Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S
89%[average]
Dry Grip
94%
Wet Grip
90%
Road Feedback
87%
Progressiveness
90%
Wear
86%
Comfort
87%
Buy Again
88%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews (2)

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,122 Average miles

BMW E61 M5

I drive the e61 M5 so although I've entered 255.40.19, I also run the 275.35.19 on the rear. I had PS2 on before as I really liked them on my e39 that I had for 8 years and didn't initially want to step away from BMW * rating. However, I'm happy with my set of PS 4 S. Happy that they combine exceptional grip with low road noise. Sad that this pandemic means I can't drive the car as much as I would like. The rim protection is very good and saved the diamond finish on two have to avoid oncoming idiot moments. They seem to have a squarer profile and MoT tester noted a slight rubbing on full lock one side, but they got +ve comment from my garage and people in the know. I can't fault them.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Tesla Model 3 Performance

These tyres came with the car and to be fair to them, they are very good. Only at the end of life did the all wheel drive with 400hp or so break traction. Cornering was very precise, confidence inspiring in the wet and dry. Even in the cold they performed well. They lasted 25k by rotating them half way. Mine were the acoustic type with a foam band inside. I felt this made zero difference and some report problems getting a repair. I repair my own with tyre strings and had no issues with further loss of pressure. The problem I have is justifying £800 for a new set where the tyre I have gone to is £160 a set and certainly doesn't have a quarter of the performance. From previous experience the cheaper brand last longer, perform to at least 75% of the Michelin and since I don't tend to drive like an utter t*t I haven't oranges a car in over 25 years.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-20-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf R estate

After purchasing my Golf R estate just over a year ago I have found the need to replace the tyres. The car was originally equipped with Pirelli P-Zeros. With P-Zero fitted the driving experience felt numb, the grip levels low and ride quality can only be described as poor. I initially believed this was due to the suspension and set out to upgrade the suspension for more spirited driving. I’m doing so this only exaggerated the limits of this tyre. After reading and watching reviews of the Michelin PS4S I decided to change the tyres. The tyres have completely transformed the car. Dry weather grip and feel is in a different league. It no longer feels like the sidewall is going to surrender when you start to get enthusiastic on some twisty stuff. The tyre is very progressive in transfer to losing traction and feels very stable under braking. The wet weather capabilities of this tyre are just as incredible, they provide so much confidence and grip. There has been a real Improvement in ride quality by fitting this tyre at both high and low speed. Even throwing more power at the tarmac has yet to effect the dynamics of how this tyre performs. Its hard to see how this tyre could be bettered for any enthusiast who enjoys a spirited drive but requires a good all round tyre. I couldn’t recommend enough.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz c 220 cdi

The best and most outstanding thing of ps4s is wet braking, if not pushed too hard, it feels as if the road is dry. My car is just a 2018-20 c-class diesel with 400NM of torque but weights around 1,600kg(kinda heavy), ps4s is not troubled at all in acceleration (ofc my 4 cylinders cant do a thing to it haha) (lil bit slip on first gear when the tires aren't freshly new) and the highlight is that I can go full brake on wet surface without the feeling that the car is unstoppable, it really surprises me on first impression.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-19-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,118 Easy Going miles

BMW E61 M5

To give this review some context; a full set of the 4S 255/40 and 275/35 went on to the 19" M-167 wheels on my 2007 e61 M5 in May, but what with Covid lockdowns and driving three other cars they have only done 1,118 miles. It had PS2 on before, which I was very happy with and had been happy with on several warm BMWs in 17" and 18", anyway. The PS4 S were bought after extensive research on Tyre Reviews, the Fest and Ferrari Chat etc. They balanced with few weights. I run factory pressures 2.4F and 2.8R but have not lost any air in eight months. I am very happy with the lower levels of cabin noise as I'd rather hear the engine. I haven't tracked the car since or exceeded the speed limit (officer) ;) ;) but they give me such confidence with steering and in the wet that I'm completely happy with them. On two occasions I have clipped kerbs and the rim protection has saved me from embarrassment. They look as good now as the day they were fitted - no bad points to make.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Porsche Cayman

Just buy them. Wet grip is nearly as good as dry grip. Quieter than I thought they would be. The car feels awesome compared with the ditchfinders the previous owner had fitted. I will be fitting these to all of my cars in the future. I've driven my Cayman over 100 miles in the snow with these on and only had one slide which is unbelievable for a tyre that offers this sort of dry performance.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-35-19-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

BMW 335d

This tyre is incredible on the road, wet and dry. Taking a turbo-round-a-bout, corner in the wet with 40-50kph is easy. The tyre can do more than you sitting in the chair. Wear is for a UHP tyre oke, 30000d kilometres and still 3.5mm Noise isnt bad, but can do a lot better. It is no comfort tyre I do feel (under the 335d) that with 70-90% throttle, and turning from standing still, the tyre is struggling with steadyness on rim. A tyr with rft would not have this I drove before this 4s the Goodyear asy 2 in rft, and they are worde on all accounts

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-19-W
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 6 GTI Edition 35

Runing PS4S on my 380HP/550Nm tuned Golf 6 GTI Edition 35 (FWD). Tons of grip, in all conditions. Much much better then Pirreli P-Zero (OEM fit on 19"), and noticably better then CSC6.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-W
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 7,000 Spirited miles

BMW 740d msport

Second season on the tires. Just finished a longer driving session of 3500km. The tires continue to be sublime on our heavy car. Great stability, handling, roadfeel. In higher speeds the tires feel even better (like 140km/h and above). Also driving in rain feels very confident, even if a lot of water on the road. Comfort and noiselevels are good, despite the low profile. Very low tracking behaviour on less good roads even if front wheels are running 245/40/20.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-35-20-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 2,000 Spirited miles

BMW 218d Active Tourer

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 265-30-20-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.