear on the front shoulders when we sold the car but still perfectly acceptable. I'd strongly recommend them and I'm looking to add them to our new car when the current tyres need to be replaced.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 325 coupe

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,200 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz E Class

I bought the CrossClimate+ tires for my 2011 E-class in February for Estonian climate which is very snow-heavy with snowy, icy, wet roads - the whole package, average northern climate. I've now driven something around 2000 kilometers with these tires, on all possible road conditions and I can whole-heartedly say these are the best tires I've ever had!

I bought the car last summer, so this was my first winter with this car and I had Nexen Winguard Winspikes on for the start of the winter since those were the winter tires the old owner provided. As the old tires had enough tread, I didn't really see a reason to buy new ones, so I decided to go with those. Honestly, driving has never been as terrifying as it was with Nexens! My car was fishtailing like crazy even on slightly wet roads, not to even talk about snowy roads - the car was literally squirming, something it had never done before when I had summer tires on and drove on not-so-decent conditions during the summer. The Nexens really made me think for a second that my car is to blame - why else would it be so terrifying to drive in the winter with WINTER tires? And by the way, that happened even within city limits, driving with 50km/h speed. The car was so unstable on the road that even stability control kicked in constantly.

I've driven with plenty of Mercedes in my life, so I knew the problem couldn't really be the car. So, I decided to get rid of the tires and buy something that would also eliminate the need to constantly change tires - I went for the best option I could find for my car's rims and I opted for the CC+ tires. I was quite skeptical about this choice though at first since I had always driven with studded winter tires before, these are my first ever all-season tires. I really didn't think all-season tires could be superior to winter tires since theoretically, their performance should be somewhat average.

However, getting these tires was the BEST DECISION EVER! I never in my life imagined that tires could make such a massive difference since before I had always driven with average/decent tires but jumping from Nexen's to Michelin really made all the difference. I've now driven with the CC+ tires for a few weeks and within that time I've driven more than I drove with Nexen's within several months since with Nexen's I literally avoided driving as much as I could. After doing the switch, driving has been just thoroughly enjoyable again (exactly like it was during summer), even so enjoyable that now I basically drive every single day just for the fun of driving. The weather isn't better at all - just last week I had to drive through a snow storm. By now I've driven with these tires on:
- icy roads
- fresh snow
- 10-15cm snow
- sleet
- damp roads
- dry roads
- roads with tons of water, extremely high risk of aquaplaning (imagine very bumpy roads after heavy rain)

The weather in Estonia is so unpredictable you really can't ever know what the weather will be like. For instance, during a 200-kilometer drive one day, I drove through fresh snow, ice, sleet, rain, aquaplaning and dry roads. The car was as stable and smooth as if the roads were completely dry all the time. CC+ tires made the car exactly as stable as it was before icy-snowy wintertime and driving is just pure enjoyment, no matter what the roads are like. These tires really brought back my driving confidence and I'd even go as far as to say that these tires are superior to my previous summer tires Goodyear Eagle's.

For me, these tires are really the best tires I've ever had. If you need tires that can handle any road conditions, to make your car stable, smooth and perfect to drive no matter what the road is like, these are the tires to get.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-17-W
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Easy Going miles

Hyundai I10

Much quieter than the Continental Eco Contact 5 they replaced.
Feel like a premium tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 175-65-14-H
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Easy Going miles

Mercedes Benz C220 Cdi Avantgarde Estate

I am a retired Fleet Engineer and am used to steer and drive axle tyres on the coaches in my fleet. I like a directional block tread on the drive wheels. These 94V extra load tyres were fitted to the rear drive axle in Jan 2018 and have so far covered 12,285 miles. Initially the rate of wear seamed alarmingly poor, having lost 1 mm. of tread in the first 2,000 miles. This has now slowed, thank goodness, and the tyres are now @ 5 mm. after 13 months & about 12,000 miles on the road. The original depth of 7 mm. is much less than other manufacturers who start with 9 mm. of tread on their all season tyres.

I tow a 1,450 kg. caravan in the UK from April to October with a 76 mile round trip to the dealer for annual service in winter. I have used tyres from Michelin (Energy as OE), Goodyear (Eagle Vector 2) & Pirelli (All Season 2) on the rear previously. I switched to 'all season' as the original Michelin Energies were hopeless for towing over grass.

Snow in my home area on the northwest coast of England is not a problem; one inch is classed as bad around here. My main concern is general traction which is why I tried Cross Climate + summer tyres this time around. Wet grip and off road traction is good on these Cross Climates and they have not got me stuck so far. Pulling away uphill on the road with the van on the hook does not bring on wheel spin. It will depend on how long they last if I 'stick to Michelin' or go back to Goodyear 'all season' next time around.

Incidentally my front tyres are 202/55R16 91V Vredestein Quatrac 5's which have an asymetric tread pattern more suitable for the steer axle. These are giving excellent results and have done 23,000 miles so far with tread depth now also at 5 mm. (original depth 9 mm.). Much better than both Michelin Energy & Primacy HP's fitted previously. I will definately be buying them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C250 CGI Estate

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Trockenhaftung 10
  • Nassgriff 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

Audi A4 Allroad

Had Goodyear's Assymetric 2 (which is a great tyre btw),but the character of my vehicle,asked (!) for something more adventurus.Thats how I deceided to try Crossclimates for the first time...
Driven them for 1500km,and I am very impressed,fresh snow up to 0.5m,is piece of cake,and it seems to work very well at ice too.
Dry handling is slightly worst than summer tyres,but I expected that anyway,although cornering is still fun...
Ride is very comfort and quiet,and braking is very safe too.

Dont know how they last,but I am very pleased I bought them!

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,800 Spirited miles

Land Rover Discovery Sport

Fitted Michelin CrossClimates on my previous 4x4 and now CC+'s on my Discovery Sport MY2017 2Litre 180 HSE Dynamic. I have owned and driven a range of big 4x4s in most parts of the world for over 40 years.
The CCs and now the better CC+ version may be more expensive but you get the value back with every day of use.
My personal opinion, - I haven't driven with them in soft sand but they should be at least as good as most other tyres in that situation. I can however unreservedly recommend them both for Winter and Summer use on roads and fields, in wet and in snow.
Based on my previous CC's they last a long time (for me) and seem to cope with just about anything. For example, good handling through last summer's (2018) hot weather, at least as good as the OEM tyres (I recon slightly quieter). Then running through an average of 25 Cms depth of powder snow and frequent drifts with packed hard ice underneath in the Alps last week (Winter 2019) - no chains required. (And, no I don't work for Michelin or any other automotive manufacturer!) I haven't tried every multi-season tyre out there, (now I don't need to) but I have tried; BF Goodrich, Wranglers, Coopers, Bridgestone, Dunlop, Pirelli, Firestone, Nexus, and a few others in the past and on different 4x4s. Tyre compounds are constantly evolving so I guess there will be better compounds and treads coming out and the CCs will probably get enhanced as well. I'll be sticking to them for a while longer and again, this is my personal opinion, hopefully my experiences with the CCs will help some of you with what is always a challenging choice.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 14,000 Average miles

Audi A3 Sportback

I bought these tyres almost 2 years ago for our Audi A3 8V 2.0 TDI Quattro

As we are living in Switzerland and having 3 cars you can imagine i was not happy to store 12 tyres every season.

In 2016 when they came out and when i saw the reviewvideo with the red A3 on this website i was very excited to buy these for our A3. As i loved the rims i bought these tyres for the size 225/40/18

What can i say i am in general extremely happy with the tyres, but living in Switzerland between the mountains it came a bit, cheecky but that’s actually not the problem of the tyre but my problem, i mean these tyres are made for “mild” climate areas and it is actually a summer tyre with “safe winter reserve” these tyres are brilliant as lomg as you not oft in snowy areas.

In the snow they are safe as long as you watch your speed.

In the dry they are really really good

In the wet they are “average”

But these tyres are actually perfect for people who are not like to change tyres or to safe some space in the garage ;)

The wear is brilliant too, but to be honest I just orderd a pair of Continental TS860 on 16 inch steel for the winter, cause 225 wide Crossclimates are not great for Switzerland but thats my problem not these tyres.

Conclusion: great tyres with very good wear and winter safety in “flat countries”


Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-V
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 15,000 Average miles

MINI Cooper

Amazing all round tyre for the uk! Wearing really well

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.