Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125

The Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125
82%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
83%
Road Feedback
81%
Progressiveness
77%
Wear
81%
Comfort
80%
Buy Again
81%

Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 Reviews (2)

76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 10,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo 240 estate

I have reviewed this tyre (HVP3) before in comparison to the ContiPremiumContact 5 (CPC5) which I have on the other axle. I swapped them around a few times and kept notes (click on make and model car for my other reviews as this one is only on wear).

The 240 estate with an understressed 111 bhh engine isn't going to wear rubber in a hurry. I already wrote that the HVP3 isn't the best tyre when it comes to treadlife, but now I found something peculiar.
The HVP3 wears noticeably quicker on the rear axle than on the front. This would seem logical for a RWD car, but the CPC5 shows almost no difference between the two axles.

If this difference between front and rear wear remains the same throughout the life of the HVP3, it would actually be a worse tyre than the aleady infamous CPC5 (when it comes to treadlife, that is).

Even though this is a great tyre grip and comfort wise, mile munchers may be better off with another tyre.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-16-H
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,500 Spirited miles

Volkswagen T Roc

Have get these tires with my new TROC, it was fitted on VW factory, well, it is comfortable, very quiet, strong, was waiting a little bit more from wet drip, but it is not sport car or hot hatch, so grip is enough in all the disciplines! Can recommend for sure!

Tyre size reviewed: 215-55-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 25,000 Average miles

Opel Zafira TDCI

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
89%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Average miles

Ford Fusion 1.4 TDci

I use these on an old Ford Fusion diesel (every day) that had Firestones and Continentals. The car has a harder ride and these tyre a absolutely perfect for it. They flex, and give a softer but controlled ride, but with a grip that's much better than anything I've had before. Basically I love these tyres. It's a noisy car so I really don't know about their road noise.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 12,800 Average miles

Skoda Octavia

These tyres have excellent dry and wet grip. I've driven them on all types of road and in all conditions except for snow and ice. They are very comfortable to drive on and give a stable and sure response when driving in all conditions. I've had them on the car for 18 months while driving in the city mainly, and occasionally on longer drives on various roads from Motorway to B grade roads. They have always handled well. My only concern is that I have only driven 12800 miles in them and they are already worn down below 1.5mm. I'm very surprised with that. I think I will only manage to get 2 years out of these tyres and possibly between 15-16k miles.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Spirited miles

Toyota Yaris Mk2 1.33 (1NR FE)

Finally worn down the old Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance and got a set of these on Jonathan's recommendation. Pretty cheap too - Managed to get them for £55 each from F1 Autocentres online, including fitting, new valves, old tyres disposed of etc. when the prices were fluctuating every day. Bargain! Esp. for these rims! Alas they've gone back up, stabilizing in the low 60's at time of writing so I lucked out there!

Initial differences - The road noise is slightly but noticeably better; It's still pretty loud on certain surfaces but not as obnoxiously loud as the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance were, esp. on concrete slab sections of motorway where the EfficientGrips would leave me with tinnitus because they were so f'ing noisy! Again shows that the official tyre noise rating is useless as the EfficientGrip Performance is rated at 67dB vs the VentusPrime's 71dB so it shouldn't be quieter!!

Grip is noticeably better over the EfficientGrip Performance, at least in the dry - I've yet to trigger the ABS under heavy braking, and it gives confidence that when I want the car to stop, it actually will stop! This was a constant issue with the Goodyears - Under anything other than a perfectly dry flat smooth road, would often suddenly run out of grip when braking hard, triggering the ABS and costing me 50% of forward braking force making the car feel like it was suddenly lurching forward!

Also, there is a fairly steep right turn I often need to take at junction that has poor visibility and is onto a fast road so I want to clear the junction and get up to speed quickly - I find this is a good test of a tyre's grip as it has to contend with sudden high acceleration force and still deliver lateral grip; In my crappy FWD Yaris it's quite a good torture test of a tyre's grip.
The EfficientGrip Performance would almost always wheelspin if I just floored it, losing me forward acceleration and forcing me to back off until I'd straightened the wheel, leaving my rear hanging out longer than I'd like.
The VentusPrime3 has been much better - Several times now I've been through that junction and accelerated at full power into the turn and so far I've never spun the wheels up at all, it just hauled off like I expect them to. Feels much safer and gives me more confidence than the Goodyears did!

They do seem to ride a bit harder than the Goodyears, although this is at the higher PSI I tend to run my tyres at - At stock recommended PSI they absorb speed bump impacts and drains etc. as well as most tyres. The difference in shock absorption between low and high PSI is more noticeable with these than the Goodyears. Might be a factor of sidewall stiffness?

Very happy with them so far - Hankook have made a very good tyre here; My only concern is how long they will last, and how much the performance will degrade over its lifetime - Last time I had tyres with such good initial impressions was with the Continental Premium Contact 5 - I gave them high marks across the board initially, but quickly discovered the horrific wear rate. I think they lasted half as long as tyres normally lasted on that car and that totally negated the relatively low cost (for a Conti!) of it.
(Supposedly they have fixed this in newer version of the CPC5 but the price has gone up by over £30 since then too!)

Hopefully that won't be the case with the Ventus Prime 3 - We shall see when I've put some real miles on them and they've been through all 4 seasons!

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-15-H
96%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 8,500 Average miles

BMW 116i

Fitted these to my BMW 116i last summer to go with a pair of hardly used but old Kumho Ecsta KU31's that were my previous favourite tyre. Intitially I fitted the Prime 3's up front so as to wear the older tyres first on the rear.
Even with the car kicking the rear out a bit grip and feedback was always superb on the front, once in damp conditions the rear got away and I had to counter steer and brake to avoid hitting the bollard at the exit of the roundabout I was playing on. No problem!!
Grip and aquaplaning resistance was always great in the wet too and even in cold weather when winter came around it was still up there.
Over winter I switched the Prime's to the rear as the Kumho's were getting well loose even with full traction and ESP on with just the standard 115bhp. The front was noticeably less grippy with the Kumho's but still pretty good, the rear however was transformed allowing slightly wreckless driving again as long as the electronics were left on.
This summer I couldn't be arsed to swap the tyres back around, after roughly 8500 miles the Prime 3's are down to 6mm of tread which is not much wear and the engine has had a remap so is slightly more powerful. Kicking the back out is not quite as easy as with the Kumho's on the rear partly because the front will try to understeer a bit now but the car does handle better with the Primes on the rear if you just want to go fast in the corners.
I've just bought a E46 330d coupe for summer so this will be my winter car now, when I need tyres for the 330 I'll be buying more Ventus Prime 3's at least for the front.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
74%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,000 Easy Going miles

Volvo 240 estate

Now that I have done about 3000 miles on the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 (HVP3), it's time to rereview them.

They are currently at the rear of a Volvo 240 Estate, while the ContiPremiumContact 5 (CPC5) are still at the front. In the mean time, the suspension has been upgraded making it a little stiffer and better handling than a factory original car, so now it demands a little more from the tyres in corners.

In my initial review I was positive about dry performance, and that hasn't changed. In corners taken at speed, the HVP3 matches the CPC5. After 3000 miles I can say that the same goes for wet driving. The HVP3 is a good tyre.

The main reason I switched from CPC5 to HVP3 was high wear of the former. In tests the hvp3 performed better. But on my car, the HVP3 has lost enough tread in those 3000 miles that I doubt it's going to have a much longer treadlife than the CPC5.
They lost 0.6 mm at the rear (driven) wheels while the CPC5s lost 0.4 mm at the front.

If wear remains linear throughout the tread life, I'll be looking for replacements in less than 25,000 miles.
I'm still planning on having HVP3s on all four corners to get a better picture, but that will have to wait a while as the CPC5's still have some life left in them.

To be revisited when I do a front/rear swap.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Average miles

Audi A4

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-H
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 20,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi

Very good price and a very good all round tire!

Dry grip is great especially after they're warmed up. They're loosing grip very progressively when pushed hard but they seem to have a bit of rolling resistance, not much though.

Wet grip is also great as is the wear rate. I also drove them for 2k km on a Skoda Karoq 1.5 TSI and they were lacking a bit of grip when pushed. I would recommend something sportier for cars of 140+ hp if they're usually driven in an agressive manner.

They convinced me to buy a winter set of Hankook winter Icept RS2 and they didn't dissapoint in an way.
I will definately buy Hankook again, most likely the Hankook Ventus S1 Evo 3.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.