Vredestein Ultrac Satin

The Vredestein Ultrac Satin is a Summer Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Vredestein Ultrac Satin
90%[average]
Dry Grip
93%
Wet Grip
90%
Road Feedback
89%
Progressiveness
89%
Wear
87%
Comfort
91%
Buy Again
91%

Vredestein Ultrac Satin Reviews (2)

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 500 Average miles

Mazda CX7

Look I can't say much about this tyre because I bought them only one month ago but what I can tell you already is that it has great grip and is very good on steering the vehicule into corners. Comfort is much better than the Michelin's which were very expensive and didn't hold out for long...

Tyre size reviewed: 235-55-19-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,100 Average miles

Kia Motors ceed

Unbelievable elastic under the circumstances, did not betray me as much as I pressed. . I think if he had the hardest side he would be even better. I would have bought it again .

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
88%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 1,200 Average miles

Volvo V60 D3

A the the moment i have the tires for about 2000km. I drive a Volvo v60 D3 AT 163hp.
I compare them to a Contisportcontact 5 and i have to say that the vredestein are much more comfortable and a much quiter.
As for the grip, the conti's on dry were better, i didn't have a situation that the tires loosed traction at start. The ultrac satin looses traction on start on high revs but only for a split of a second. In corners I can easliy feel the car and the grip is and road feed back is ok. Probably in very aggressive driving the tire will not be as good as HP tires.
On wet i can't see any diffrences, but i try to drive safe so i can't test it on the edge of loosing grip.
Fuel consumption is at the same level as the contisport5 (C vs F) and this is the only disappoitment of it.
As for the price, I bought 4 tires for 440€ (110€ per tire). In this price I couldn't find and alternative in mid range tires.
I'm very satisfied with this purchase and if I have to i would by them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Lexus GS 250 Luxury

These tyres represent a considerable improvement upon the factory fitted Bridgestone turanza’s.
Comfort, grip and confidence is so assured with the vreds they transform the entire driving experience and imho show the vehicle off to its optimal performance and enjoyment.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-45-18-W
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 100 Average miles

Alfa Romeo Giulietta

Please note! - I have probably driven about 100 miles on these since I had them fitted. So there are somethings I simply cannot comment on (wear, snow, heavy rain, aquaplaning etc) but I wanted to put out my first impressions of these.

Firstly, they look smart when fitted, nice design, suit my car well. 4 big grooves in the tread pattern, which is what I wanted. Also come in a 91 (appropriate for my car) and a W rating in this particular size.

I have used them in both the wet and the dry so far, the good thing about reviewing Tyres from the UK perspective is that the weather changes everyday more or less so even in the first mileage of these Tyres I have tried both. I was at a busy roundabout and saw a decent gap but thought i'd better get over into the lane I needed sooner rather than later so I put my foot down a little bit (nothing crazy) and the Vredsteins were glued to the road, literally didn't move an inch in terms of spin, I was pretty impressed in the wet, handling around roundabouts is also nice as is straight line driving.

Went out in the dry today, no change whatsoever, seemed almost exactly the same as in the wet, good cornering, braking was fine too.

As for noise, not an issue. This has never been a huge concern of mine to be honest I'd rather have performance and grip over worrying about a couple of extra decibels but that's just me.

The best thing by far however is the comfort. I wanted a sporty(ish) Tyre. I drive an Alfa with 170BHP which isn't the most powerful thing ever but it does need decent grip, I didn't want to sacrifice on comfort though. On normal town / city driving they are pretty similar to most other Tyres I have driven. Good / reasonable comfort, no sort of crashy ride. These things however, come alive on dual carriageways & motorways! Even with only about 100 miles on them I can tell you that. It feels like you're driving on a bed of air. Massive improvement over my previous car / Tyres. I noticed it almost instantly, I could imagine a long drive (I go to Scotland quite a bit) would be a lot more pleasurable.

Can't comment too much on feedback either at the moment but I will come back and update.

So far these Tyres are exactly what Vredstein seem to be selling them to be. Sporty(ish), Grippy, comfortable!

I like em, thumbs up for the first 100 miles, will update with some more mileage with things like feedback, different weather conditions and of course, wear. I paid less than £220 for 4 of these! Including delivery & fitting. So far, an absolute bargain.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-W
85%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Citroën DS3 THP 150

Had Pirelli p zero nero gt's on prior to these and the time came to swap them. I found reading a lot of reviews, across a range of tyres, one person would say the tyre was best avoided and another would say they were great. Opted for these as I was able to get them for £350 for a full set inc fitting, official reviews came back well and I couldn't justify the considerable additional money for the household names.

No regrets though. My car isn't up their with go to performance cars. Never the less I would get wheel spin at times with the pirelli's. Early impressions of the vredisteins though and that issue seems to have been resolved. Tyres are fantastic through spirited country lanes, the grip is faultless in turns and when putting your foot down. Additional bonus is that they are quieter than the pirelli's. They feel slightly softer but I can't fault the drive they offer.

Would definitely recommend, if you are considering.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,800 Average miles

BMW E38 740i

I was in the need of a good tyre to fit under the E38. I have been driving three E38's for the past 6 years and had different tyres over those years.

The wheels under the E38 are original Styling 37 ''wide-wheels'' (I don't know the English word for it) using the following tyre sizes.

Front wheel size: 8x18
Front tyre size: 235/50R18
Rear wheel size: 9,5x18
Rear tyre size: 255/45R18

Suspension, steering, bushings and shocks are all new. Only A+ quality parts were fitted. Also a new 3D alignment has been done. The wheels are balanced with a Road Force balancer.

Comfort and road noise has been very good on all types of roads. This is what I value the most for a car like this. It needs to be comfy and low on noise. As of now I had no problems with flatspots after the car was not used for more then 12 hours. The previous Toyo Proxes T1 Sport had a horrible flatspot after 12 hours.

Grip in the dry is very good. Even on kickdown I can't get the wheels to spin. Cornering with a 5 meter long BMW is no problem for these tyes. They grip very good in the dry.

Grip in the wet hasn't been a problem for me. Doing a kickdown can get you a little wheel spin. Cornering in the wet takes no practice, but with tight corners and speed do take some caution. Sometimes it does feel the tyres are losing grip and the back of the car wants to break out.

Aqua planing. Having such wide wheels under a vehicle does give more chance of aqua planing. It is something that can't be avoided with sizes like these. The overall handling in aqua planing situations is good, the tyres do their job. But 2 hands on the wheel are required!

Overall handling and road feedback is good. The side wall is soft, and it is something that is noticeable in corners. I retrofitted a rear sway bar. This does a lot on the overall cornering issue with barges like these. And it keeps the car more stable in the corners, and in the end this takes some pressure and stress off the side wall of the tyre.

Wear is something I can't say that much about. As far is I can see it, they are holding up very good. It is the rear that wears out the quickest. The Toyo Proxes T1 Sport that were fitted before were completely worn out on the rear at 12000 kilometers. While the front Toyo's had 6.7mm left on them. I hope the Vredestein tyres at the rear will last the double amount of the Toyo's.

Would certainly buy these tyres again!





Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-W
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,000 Easy Going miles

Peugeot 5008

Done 6000 miles on the front set so far and was very happy with them so also replaced the rears with same and these have done 3000 miles. Manufacturers' figures don't always reflect reality but these tyres are much much quieter than the Bridgestone /Pirelli /Michelins that were on the car before. Tyre noise at 60mph on a good road (even with windows slightly open) is now inaudible and exceeded by any residual wind noise. I have an easy going driving style and do not drive-to-the-limit, but these do feel refined and precise in handling. Wet grip in ordinary rain is fine up to motorway speeds. Have not pushed them to the limit in torrential rain or through puddles but any sensible driver would slow down for those! Fronts have worn about 1-2mm over 6k miles so extrapolating to a residual 2mm would give an estimated 18-20,000 mile life. Good for a FWD car. Rears may do even better. Overall impression -- comfort and refinement with adequately precise handling for any sensible driver who especially values their peace and quiet.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-18-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 60 Spirited miles

Jaguar XF

This is the best tyre I have ever put on a car! Smooth, fantastic grip in the wet, inspires confidence on all road surfaces and the wear is unbelievable. I have had them on my Jaguar XF for over a year now and covered over 60,000 miles and they are still going strong with lots of wear left on them. Will certainly buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-18-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 1,000 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 147 JTD

I posted a review a few days ago but i can't find it.... Mayby Vredestein delete this ??

I speak about this Vredestein Ultrac Satin. 215-45-17 Extra Load tyre.

I'm not happy with this tyre. I Bought it last week but i have to regret. The side-wall is very soft.

I'f i go with a normal speed around the corner, there is no stress. No complains. When i have more speed on the same corner, the tyres are very weak. The side of the tire feeds into a bend which makes the car feel swaby. It feels like you have worn shock absorbers, or at least the rear of the car wants to slip away.

Maybe I can exchange the tires for better at the garage

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.