Michelin CrossClimate Plus

The Michelin CrossClimate Plus is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin CrossClimate Plus
83%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
88%
Road Feedback
83%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
88%
Comfort
86%
Buy Again
85%

Michelin CrossClimate Plus Reviews

83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Volvo 940 turbo

These are entirely decent tyres. Good points are wear and general grip. Comfort is decent as are noise levels even though they are not as quiet on rough surfaces. The negatives are aquaplaning resistance is a bit lower than I hoped for but I think it is a trade-off due to the directional tread needing to push all the water out to the sides. The other thing is high speed stability is not as good as tyres with grooves running around the tread but the Cross Climate Plus isn't a tyre focused for 180km/hr or so on autobahns. They provide decent feedback to ne able to use all the available grip in all conditions and after 2 years and 20000 miles, they still have just under 5mm of tread. I have never had tyres last so long. For this reason they are economical to run and I have not noticed a difference in noise or handling characteristics unlike the nasty Federal tyres they replaced. I have found they wear evenly but they will wear the shoulders if the tempo in bends is not kept in check.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
41%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Lexus IS300

I have used Crossclimate and Crossclimate Plus, both with good ride comfort and reasonable cabin noise. The earlier model had an issue with punctures - this one doesn't. However, while initially handling and wet road performance was good with the CC+, by the second year (I use these as winters and have a separate summer set of wheels and tyres) I found the tyres to steer scarily in wet conditions and moved them to the rear, where they have been fine. The Gen 1 Lexus IS300 SportCross barely has traction control and power to the rear wheels usually slip easily but wet braking has been fine (not handling). I have not used them in snow and ice as there hasn't been any for the last two years in the north London area. However, I bought Continental All Season Contact for the front axle and while the ride is harder and cabin noise the same, handling in cold, wet winters is much better on the Continentals. Both the Michelin and Continental all season tyres cause much heavier steering that when using my summer tyre set, however.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
62%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 6
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 14,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus

Car has vague steering at times, some wobbly steering on certain surfaces, noise is loud and sidewalls are very soft on lose surfaces as had a crack appear today and very loud noise

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35 Average miles

Volvo v70 D5

Expected better, but the heavier front end (diesel) and driving style doesn't help life span.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-55-16-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Outback 3.0L

Although I live in Cyprus which is practically summer for most of the year, I decided to go for these all season tyres for a few reasons. First of all, whenever it rains here the roads become quite dangerous since the dry grip isn’t great to start with, so when wet they become sludgy and slippery quite easily. Aquaplaning is also an issue in these roads. So a good summer tyre with great wet handling characteristics is in my opinion essential in these conditions. The CrossClimate plus performed very well under these conditions, with good dry grip and handling in very hot conditions as well as excellent wet driving characteristics. Snow driving is almost as good as a good snow tyre and with the Outback’s superb awd system, I was almost unstoppable! What surprised me however was the unbelievably good behaviour of these tyres in sand and deep sludgy mud! They were far superior to any road-biased 4x4 tyre I ever used and this is definitely a great selling point for my needs! Fast driving and sporty handling were never their best attributes but I am ok with that and noise levels above 120 km/h are quite high. But again, this is not something unexpected and it’s quite obvious from the tyre’s aggressive V-esque tread. Wear is very good and tyre behaviour remains almost unchanged as the tyres wear out; something that Michelin excels at achieving. Overall I am very happy with these and would definitely recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Fiat Grande Punto 1.3Multijet 75bhp

These are the first all season tyres I try. Fitted to my Fiat Punto because I'm not going to use it a lot, I have to admit that in winter the Crossclimates offer performances comparable to a winter tyre: in the snow and in very cold conditions they are very grippy and safe. In warm dry conditions they are much better than a winter tyre, even if they still feel a bit soft, especially in corners. In the wet they are good, with a safe response. Overall I am very satisfied, the only 2 weak points I mention are the noise (I think they are noisier than my previous winter tyres) and the wear, because from Michelin I was expecting less thread degratation, which is already noticeable after only 1000 miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 2
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,500 Average miles

Volkswagen Caddy

I bought a pair of these last winter for my work van as I was unhappy with the performance of the Vredestine Quadrac 5's I had fitted. These tyres are excellent for winter, great grip on cold, wet roads and I zero problems with aquaplaning despite hitting huge puddles across the motorway at speed. Snow performance was disappointing though as the Quadrac 5's were better despite being quite poor everywhere else as a winter tyre. My problems with the Cross Climates are mediocre warm weather performance as the tread feels too soft when hot, high price and very high wear. The edges were starting to look really low after just 6000 miles on the front and the rest of the tyres were down to 4mm. I have since put them on the rear and done around 1500 miles and should hopefully get another winter with them on the front as I'm not using this van for work or as my primary transport anymore. If I was to buy more all season tyres I would probably go for Goodyear Vectors, they performed well on my BMW 1 series over a winter and those same tyres will be tested next winter on my Golf diesel to see how they hold up after a decent amount of miles. First impressions are good but they only did 2 or 3000 miles on the front of a rear wheel drive car.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Citroën C5

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi

Fitted for 2 years now, and, after recent snow, Have experienced all conditions. For general use, excluding very progressive driving, I cannot fault these tyres. At first fitting, road noise slightly higher than previous summer Conti's until bedded in. Very impressed with comfort and handling on all road surfaces. Water clearance is good, and, with present tread depth, no aquaplaning. Provide high confidence in snow - yes they will break traction, particularly on cornering, but only when pushed. But they give far greater control than summer tyres in snow. On compressed snow/ice their advantages are limited however. Most impressed with wear rate. At 18k, with relaxed driving style, still have 4mm front, 5mm rear, and have just stopped front to rear. As these have directional tread they cannot be switched to alternate sides (for a diagonal switch). I have these also fitted to my Ford S-Max (15). Even more impressed with those - though being 225's gives the comfort. I will certainly be sticking with these and looking forward to the latest upgrade in compound. Having previously been a summer/winter wheel switcher every six months for about five seasons (on my old Galaxy), these really are a great compromise.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

BMW X3

Replaced the original Pirelli Cintrirano P7 run flats on my wife's BMW X3, which she had for 30k miles from new. The Crossclimate+ are better in every way. Obviously they are much lighter as they are not run flat tyres and as such the car as a whole feels lighter and more responsive. Also comfort, handling and noise are significantly better and improve the vehicle a great deal. In my opinion these are the perfect none performance tyres for the UK.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-17-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.