Toyo T1R

The Toyo T1R is a Summer Ultra High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Toyo T1R
72%[average]
Dry Grip
84%
Wet Grip
70%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
75%
Wear
63%
Comfort
70%
Buy Again
71%

Toyo T1R Reviews

80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Saab Automobile 9 5 Wagon 150 275bhp

I drive a large front wheel drive estate car, 275bhp or so. Firstly, these are a SUMMER tyre, so you have to anticipate that they may not be so great in the wet, although I managed OK in the Central Belt's big freeze (-11ºC) of 2010 on them.
They are a little noisy, especially as the temperature drops and the rubber gets slightly harder. (At this point I normally put winter tyres on)
In the wet they behave very well, breakaway is quite gradual at high speeds and very controllable. I've never actually found the lateral breakaway speed...
Some of the comments on here amuse, the chap whose car went wobbly when braking and cornering, that's why you do one or the other! You don't drive your car in the same manner in the wet as the dry. To do so is stupidity.
I've had about five sets of these tyres and wouldn't hesitate in getting them again. If you want bad, go and fit a set of Talon Triangles.....

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 500 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

The tires came with a set of wheels I bought for my car, but the weren’t worn im any case.
First thing I nad realised was very poor level of comfort. At 205/45 I could feel even the smallest crack in the road.
Dry performance was good, although the car had a tendency to understeer.
DISASTER CAME after the first rain. Never have I ever came across anything worse than that. Please consider that those tires are EXTREMALY DANGEROUS in wet conditions. I’ve quickly replaced them with Michelin Pilot Sport 4, and I am happy with my decision.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 80,000 Spirited miles

SEAT Ibiza 1.4TSI ACT

Replaced my factory fit P7's up front after 51k with the T1R's - not sure it was the right choice for the car.

Main issues:
- Unsure in the wet - depends fully on road surface
- Factory recommended tire pressure seems too low for these tires - they feel flat and spongy
- Due to above, the cornering is questionable as is braking
- Corner to tight and tire "wobbles" and tries to ping you out of the corner - feels uncontrolled.

The only way I can get past this is running them at 42-44psi - which is not great given the working limit is 50psi...

May be good on other cars, but not on the Ibiza..

Tyre size reviewed: 215-40-17-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Nissan 350z

I fitted these tire set in my 350z. Most of the time, it is my daily drive and I drive spiritedly. I drive on both motorway and zic zac roads, cause I live near those mountain. Generally, the tires have good feedback, both dry and wet. A bit noisy but my car is even noisier so it never bothered me.

I also bring my car to the track once a month. I am not driving crazily on the track or competition, just regular track days and these tires do really well. Lots of feedback for novice because the tire squeeze a lots before it losts its grip. Very good on wet track. To give you an idea how good it is, I would say I will choose T1r on the wet rather than any semi slick tires. However, when it is getting too hot, the tires seems to give up grip at some points.

In terms of wear, I got this tires on my car for 15.000km approximately. Mixing between daily and track days. Got about 7 track days. Still got 6-7mm left. Not bad at all for the money.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Spirited miles

Fiat Punto GT turbo

Not your usual UHP tire:
These tires cannot match the most expensive UHP competition gripwise. Steering response and feedback are average too - all due to the relatively soft sidewalls, which in turn make them really comfortable!

Wear is mediocre, but the price is reasonable.

These tires are very progressive on the limit, but you should drive conservatively in the rain. They prefer soft suspension setups on wet roads!

Excellent rim protection.

Overall, a top choice for a comfortable UHP tire on a budget! Not suitable for hard-core applications.

PS. Also running them on a Hyundai i10 1.2 (same size) with the same impressions...

Tyre size reviewed: 195-45-15-V
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 10,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Impreza WRX 2.0l Hatchback

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-16-
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Ford Focus ST3 2008

Previously had Uniroyals and Dunlops on, toyos outlasted them both, Dunlops only going 10k, the toyos managed a further 5k. Both wet and dry grip were good. Only issue I've had and it's probably related to other V treaded tyres too is they do get noisy when tread is low. Great tyre for the price tho.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10 Spirited miles

Toyota MK2 MR2 NA

Have used these tyres for fast road and even track use. No doubt there are grippier tyres about but these are a great all round tyre and certainly the best you can get for the price.
Sidewalls are a bit softer than other tyres, solved by running a slightly higher PSI.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-16-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 6,000 Average miles

Alfa Romeo 156 1,8 TS

These tyres are good, to a certain extent. On a day-to-day basis, with a mostly easy going driving style, I don't have much to put on these, except for maybe noise. Wear level is fine.
But when you push these tyres, it's where things start going wrong. In dry, the feedback is good, as is the grip. When the roads are wet - or even just damp, things go badly. My ABS kicks in under moderately hard braking from only 40mph, and the car will understeer if I try pushing it too hard round a corner.
Based on the fact that they're useless in the wets, it's a definite no-no for a re-purchase.

Tyre size reviewed: 215-45-17-W
23%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 3
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 2
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 4
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 3,000 Average miles

Volkswagen up!

An update to my earlier review from July where I replaced four Continentals with Toyos. In 3000 miles the sidewall developed a small hole in the side. Showed it in two tyre centers and they both said the same thing that Toyos have very rigid sidewalls and being made in Malaysia not suited to British climate. So I wasted my money on buying another to keep the matching four but if another one fails I’ll have to go with one odd tyre. In over 250,000 miles of motoring I’m a lifetime never had a sidewall develop a hole like that.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.