Avon ZX7

The Avon ZX7 is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Avon ZX7
76%[average]
Dry Grip
88%
Wet Grip
85%
Road Feedback
77%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
59%
Comfort
82%
Buy Again
65%

Avon ZX7 Reviews

94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 200 Average miles

Renault Kadjar, Dynamic S Nav 4WD

I find Avon tyres sit on the fine line of mid range and high end. The zx7 I would say is more high end. quiet, comfortable, grip great in dry and wet. You can be confident in these at 70 mph on a wet motorway. If you’re looking for a tyre that’s not sitting at the £150-200 per tyre (for 225/45/19) then go for these I don’t think you’ll be able to tell the difference on a normal everyday car like a kadjar or juke. Also like the fact that they are made in the uk

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-
66%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 17,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz ML

Full set fitted 18 months ago, 17000 miles completed, will need full set for MOT. No issues with the tyres other than, expected more miles from them especially when most miles are motorway driving.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
73%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 0

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Spirited miles

BMW 118i Sport

In summary, these are great tyres, discounted 15% to nearly cheapest anywhere but with a good brand name just instills quality without certification, however, compared to factory fit Continental EcoContact, the Avons let the rear slide out way earlier than the worn Continentals.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-W
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 5,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Touareg

2016 VW Touareg 3.0 tdi. OE Continentals were expensive at the time and tbh weren't great, although didn't have much to compare against and lasted 18k which sounds ok for a 2+ ton car (mainly motorway miles). These worked out around £200 less for 4. Just in for MOT, done 5k miles, 5/6/5 (in/centre/out) on fronts and 6/7/6 on rears, think i'll swap them round at service to even it out but looking good to at least match the originals. The car handles well, plenty of grip wet or dry, thick channels run round which is probably why they get a good wet rating but had no issues in dry either. Noise wise, these things are fantastic. The car was quiet enough but the road noise now is negligible - for a big heavy car with fat wheels the cabin is incredibly quiet at, ahem, motorway speeds. If I get c20k miles out of these I will be well impressed and will buy again. Oh, the rubber protects the alloys too, which the originals didn't (unfortunately, when you have to park so close to the kerb in London), so another plus. Might not be a "premium" brand but def a premium tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 275-45-20-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Average miles

Volvo C30 1.6 Drive

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-50-17-W
51%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 9,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo XC90 4.4l 7p 450hp

I had these tyre fitted on my xc90 about 18months ago and lasted about 9000 miles very steady driving style. Very disappointed with wear rate 80% worn out within 12months.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-19-V
98%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Handling 0
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 300 Average miles

BMW X3 3.0dA

I recently replaced the BMW-spec (but non-runflat) Pirelli P7s on my X3 with these Avons. My first impressions are that the Avons are a fair bit quieter and give slightly better feedback in the dry. I haven't had the chance to do many miles in the wet on the Avons, but they do seem to have better grip on damp roads compared to the Pirellis.
As it stands at the moment (only done 300ish miles) I find them better in all aspects than the Pirellis.
Some reviewers have said they thought the Avons don't last very long. As long as I get 15000 miles from mine, I'll be happy - I value wet grip and all-round feedback above longevity. The Avons are 80% of the cost of a set of Pirellis or Dunlops, so anything less than 20% reduction in tyre life is acceptable in terms of "bang for buck".
Based on these impressions, I would definitely buy them again. If I should happen to change my mind before they need to be replaced, I will report back.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-60-17-V
33%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,500 Average miles

Volkswagen TOUAREG V6 TDI

I had Goodyear Eagle F1 tyres on my car which have lasted 28000 miles per set - great. Switched to Avon ZX7 based on the local tyre dealers recommendation and these have only lasted 8500 miles. Absolute waste of money

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 30 Average miles

Lexus RX 400h

I find this tyre very good in the dry and the wet giving good grip and predictable handling however I also find the tyre quiet noisy unless the road is smooth Tarmac, if it was quieter I would be 99% happy with it.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 26 Average miles

Ford Kuga

Good tyres with good grip in all conditions. Low noise but disappointed in the mileage. Using these on AWD Ford Kuga and they are lasting for approx. 30,000 miles, and that is on normal roads.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.