Michelin Primacy HP

The Michelin Primacy HP is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Michelin Primacy HP
75%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
75%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
76%
Comfort
76%
Buy Again
65%

Michelin Primacy HP Reviews

59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,500 Spirited miles

Ford Focus MK3

I have a sporty to very sporty driving style, but I can enjoy a long drive to relax. However, my current tire that was on the car upon delivery, the Michelin Primacy HP does not give me the right characteristics that I would want from a tire. On the long relaxing rides, very good. In the sporty to very sporty driving style, NOT. Even in the rain this tire does not give me the right grip, you get to the point where it loses its grip and turns into understeer without any sign. In terms of safety, he is just too short for me. I can't wait to replace them and finally fit the Michelin Pilot Sport 4!

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 43,500 Average miles

Citroën C4 Grand Picasso

These came fitted to my car from new. I drive mainly on country roads and motorway. Excellent in every way apart from snow where they are not great, but just as good/bad as other summer tyres. Replaced the fronts at 2mm after 33k miles and the rears are still on at 3mm after 43k miles. These lifespans justify the premium price of the tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-17-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Spirited miles

Toyota GT86

These tyres last ages, but that's because they are low grip. They came standard on my GT86 entirely BECAUSE they are low grip and you can drift the car at low speed.

As a performance tyre they are rubbish, as a fun and go sideways tyre, great. A bit scary in the wet at high speed.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 24,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz E Class

My W213 Mercedes came with these as original equipment. As the tyres wore down, the ride and handling deteriorated noticeably. Car felt a bit unstable, moving slightly sideways, when driving through small potholes. Never had this strange feeling with other cars. Increasing air pressure didn't help. Tyres were rotated and lasted about 25,000 miles then I changed to Goodyear Eagle Assymetric 3, which I found quiet, smoother and generally much more pleasant to drive on.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 46,600 Average miles

Toyota Auris

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Ford Focus Zetec S Ecoboost 180

Best tyres I have ever had.I do about 40K miles a year and they served me well. Did 55K miles on the front tyres and the rear ones are on 85K miles at the moment, still about 10K left on them. What more do you want?

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 45,000 Spirited miles

Vauxhall Vectra SRI 1.9 (150)

I had the tyres on my vectra when bought 8 years ago, the rear are still on it, they have covered about 45k miles and still going, I had 2 sets of different tyres at the front but ended up going back to the michelins, I like their feel, they have decent grip in the dry and the wet and they last a good while.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-16-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40,000 Spirited miles

Ford Focus MK3

Everything you would expect from Michelin. Superb Grip wet or dry. Lasted over 40,000 aggressively driven miles. Started to feel pretty horrible once worn down but still gripped well. Replaced with Toyo CF2's which are half the price and to me feel better and grip nearly as well in the wet.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-50-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Ford c max

I drive a Ford Grand C-Max 1.6 Eco boost with these fitted on front and back. Have had car from almost new (780 miles) and covered 25000 mls so far - The tyres are still going strong! Even the fronts should last me a few more months until they get down to 3mm. The rears have got loads more tread left on them.
The grip feels good in both dry and wet and they don't seem excessively noisy. Have always gone for mid-range rubber before, but even though these tyres are on the expensive side I reckon they are worth it, so will be buying some more.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 25,000 Average miles

Citroën 1.0 petrol

Comes as the default tyres set from the authorized car dealer. Been testing out various driving styles on straight roads, corners, slopes, off track, in both dry and wet. Good performance, reasonable comfort, but slightly low mileage on wear particular on sides. Maybe it is due to the regular cornerings in Multi-Storey Car Parks.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.