Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125

The Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125
82%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
81%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
81%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
81%

Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 Reviews (4)

71%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C class 230 kompressor, TModel

Exelent tyres except noise, after 4000 km they started making rumbling noise.
And no it's not my wheel bearing it's the tyres.
I would buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-16-V
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 19,000 Average miles

Subaru Legacy IV (BP) 2.0i wagon

I have them on my Subaru Legacy 2004 wagon and it is actually the only tire to have used with that car as I fitted them directly when bought it 1,5 year ago. They are now 30000km and have a lot of thread to wear. I suspect they will last easily another 20000km. They are not used in an enthusiastic way as this is a heavy family car but the limits on the bends are huge. I have had a problem with them from the beginning with the braking. I am not very satisfied with them as I think is more to the tires issue and not the car's. They block easily. I will not buy them again as I need to experiment with other tires and maybe I am wrong about the feel and braking.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 7,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C180

Mercedes C 180, 2013 Model, 205/55/16.
Michelin and Hankook review.

I have always been very careful and aware/educated when I bought new tires, I used to be a huge Michelin fan and held my nose when low-cost tires like Hankook etc was mentioned, it was unthinkable for me to use anything ells other than premium brands like Michelin.

After my original good Dunlop SP Sport FastResponse MO tires were worn out on my MB C180 I bought 4 new Michelin Primacy 3, actually against the recommendation from my tire-dealer who warned me about the Michelin's, for once I did not listen to good advice.

I have never been so surprised and disappointed about tires before, with the exception of some lethal LingLong tires on a rental car.

As I recently wrote about Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 on my other car, a MB SLK 350, the Michelin Primacy 3 has basically the same slightly "weird" unsafe feeling under all circumstances.

In the dry the Primacy 3 have this somewhat strange "heavy" and "clumsy" feeling, a slightly unstable "wandering" feeling in straight driving and curvy country roads, it's like constantly driving on slippery pebble roads, it is not much or a big problem but enough to be very irritating especially on long journeys.

With the Dunlops my C180 was 100% stable at all speeds both on straight and curvy roads, a "light" and "agile" safe feeling with the Dunlops, never with the Primacy 3.

I have previously noted with other Michelin tires on other cars that they could have a slightly "heavier" feeling than other brands but more solid planted on the road, I always liked it before and it was never a problem like with the Primacy 3.

With Primacy 3 I also noted that braking in both wet and dry is slightly worse than the Dunlops, not a huge difference but absolutely noticeable.

In dry corners/turns the grip is often pretty good with the Primacy 3 but it is not consequent, I have never before experienced tires with so surprising unequal irregular qualities on the limits and in sharp turns as the Primacy 3 and it's basically that same slightly shaky/wobbly feeling as PS3 on the limits.

There is also a somewhat "weird" noise from the tires at all speeds, a "course" and "rough" noise, almost as if there were small pieces of metal in the tires. (spikes)

The comfort with the Primacy 3 in general is mediocre at the best, a huge negative surprise from what I expected, I never had perfect comfort with Michelin's before but I never had any complaints either.

It's acceptable performance in the wet, I never had problems in heavy rain in straight driving but again inconsequent surprising and "weird" behavior in sharp turns and corner, it is simply not possible to trust these tires.

I really don't have anything good to say about Michelin Primacy 3, I do not like them at all and I do not trust them, I am extremely surprised and disappointed about that.

I owned a 2000 Model VW Bora (Jetta) since new for many years, I have had Dunlop SP 8000, Uniroyal MS Plus 55, Michelin HP, Michelin Pilot Exalto on this car, all of them were good tires with no problems, very stable with good grip and acceptable/good comfort.

The current owner of this VW Bora bought Michelin Primacy 3, I have driven that car with the Primacy 3 and it's basically the same experience as I have with my MB C180, a good car reduced by bad tires, in addition to the similar problems with my C180 the VW Bora easily loses grip on the rear and wobbles side to side with the rear when pushed near the limits in turns, I have never previously experienced this with the VW Bora and any other tire-brands, this car is normally very stable in any situation, believe me, I have pushed that car to every limit.

I have driven a VW Golf TSI 2016 Model and a BMW 320i 2016 Model with Michelin Primacy 3 tires with basically the same negatives regarding "heavy/clumsy" feeling, stability problems and mediocre comfort/noise, although I did not push these cars to the limits in curves/turns so I can not comment on that.

After ca 2000 km and a long journey in my C180 I had enough, no more Primacy 3, I got rid of them.

After recommendation from a tire-dealer, who was aware of the "problems" with the obviously very overrated Michelin Primacy 3, I decided to change and buy the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 which I would never had considered before.

As my tire dealer predicted, I was very positively surprised with the Hankook tires on my C180, much cheaper, much better than the Primacy 3, back to the "light" and "agile" feeling as with the Dunlops, very stable and planted in dry and wet, good braking, good comfort/noise, the wear is about average, nothing bad to say about the Hankook, good tires, very similar to my good Dunlop tires even at very high speeds.

I never had anything bad at all to say about Michelin tires on my own previous cars and other cars I previously have driven with Michelin tires, it was for a long time my absolute favorite tire-brand, it was good to drive on and they lasted long.

Nowadays my own experience with both new and older cars with the newest Michelin tires is always disappointing regardless of car and tire-size and based on comments from both tire dealers and consumers with different cars I can only agree that Michelin's now are widely overrated, and very overpriced, and even some budget tire-brands are superior in basically every way.

One explanation to the Michelin fail might be manufacturing process in different countries, I do not know, but the tires I tried lately were all manufactured in France except for one tire that was manufactured in Spain.

I always had correct alignment and tire-pressure, no mechanical problems with the cars, I can only conclude that Michelin for me is now a fallen "hero".

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 2,000 Spirited miles

Renault Fluence

These replaced a set of Bridgestone Turanza ER300s which were wearing unevenly, getting noisy, and worst of all not gripping properly. Initial observations are positive:
- very precise steering with no "dead zone", especially at expressway speeds, compared to the ER300 - the difference is refreshing indeed!
- very good grip, definitely more confidence-inspiring than the ER300 when cornering near the limit
- low noise levels
And now for the negatives:
- they don't appear as efficient at clearing water and resisting aquaplaning as the Bridgestones, but it could have just been the crazy rains in Singapore of late
- I seem to be losing a bit in fuel economy; the average is down about 1km/litre
- at 215/55 the sidewalls look rather rounded and fat, but this is just nitpicking
But overall Hankook still have a happy customer, at SGD137 a donut they're cheaper than most "premium ST" tyres here, even more so than Bridgestone's Ecopia EP300 model which is an "eco" tyre.
Now let's see if the noise and grip levels hold...

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-V
38%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 1
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 0 Average miles

Honda CR Z

Third set after Yokohama Advan AE10 (lasted 40.000 km), Falken ZE 914 ECORUN (lasted 50.000 km). Based on the tests and reviews this time I go for Ventus Prime 3. It's so sluggish on cornering, feels unsecure even with relatively easier turns. It doesn't even as good as budget Falken. This tires have killed all my passion for my car.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-16-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Hyundai i20

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-55-15-V
92%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

SEAT Leon

Replaced four mismatched tyres that were on my Seat when I bought it with these Hankooks, having liked them on the Golf that I had previously. Turns out I wasn't wrong, and the car is transformed.
These tyres inspire confidence in both dry and wet conditions, even in cold weather. Minimal slip, even when pulling away on hills in the wet (the POS hard Autogrip tyres that were formerly on the front would spin every single time) and great feel on turn in, settling quickly down into tangible grip that stays there through the corner. Even under hard braking the ABS very rarely has to get involved. Noise is average, VW group cars are pretty well insulated so I'm not really troubled by road noise.
I have generally found Hankook tyres to be as good as or better than Michelin, Bridgestone and Pirelli tyres that I have also used. Highly recommended.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 22,700 Easy Going miles

Volkswagen Golf TSI 1.4 225whp

Great tyres just had to change having done 22700 miles on the fronts.
Grip has been excellent, handling has been amazing, a decent MPG.
I would definitely have these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-H
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS Veloce

I decided to try these as I previously had a complete set of Ventus Prime 2 K115 and the promise of being a little more sporting was appealing. Both the 2s and 3s are good tyres IMO when it is remembered they are touring tyres and not track biased in any way.

The first thing anyone will notice is noise and comfort. Surprisingly, the 3s are actually a set backwards. The 2s are noticeably quieter and round off road imperfections more effectively. In this department, both are superior to the heavy Conti Premium Contact 2s. The Kook 2s are almost as good as the lightweight Pirelli P7 Cinturatos with regard to comfort which on my other 156.

Next is response and feedback. The Ventus Prime 3s are a small improvement over the 2s in this respect. The 2s are obviously aimed more for comfort. The 3s are similar to the Pirellis but not as good as the Contis which need less lock to get round bends. The 2s are adequate but not inspiring.

Handling. I thought I'd have more to say given the crazy angles I've put the 156s round bends but they appear to be safe and manageable. Perhaps that is in itself great praise. Contrast that with the Contis which become messy, inaccurate and totally lack adjustability and either of the Kooks really do shape up to look controllable in extremis. They are perhaps not as good as the Pirellis though. The only criticism I have for the 3s is that cold weather does drop off a little (as it does with all summer tyres). In this area, for once, the Contis make sense. However, the good handling means it is easily manageable and the reduction is in no way concerning.

Wear. I'd say the 3s have it. I can't be sure but now the 3s have less than 3mm and over 20k miles (a first for me) I think the 3s are a particularly durable tyre. My impressions of the 2s wear I though wear was on the high side but I didn't mind. I did mind having to rub loads of tyre black into the tiny sidewall ribs of the 2s though... Another thing about these tyres, notably the 3s is how well they preserve the grip and handling characteristics when they are worn. Budget tyres cannot do this and become terrible (a set of Vredestein Sportrac 3s became decidedly psychotic- yet were winning tyre tests). They may not be up to Michelin Pilot levels in this respect but they do perform convincingly even when worn so can go right to the 1.6mm.

In short, either variant is recommended. The 2s are quieter and more comfortably and the 3s feel a little more sporting even though there is not much difference in outright grip.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 TS Veloce

I've found these to be a well balanced touring tyre which I can recommend. Tyre life is good and although they have been on the front and rear, there is still over 3mm on them after 20000 miles of sometimes very spirited progress.

For a touring tyre, grip is about as good as can be reasonably expected which is less than that of a sports focused tyre for obvious reasons. However, last winter I found the cold weather performance to suffer more than the Continental Premium Contact 2 tyres at the other end. The Hankooks are not terrible in this respect but not as good as some. However, they remained stable, predictable and controllable so there was never cause for alarm.

Although they tend to have fairly large slip angles (not as true tracking as some tyres), grip and tyre life seems notably good. In short, not quite up to Pirelli P7 Cinturatos but they are cheaper and only slightly not as good.
Definitely good value for money and a good performing tyre which is only slightly let down by its aquaplaning resistance. Good in all other respects.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.