Avon ZX7

The Avon ZX7 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Avon ZX7
76%[average]
Dry Grip
87%
Wet Grip
84%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
58%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
64%

Avon ZX7 Reviews (2)

80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz ML

Had a set of Nexens on my ML, terrible in wet so decided on these Avons, what a massive difference, quieter, great grip in the wet, more precise steering, cant comment on how well they will last, not had them to long,

Tyre size reviewed: 265-45-20-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Lexus Rx450h

I have never had such a noisy tire in all my life, different road surfaces play a different tune and not a pleasant one either, there are much quieter tires out there with just as good grip etc so will be looking hard to find one next time round.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-R
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Easy Going miles

BMW X5 3.0d Sport

Dont rate these Tyres at all, rears only lasted 5000 miles on a BMW X5 and I am not a hard driver. Previously used Michelins Diamaris which where in the 20,000 mile range, which makes the Avons a very expensive tyre

Tyre size reviewed: 285-45-19-
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai ix35

The car had done 46k 3rd set of tyres, first and second sets oem Hankook Optimum and so noisy..
Funny my wife researched and spotted these,. My given apprehension was what happens in winter conditions.
A1 near Berwick about 2" had fallen dual carriageway was down to one lane except Discoverys etc...
Stopping distance was huge. Ex ambulance driver, if I had not had the skid pan training etc, I would never avoided having a rear end collision despite decent braking distance.

I'm a firm believer that low profile tyres are killers in winter for average driver.
Having driven an old Ford Cortical rear wheel drive with skinny budget tyres as a young man I never got stuck.

Avon.. Tyres are excellent up to a point, but the ABS works overtime even in snow.
I use the A82 a lot, now I pick long term weather forecasts to drive to Glasgow or Newcastle upon Tyne.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-18-H
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Nissan Qashqai

Having a recent MOT with low tyre tread advisories I decided to renew all four corners. The tyres already fitter were Bridgestone Duellers, which were excellent. Owing to low funds I was unable to purchase replacement Bridgestones, but the guys at the tyre centre I use offered a good deal on four Avon ZX7's, and as I have Avon tyres on my motorbike I though ok, give them a try.
First thing I noticed was they were quieter than the Bridgestones, and they felt good through the steering. So far I have done about 1000 miles and have no complaints, they feel secure and reassuring in both dry and wet conditions. I have cornered hard and given them a good workout on roundabouts with no dramas.
As it stands I would buys these again and would recommend them to anyone looking for a top end mid range tyre from a well known and trusted tyre make.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-60-17-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover Vogue SDV6

I bought these for my L32 Range Rover Vogue to replace the Pirelli Scorpions which didn’t last long and to me didn’t feel very grippy. The Avons - which are made in Britain - have been a revelation. Dry and wet grip is excellent. They are quiet. And I get 10% better economy too. I got one puncture days after having them all fitted which was irritating but which was able to be repaired. I have had one tyre deflate rapidly but which seemed to be ok in reflating so am not sure what happened there. Shall definitely buy these again and shall fit them to my P38 too and possibly my 5 series. Very impressed and good to buy British. So far have done 6000 miles with no significant sign of wear so they are lasting well too.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-19-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 6,000 Average miles

Mitsubishi Outlander

FITTED TO FRONT ON OUTLANDER. DRY GRIP GREAT, AND WET GRIP GREAT, NOT NOISY ... THEY HAVEN'T LASTED AS LONG AS I THOUGHT THEY WOULD BEING A TYRE A TYRE FOR SUV'S .LASTED ONLT 6,000 MILES ?

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-18-V
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Average miles

Honda CRV

Had my CRV 8 months with the OEM Dunlop Grand Trek all seasons on. Just switched to these ZX7s and am super pleased, much better than expected. Much less vague and bouncy and wishy washy. Excellent stability, handling much improved, along with steering and feedback. 10 times more precise and accurate on turn in and mid corner, and bags more confidence as a result. Can aim for apexes and hit them every time, placing car exactly where I want. Makes driving the CRV actually fun now. Indeed feels like a car now rather than an SUV. The difference is really dramatic and above and beyond what I expected. Noise seems slightly better, and comfort too. Only used in dry weather so far so can't vouch for wet, though I expect by other reviews they will perform well.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-18-H
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,500 Average miles

Audi Q5

Bought 4 of these tyres for my Audi Q5 based on reviews and price. The tyre itself has been unremarkable in any field and has done the job intended without fuss. My issue is I bought 4 in October 2016 and 2 of them have picked up punctures and had to be replaced in 3 months. I don't off road or drive in questionable areas regarding debris. So would say the tyre is either very prone to punctures or I have been damn unlucky! Either way it has been an expensive buy and when renewing shall be looking at other brands. Shame as otherwise tyre was fine...

Tyre size reviewed: 255-45-20-
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 500 Average miles

Toyota RAV4

After 36K on the original fit Bridgestone Dueler's I was looking for 2 front tyres for a 2014 RAV4 2ltr diesel 4WD. First impressions of the Avon's are very good. A noticeable reduction in road noise which is very welcome. Steering weight which was always on the heavy side immediately felt lighter. Steering response is very good and as previous reviewer mentioned for the first few miles I was turning in too much. Very stable and grip in both wet and dry is very good. Tread is less "offroad" than the original tyres and will have to wait and see how they do if we get any white stuff. Don't know if the wear rate will be as good as the original Bridgestone tyres which were very long lasting at 36K (front, rears still approx 3mm) but in all other aspects these tyres are a lot better than the Bridgestones. Would definitely recommend as these tyres have made a real difference to the drive of the car. Bought through Blackcircles at under £200 for the pair fitted which saved £50-60 over the Bridgestones.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.