Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S
89%[average]
Dry Grip
94%
Wet Grip
90%
Road Feedback
87%
Progressiveness
89%
Wear
86%
Comfort
88%
Buy Again
88%

Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Spirited miles

BMW 335i

Can't really fault this tyre or the previous one, althcar, i don;t know about wear as I'm a spirited weekend driver so tend to not care about that or notice that much when it comes to changing tyres. Been on Michelins for around 5 years now and will never swap to another tyre now.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 FSI Sport

Michelin Pilot Sport 4S on my 2010 VW Jetta 2.0 turbo....The best all around summer tire I have ever driven on. I had never spent $200 per tire in my life, but I can say it was worth every penny. Heavy braking with lots of grip, cornering with a very good feel which took a little time to get used to so I could trust it. Once I got used to it I felt comfortable pushing it in the corners and realized that it has excellent grip cornering. For me, they were not too noisy. The two piece rotors make a little noise, so that may cover up some tire noise. The only down side is that living up here in northern new hampshire, usa, it gets cold in the winter, so I have to remove the wheels off the car and store them in the basement because apparently the tire compound does not like to be exposed the the cold temperatures ( I have these on my summer car which I don't drive in the winter). Highly recommended for Jettas or GTIs.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 400 Spirited miles

BMW 335d

Coming from runflat tires these are like night and day difference they give much better feedback through the steering wheel the front and feels more planted and the best of all when you go over put all you don’t feel like your teeth are going to be knocked out they do take care of the pumps in the stride. As soon as my rear tires get low I will be putting these on my back as well I have these fitted to the front of my 335D they came with runflat tires are standard What sounds like they’re good idea but they’re really uncomfortable and every time we have a pothole it feels like you’re smashing the room compare to these they take it in their stride front and feels planted give me much more confidence people have been advising me to get these times for a long time I can see why if your BMW owner I can hundred percent recommend these tires dry and wet weather.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz C63 AMG

I have always had “performance” cars from Porsche 911, cayman R, Bmw x5m(2017) to name few, so I’ve tried quite a lot of Tyres. I have had for 9 months a 18plate C63s coupe, best car I have ever had! Had Contis to start, but replaced Michelin PS4’s and these tyres are exceptional, 10 out of 10, these tyres are in my opinion unbeatable

Tyre size reviewed: 245-35-19-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Leon Cupra ST 290 (FWD)

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,500 Spirited miles

Jaguar XKR

The best tyre, but little expensive compared with FALKEN FK510.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Honda Civic Type R

Excellent grip and longevity (As well as reasonable comfort & noise), but let down dynamically by the extremely soft sidewalls - They leave the tyre feeling a bit detached and laggy; At the limit it's easier to come quite badly unstuck (With a strong understeer balance on these) due to a lack of feedback, causing you to go direct to terminal understeer without feeling the dropoff - Not a bad tyre by any means, but rather boring. They do fairly well in wet / cold for a UHP summer, but as above, their lack of information at the limit can cause you to find out too late that you're in a bit too hot. I've replaced these with Cup2s which have done a fantastic job of restoring dynamics and neutrality (Though I've yet to test the wet grip on those!)

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-20-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,122 Average miles

BMW E61 M5

I drive the e61 M5 so although I've entered 255.40.19, I also run the 275.35.19 on the rear. I had PS2 on before as I really liked them on my e39 that I had for 8 years and didn't initially want to step away from BMW * rating. However, I'm happy with my set of PS 4 S. Happy that they combine exceptional grip with low road noise. Sad that this pandemic means I can't drive the car as much as I would like. The rim protection is very good and saved the diamond finish on two have to avoid oncoming idiot moments. They seem to have a squarer profile and MoT tester noted a slight rubbing on full lock one side, but they got +ve comment from my garage and people in the know. I can't fault them.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-40-19-W
79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 25,000 Average miles

Tesla Model 3 Performance

These tyres came with the car and to be fair to them, they are very good. Only at the end of life did the all wheel drive with 400hp or so break traction. Cornering was very precise, confidence inspiring in the wet and dry. Even in the cold they performed well. They lasted 25k by rotating them half way. Mine were the acoustic type with a foam band inside. I felt this made zero difference and some report problems getting a repair. I repair my own with tyre strings and had no issues with further loss of pressure. The problem I have is justifying £800 for a new set where the tyre I have gone to is £160 a set and certainly doesn't have a quarter of the performance. From previous experience the cheaper brand last longer, perform to at least 75% of the Michelin and since I don't tend to drive like an utter t*t I haven't oranges a car in over 25 years.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-20-W
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf R estate

After purchasing my Golf R estate just over a year ago I have found the need to replace the tyres. The car was originally equipped with Pirelli P-Zeros. With P-Zero fitted the driving experience felt numb, the grip levels low and ride quality can only be described as poor. I initially believed this was due to the suspension and set out to upgrade the suspension for more spirited driving. I’m doing so this only exaggerated the limits of this tyre. After reading and watching reviews of the Michelin PS4S I decided to change the tyres. The tyres have completely transformed the car. Dry weather grip and feel is in a different league. It no longer feels like the sidewall is going to surrender when you start to get enthusiastic on some twisty stuff. The tyre is very progressive in transfer to losing traction and feels very stable under braking. The wet weather capabilities of this tyre are just as incredible, they provide so much confidence and grip. There has been a real Improvement in ride quality by fitting this tyre at both high and low speed. Even throwing more power at the tarmac has yet to effect the dynamics of how this tyre performs. Its hard to see how this tyre could be bettered for any enthusiast who enjoys a spirited drive but requires a good all round tyre. I couldn’t recommend enough.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.