Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2
79%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
79%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
76%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
70%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews (2)

53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Audi A3 2.0T quattro

very performing tire in the first months of life up to 15000km after it becomes very slippery hard both on dry and not to mention the wet highly not recommended in my opinion, I was a dunlop enthusiast most likely I will move to goodyear

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
83%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-17-W
93%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Golf 7 GTD

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-35-19-
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Spirited miles

Mazda MX5

Best tyre

Tyre size reviewed: 205-45-17-W
60%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 5
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Average miles

Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon

These tyres were fitted to the car shortly before I bought it and now, 18,000 miles later, the fronts are under 3mm and ready to be changed.

I drive 100 miles a day commuting on mixed roads at varying speeds in all weather conditions . The fact that I can’t remember anything specific about them probably says they’re pretty good all rounders. Not the sharpest turn in, but that’s mainly the car’s wooden steering rather than the cars fault.

I’d prefer they had lasted longer, but then I don’t know how long they were on before I got the car. Overall, pretty good value for money I would say.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-V
41%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 2
  • Road Feedback 4
  • Handling 4
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Audi A3 Sportback Quattro 2.0L TDI (170 PS)

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Audi audi a3 s line 2,0tdi 150bhp

Average yearly mileage is 18k. After having 2 full sets of Pirelli P Zero, decided to try different brand as Pirellis only lasted about 8000 before changing ( replaced at 3mm) when cold easy spun tyres on take off, once warm grip was great with no issues on both dry and wet roads..... once worn they became real noisy .... so decided to try Dunlop Sport Maxx RT2 and so far after 5000 miles superb tyres and very pleased with them, down to about 6mm ....tyres grip great in the wet and dry... they dont suffer from wheelspin when cold....much quieter. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Dunlops as an excelent replacement

Tyre size reviewed: 235-35-19-W
97%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Average miles

Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCI

Got a good deal so had a set of 4 fitted to Focus 1.8tdci replacing Michelin ps4.
Now I have travelled about 5k miles on these Dunlops and I cannot fault them. Usually country roads and town driving.
Dry Grip is there always from starting from cold to warm, Michelin was the same in the dry.
Wet grip I slowly started to push the car a bit more to find out what I would get from these Dunlops and I was amazed they were brilliant I never slid had any twitches on the steering gave me a lot more confidence in the wet, I had none in the Michelin in the wet they were dreadful and slid easily under acceleration (sorry Michelin but they felt more plastic than rubber in the wet)
The Dunlops don't give any road noise as I can hear but I am driving a diesel so that may drowned it out if there is any, same with the Michelin.
Comfort is excellent easy to live with and being 40 series that is a big plus as some cheaper brands are like riding on wood,
All in all I have tried a lot of different brands on different cars and these Dunlops are up there with the best Pirellis I have had, I find them better than Michelin and Conti which I have had on this car and I would recommend them to anyone with a similar family hatchback, my friend has the same tyre on an s-type jaguar and loves them too.
Cost wise I suppose it all depends on what deals are available at the time but we know all top quality brands are going to be of similar cost.
Mileage I have done 5k and they still look like new so I am happy I got just over 9k from the Michelin on the front of the car I have a suspicion these will do better by looking at how much tread is left after 5k.
Would I buy again? Yes without hesitation, I would only be tempted away if I got Pirelli at a similar cost I got these for £300 all in for four.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-40-18-W
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 120 Spirited miles

Ford Focus ST

When I bought the car it had 4 different tyres and I struggled to control wheel spin in 1st, 2nd and sometimes 3rd.
I bought 2 for the front to try. After a week I ordered 2 for the rear as the difference was amazing.
I have drove in the dry and wet with no problem but I have yet to drive in winter

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Subaru Impreza

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.