Michelin CrossClimate Plus

The Michelin CrossClimate Plus is a All Season Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin CrossClimate Plus
84%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
89%
Road Feedback
84%
Progressiveness
76%
Wear
89%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
87%

Michelin CrossClimate Plus Reviews

86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 35 Average miles

Volvo v70 D5

Expected better, but the heavier front end (diesel) and driving style doesn't help life span.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-55-16-
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Outback 3.0L

Although I live in Cyprus which is practically summer for most of the year, I decided to go for these all season tyres for a few reasons. First of all, whenever it rains here the roads become quite dangerous since the dry grip isn’t great to start with, so when wet they become sludgy and slippery quite easily. Aquaplaning is also an issue in these roads. So a good summer tyre with great wet handling characteristics is in my opinion essential in these conditions. The CrossClimate plus performed very well under these conditions, with good dry grip and handling in very hot conditions as well as excellent wet driving characteristics. Snow driving is almost as good as a good snow tyre and with the Outback’s superb awd system, I was almost unstoppable! What surprised me however was the unbelievably good behaviour of these tyres in sand and deep sludgy mud! They were far superior to any road-biased 4x4 tyre I ever used and this is definitely a great selling point for my needs! Fast driving and sporty handling were never their best attributes but I am ok with that and noise levels above 120 km/h are quite high. But again, this is not something unexpected and it’s quite obvious from the tyre’s aggressive V-esque tread. Wear is very good and tyre behaviour remains almost unchanged as the tyres wear out; something that Michelin excels at achieving. Overall I am very happy with these and would definitely recommend them.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Fiat Grande Punto 1.3Multijet 75bhp

These are the first all season tyres I try. Fitted to my Fiat Punto because I'm not going to use it a lot, I have to admit that in winter the Crossclimates offer performances comparable to a winter tyre: in the snow and in very cold conditions they are very grippy and safe. In warm dry conditions they are much better than a winter tyre, even if they still feel a bit soft, especially in corners. In the wet they are good, with a safe response. Overall I am very satisfied, the only 2 weak points I mention are the noise (I think they are noisier than my previous winter tyres) and the wear, because from Michelin I was expecting less thread degratation, which is already noticeable after only 1000 miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-
67%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 2
  • Trockenhaftung 6
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,500 Average miles

Volkswagen Caddy

I bought a pair of these last winter for my work van as I was unhappy with the performance of the Vredestine Quadrac 5's I had fitted. These tyres are excellent for winter, great grip on cold, wet roads and I zero problems with aquaplaning despite hitting huge puddles across the motorway at speed. Snow performance was disappointing though as the Quadrac 5's were better despite being quite poor everywhere else as a winter tyre. My problems with the Cross Climates are mediocre warm weather performance as the tread feels too soft when hot, high price and very high wear. The edges were starting to look really low after just 6000 miles on the front and the rest of the tyres were down to 4mm. I have since put them on the rear and done around 1500 miles and should hopefully get another winter with them on the front as I'm not using this van for work or as my primary transport anymore. If I was to buy more all season tyres I would probably go for Goodyear Vectors, they performed well on my BMW 1 series over a winter and those same tyres will be tested next winter on my Golf diesel to see how they hold up after a decent amount of miles. First impressions are good but they only did 2 or 3000 miles on the front of a rear wheel drive car.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Citroën C5

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Golf MK6 1.6 tdi

Fitted for 2 years now, and, after recent snow, Have experienced all conditions. For general use, excluding very progressive driving, I cannot fault these tyres. At first fitting, road noise slightly higher than previous summer Conti's until bedded in. Very impressed with comfort and handling on all road surfaces. Water clearance is good, and, with present tread depth, no aquaplaning. Provide high confidence in snow - yes they will break traction, particularly on cornering, but only when pushed. But they give far greater control than summer tyres in snow. On compressed snow/ice their advantages are limited however. Most impressed with wear rate. At 18k, with relaxed driving style, still have 4mm front, 5mm rear, and have just stopped front to rear. As these have directional tread they cannot be switched to alternate sides (for a diagonal switch). I have these also fitted to my Ford S-Max (15). Even more impressed with those - though being 225's gives the comfort. I will certainly be sticking with these and looking forward to the latest upgrade in compound. Having previously been a summer/winter wheel switcher every six months for about five seasons (on my old Galaxy), these really are a great compromise.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

BMW X3

Replaced the original Pirelli Cintrirano P7 run flats on my wife's BMW X3, which she had for 30k miles from new. The Crossclimate+ are better in every way. Obviously they are much lighter as they are not run flat tyres and as such the car as a whole feels lighter and more responsive. Also comfort, handling and noise are significantly better and improve the vehicle a great deal. In my opinion these are the perfect none performance tyres for the UK.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-17-V
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Trockenhaftung 5
  • Nassgriff 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 8,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Mondeo

Fitted to rear only so cant comment on many of the sections. Can only comment on snow and ice due to recent snow in the UK recently and fitted to a Mondeo hatchback. They do grip well albeit slide a little but given the very few sipes and not on the driving wheels they seem pretty good. In terms of dry and wrt grip again cant really comment but don't feel as squishy as my Goodyear vector 4 seasons G2 on the rear during the summer (my review is on there but they were on the driving wheels but the rears did squirm at sweeping bends on hot days). SO overall if you can get a good price Id say they are worth it but don't expect it to handle exactly like a summer tyre but that's your compromise to have grip all year round. In terms of wear I haven't checked the exact depth but they are on the rear so will last ages anyway and its a Michelin so it will last a good while. Comfort wise again on the rear only so cant really comment.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-V
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 8
  • Nassgriff 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Volkswagen Passat Estate 2.0 TDI (170)

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10
  • Trockenhaftung 9
  • Nassgriff 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,250 Spirited miles

Citroën C3 Pluriel

I have a Citroen C3 Pluriel and as I live in London but have to drive in all conditions across the SE I heeded advice here to go with these MCC+. They replaced some awful rubber (Powertrac CityTour) that should have put me off buying the car. I am used to Pirelli, Goodyear, Conti, and Michelin so I thought I knew what good tyres feel like. However, after the old rubber, driving on the CrossClimate Plus was a revelation. The steering was lighter, the car changed direction more quickly. It was like a new car. It was fantastic. The 65 profile more than protects the rims and in 2,250 miles and 18 months of city driving the rims are fine. The car is so noisy on a motorway I can't hear the radio on 11, never mind the tyres, but I can't knock the CrossClimate for that. Twice cars in front have stopped hard unexpectedly and there was a bit of squirming but CrossClimates pulled the car up in time on both dry and damp surfaces. I've not tried them on mud, snow or ice but I'm very happy with the MCC+ and will fit some more to another car soon. Thanks for all the advice Mr Tyre Reviews.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.