Avon ZX7

The Avon ZX7 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Avon ZX7
76%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
81%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
57%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
62%

Avon ZX7 Reviews

87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Average miles

Volvo C30 1.6 Drive

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-W
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo XC90 4.4l 7p 450hp

I had these tyre fitted on my xc90 about 18months ago and lasted about 9000 miles very steady driving style. Very disappointed with wear rate 80% worn out within 12months.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-19-V
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Average miles

BMW X3 3.0dA

I recently replaced the BMW-spec (but non-runflat) Pirelli P7s on my X3 with these Avons. My first impressions are that the Avons are a fair bit quieter and give slightly better feedback in the dry. I haven't had the chance to do many miles in the wet on the Avons, but they do seem to have better grip on damp roads compared to the Pirellis.
As it stands at the moment (only done 300ish miles) I find them better in all aspects than the Pirellis.
Some reviewers have said they thought the Avons don't last very long. As long as I get 15000 miles from mine, I'll be happy - I value wet grip and all-round feedback above longevity. The Avons are 80% of the cost of a set of Pirellis or Dunlops, so anything less than 20% reduction in tyre life is acceptable in terms of "bang for buck".
Based on these impressions, I would definitely buy them again. If I should happen to change my mind before they need to be replaced, I will report back.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-17-V
33%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,500 Average miles

Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI

I had Goodyear Eagle F1 tyres on my car which have lasted 28000 miles per set - great. Switched to Avon ZX7 based on the local tyre dealers recommendation and these have only lasted 8500 miles. Absolute waste of money

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30 Average miles

Lexus RX 400h

I find this tyre very good in the dry and the wet giving good grip and predictable handling however I also find the tyre quiet noisy unless the road is smooth Tarmac, if it was quieter I would be 99% happy with it.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 26 Average miles

Ford Kuga

Good tyres with good grip in all conditions. Low noise but disappointed in the mileage. Using these on AWD Ford Kuga and they are lasting for approx. 30,000 miles, and that is on normal roads.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Lexus Rx450h

These replaced awful Dunlop OE tyres in my L:exus RX450h. They7 offer superb dry weather grip, handling and feedback and surprisingly good wet weather grip with little to no understeer or loss of traction even when the going gets very wet!

They proved to be very good in the snow as well as for summer use but for serious off road use thyou're better looking at dedicated off road tyres.

Their one weakness is wear. These tyres have a very high wear rate. I only managed 6,000 miles from my last pair before they needed changing on the fronts. Expect closer to 12k Miels rear. It's the price you pay for the soft compound and superb grip levels.

However, as they are the best, safest, and offer better comfort and much lower noise than the Dunlops they replaced, I'll stick with them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-W
64%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 2
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 8,000 Average miles

Honda CR V III

These tyres were recommended by my dealer as an alternative to the Micheline, which were the original tyres, these tyres are so noisy the road noise is excessive. The tyres behave very well apart from the road noise, which for me is distracting, so I will go back to Micheline when these have worn down,I am disappointed as they were rated at 69db.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz ML

Had a set of Nexens on my ML, terrible in wet so decided on these Avons, what a massive difference, quieter, great grip in the wet, more precise steering, cant comment on how well they will last, not had them to long,

Tyre size reviewed: 265-45-20-
69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Lexus Rx450h

I have never had such a noisy tire in all my life, different road surfaces play a different tune and not a pleasant one either, there are much quieter tires out there with just as good grip etc so will be looking hard to find one next time round.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-18-R

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.