Aptany RA301

The Aptany RA301 is a Summer High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Aptany RA301
69%[average]
Dry Grip
77%
Wet Grip
71%
Road Feedback
71%
Progressiveness
71%
Wear
56%
Comfort
69%
Buy Again
67%

Aptany RA301 Reviews

79%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Honda Accord Tourer

Just purchased my second set of the aptany RA301 235/45/17 97W for a Honda Accord Estate.I have these still fitted on a 2013 mondeo.For the price point these are excellent tyres.Dry grip is fine but its in the wet where these excell...they are incredable.Never once lost grip with these including wet...the way they cut through water even at motorway speeds is remarkable.The construction is good and i feel totally connected to the road at all times. There is one draw back though and thats tyre wear! Im no test pilot and they have covered 20k now with maybe 4/5k until they done.They are summer tyres so compound is soft.A few other things to factor in though...a premium brand tyre may get double the mileage if your lucky but they will cost at least 2-3X.Also after a few thousand miles your likely to have picked up a puncture or few...after 4 years and 25k miles i would want a fresh set of boots no matter what brand i had bought. Fuel rating C and most important for me rated B in the wet means you have a very safe tyre when you need it most.Pretty quiet on the open road as well. To sum up there cant be a better tyre out there than this for the money..£240 fitted with valves and balancing.My honda currently has equivalent ZV7 by avon....not a bad tyre by any means but they are no where close to the aptany in the wet and why im changing. Highly recommend and wont break the bank giving these a try.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-17-W
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,106 Easy Going miles

Kia Motors Forte

I'll be honest about buying these. The car they went on is a 2011 Kia Forte SX, that is driven mostly by my wife, to and from work on weekdays. I drive it on weekends when we run around town for groceries and such. given that it's on a 9 year old daily driven car, that is driven pretty conservatively, I didn't want to spend a lot on tires. I'm not willing to spend a boat load of money on a car that may expire in the near future. The last set of budget tires, with similar tread wear rating of ~300 lasted 2 summers. So if we get the same out of these, I'll be happy. Some would argue that spending more money on tires that would last, say 4 summers, would be a better choice. But, I like a value, and many times, budget doesn't allow spending that much on rubber at any given time. These were purchased in late March 2020, and mounted in mid April. Oil change was just done on July 7 2020, as well as a tire rotation. Wear has been even, and assuming that depth at new was 8mm, after 5000kms, they are down to just under 7mm. So, not bad at all for a 340 treadwear tire. When they were first mounted, both y wife and I noticed they were a bit noisier than the ones they replaced. On par with our winters. I also noticed they were a bit twitchy, as if the car needed an alignment. They track well now, and are very quiet on new pavement. It hasn't rained in a while, so I can't quite comment on how they perform in the rain. That being said, I adjust my driving for the conditions, so I'm sure they'll be ok. Would I buy them again? If it's for the Kia, then yes. But, I've got my eyes on Rotalla next time.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-
37%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 2,500 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Caddy

The worst tyres I’ve come across put them on in February an the fronts are gone already

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,500 Average miles

Ford Focus mk2

Cheap tyres do the job for a year about 9000milies
On a mk2 ford focus 2.0i
Work well just bad wear rate
Will not buy again.
Ok on the back of car.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-W
21%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 2
  • Handling 3
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 7,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD

Absolutely rubbish tyre bought my used car and the seller put 4 of these tyres on I assume he had the cheapest tyre they did which was these. Very noisey tyre very poor grip in rain just masses of understeer. Fronts haven't lasted 7000 miles and they are now 2mm. Would steer clear of these tyres. Dont understand people who buy cheap tyres not worth it when a 10k car is in a ditch because you saved 100 quid on tyres.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Easy Going miles

Porsche Cayenne Turbo

Good for the money, quiet and look nice

Tyre size reviewed: 275-45-20-V
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Spirited miles

Chevrolet Equinox

I have them on a 2011 Equinox and only for a year so limited info. Like the low road noise and the performance on the highway. The SUV AWD has never been a good mileage vehicle and there is no change with these tires

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Lexus ES350

Wet traction is amazing, very smooth and quiet on the hwy. Z rated , car drives a lot better than the previous brand name tire that I removed with lots of tread left because of the poor wet traction. My mechanic laughed at the tires being a off brand, then he was shocked that 2 tires balanced without needing any weights . For the money these tires are fantastic.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-W
46%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 5,000 Easy Going miles

Audi A4 2.0 TDi 170 S Line

Not a good tyre, tyre wear is rubbish given me 5k miles local driving. Lose pressure every couple of weeks having to top them up. Not quiet what was said on the label. My Audi gave great mileage first 6-8 weeks after fitting the tyres but then dropped quiet significantly which i thought was a car problem, only to be told the tyres were probably the problem not the car. Anyway wouldnt buy these again other budget brands run better like Rovelo, Event etc.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-W
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 15,000 Spirited miles

Opel vectra c

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.