Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S
89%[average]
Dry Grip
94%
Wet Grip
90%
Road Feedback
87%
Progressiveness
90%
Wear
86%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
88%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews (4)

77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Skoda Octavia vRS

I have Skoda Octavia vRS 2019.
Before those tyres i had the original one ( Pirelli P zero).
Those tyres was so much better, the feedback is amazing and the grip is perfect !
But i have to say that after 3 track days and 10K kilometers the tyers are dead !

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
49%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz SL63 AMG

Let me mention my 2018 SL63 came with Continental conti sport contact 5p, and I found them all around an OK tire, but they wore out in 15,000 km... So I went seeking a better tire, I dont care about wear that much, I spent a lot of money on my car and good or the BEST tires are a must regardless of whether they last 10k or 50k, I saw a lot of good and even excellent ratings for the michelin 4s tire, its new and has some new compound in the rubber that is supposed to give better grip.. I have a powerful car with lots of torque, 668 lb lbs, so when I give it I want grip.. I put them on the rear once the Contis were done... These 4s tires when I first installed them on the rear, I found the grip they gave was incredible ! I was so happy, I could finally launch my car properly, but now with 8000 km on them (5000 miles) they are not gripping nearly as well, I would say they are now worse than the conti 5p.. I have lots of tread left, but for some reason they only grip well on NEW pavement. Anything else other than NEW pavement and I can put my car sideways in 3rd gear with my traction control off, and 3rd gear goes up to 100 mph so that is very scary. I have to say I am disappointed the performance of these tires has diminished so very quickly, and since they have lots of tread left I find that I am going to have to replace them already. They are also a bit soft in corners... Thinking of the Continental 5p again, or perhaps the continental extreme contact. Sport cup 2 perhaps???? I just know I will not buy the 4s again.

Tyre size reviewed: 285-30-20-W
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz SL63 AMG

I thought these tires gripped enormously when I first got them but after 8000 km they are not gripping nearly as well and yet have shown little wear. They are wearing far better than the conti 5p my car came with, but the 4S seem to be very very slippery on certain types of road pavement, if its a bit of a light grey very smooth pavement with a bit of a shiny look, the tires feel like you are on ice and will cause the car to loose traction even under light acceleration. Im not sure if its the rubber compound, but I think i will try another type of tire next time and compare on the same roads to see if I can duplicate these slippery conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mustang gt

Fitted these tyres on my 600+ BHP Supercharged Mustang GT. Let me say this: I rarely if at all give feedback or review anything. However these tyres live up to their hype and then some. Shockingly amazing wet grip as if you are driving on the ground. Exceptional handling even when put at limit on both motorways and track. But above all the comfort on these tyres is exceptional after a spirited driving on track or motorway you get back to the city and enjoy driving in comfort of a true Grand Tourer.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-50-19-W
82%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,500 Spirited miles

BMW E92 M3

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-19-W
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,500 Average miles

BMW 740d msport

The best tyre Ive ever driven with. Prior to this I had PZero, and before that had various tyres as GY EagleF1, Bridgestone. Low in wear, still as ”new” after 3500 miles. No tracking, excellent steering response, quiet, seems to be improving even in higher speeds. Fantastic handling, comfort, response from road in cruising speed of 170-180km/h. Very relying and assuring in speeds above 200km/h as well! Very good grip and steer-tracking in high speed curves at the motorway. Huge breaking potential from +200km/h down to like 80-90, feels like ”extra brakes” on the car vs the PZero I had before. First time in many many years I bought Michelins, now I consider upon ”never” switching...

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-20-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

BMW Z4M Coupe

I changed from 18” Goodyear F1 asymmetric 2 on 224’s to the PS4s’ on OEM 19” CSL alloys on a 2nd hand car purchase.

Firstly, despite being extra load tyres & a narrower sidewall, they actually feel slightly softer. Been a Michelin SuperSport tyre fan so very surprised just how grippy these tyres are in all conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,200 Average miles

Audi TT S

I replaced all 4 tyres from toyo proxe t1 sport for my Audi TTS Quattro. Initially, they felt less road sense & the handling is not as good as toyo proxe t1 sport. However, the dry & wet grip is much better than the toyo tyres. In term of comfortable, noise level & wear, it is much better than toyo Tyre as described as well. After driving for about 1200 miles, recently when driving in extreme, the performance & potential of Michelin Pilot Sport 4S start to kick in & now they are just as good as my previous toyo tyres in term of the road feedback & handling. Just make sure you have a correct air pressure so they can play their potential. I am sure they can give you a maximum confident, optimum road feedback & immaculate handling in daily combination of city & highway driving experience. Although it's sidewall is not as stiff as some competitors or Semi Slick Track Tyre like Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2 but we can't have the 100% prefect tyres which can meet the requirements of both max comfortable & max road handling in normal daily uses. Go for these tyres if you have enough budget & definitely they are the only few best choice of Ultra Performance Summer Tyres in the recent market.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

BMW F11 M550d xDrive

Absolutely Brilliant. They are one whole step better than the PS4 which I have driven in size 245/40R18 on a RWD 530d E61. The dry grip is outstanding. Very comfortable and quiet. The M550d touring comes stock with Dunlop runflats and these PS4s are just on a whole different playing field. Not to mention that the rear Dunlops both failed catastrophically by delaminating from the steel beads and bursting at 240km/h and with an age of the tyres just one year old with 4mm still left on the tread. Very happy with this tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-30-17-W
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Average miles

Audi S5

Compared to the Hankook Evo's that came as standard (which weren't bad at all), the PS4Ss are much better in the wet, slightly quieter and have better initial turn in.
They are a touch quieter at m'way speed.
However, the best feature is the very prominent rim protection - saved the (otherwise unmarked) diamond-cut alloys on my car on two occasions.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.