Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2
79%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
80%
Road Feedback
80%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
77%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
71%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI

Having had two sets of the previous generation Dunlop SP Sportmaxx RT on my Mondeo before, I had no hesitation going for the next generation RT2 when they came for replacement. As with the previous generation I was impressed with this tyre but the biggest upgrade from the previous generation I found the wear rate to be much better. I tend to carry speed through bends where I can and these were certainly communicative and grippy both dry and wet. High speed motorway running in heavy standing water wasn't a problem for these and I was able to carry on when other cars were slowing down or spinning off. Snow grip isn't anything to write home about but then this is a performance summer tyre not a winter one. The tyres weren't unduly noisy or harsher than any other tyres I'd had on the car. They were pretty low profile and with the -20mm lower sports suspension pack on the car they weren't overly thrashy around potholes. Fuel consumption was pretty good too.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI

Nachdem ich zuvor zwei Sätze des Dunlop SP Sportmaxx RT der vorherigen Generation auf meinem Mondeo hatte, hatte ich kein Zögern, mich für den RT2 der nächsten Generation zu entscheiden, als sie ersetzt wurden. Wie bei der vorherigen Generation war ich von diesem Reifen beeindruckt, aber beim größten Upgrade gegenüber der vorherigen Generation fand ich die Verschleißrate viel besser. Ich neige dazu, Geschwindigkeit durch Kurven zu tragen, wo ich kann, und diese waren auf jeden Fall kommunikativ und griffig, sowohl trocken als auch nass. Eine Hochgeschwindigkeitsautobahn, die in schwerem stehendem Wasser lief, war für diese kein Problem, und ich konnte weitermachen, wenn andere Autos langsamer wurden oder abrutschten. Schneegriff ist nichts, worüber man nach Hause schreiben kann, aber dann ist dies ein Hochleistungssommerreifen, kein Winterreifen. Die Reifen waren nicht übermäßig laut oder härter als alle anderen Reifen, die ich am Auto hatte. Sie waren ziemlich unauffällig und mit dem -20 mm tieferen Sportfahrwerk am Auto waren sie nicht übermäßig um Schlaglöcher herum. Der Kraftstoffverbrauch war auch ziemlich gut.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI

Ayant déjà eu deux ensembles de la génération précédente Dunlop SP Sportmaxx RT sur ma Mondeo auparavant, je n'ai pas hésité à opter pour la RT2 de nouvelle génération lorsqu'ils sont venus pour le remplacer. Comme pour la génération précédente, j'ai été impressionné par ce pneu, mais la plus grande amélioration par rapport à la génération précédente, j'ai trouvé que le taux d'usure était bien meilleur. J'ai tendance à porter la vitesse dans les virages où je peux et ceux-ci étaient certainement communicatifs et adhérents à la fois secs et humides. L'autoroute à grande vitesse dans de l'eau stagnante n'était pas un problème pour ces derniers et j'ai pu continuer quand d'autres voitures ralentissaient ou tournaient. L'adhérence sur la neige n'est pas quelque chose d'extraordinaire, mais il s'agit d'un pneu d'été performant et non d'hiver. Les pneus n'étaient pas trop bruyants ou plus durs que tous les autres pneus que j'avais sur la voiture. Ils étaient plutôt discrets et avec le pack de suspension sport inférieur de -20 mm sur la voiture, ils n'étaient pas trop nerveux autour des nids-de-poule. La consommation de carburant était également assez bonne.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A

On a A-class 220 with 560NM torque this tyre is a problem in wet conditions and simply unreliable. Maybe the problem lies in the AMG sportline shocks. For the rest it's good value for money.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A

Bei einer A-Klasse 220 mit 560 Nm Drehmoment ist dieser Reifen bei Nässe ein Problem und einfach unzuverlässig. Vielleicht liegt das Problem in den AMG Sportline-Stoßdämpfern. Für den Rest ist es ein gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A

Sur un 220 de classe A avec un couple de 560 Nm, ce pneu pose un problème dans des conditions humides et n'est tout simplement pas fiable. Peut-être que le problème réside dans les amortisseurs AMG sportline. Pour le reste c'est un bon rapport qualité prix.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro

Have had the Sportmaxx RT2 fitted to my ‘06 A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro since early 2018. During nov- march I’ve got winter tyres fitted. The tyres have done 45.000 km / 28.000 mi and are down to 2 to 2.5 mm. Previously I’ve had Falken ZIEX, Hankook Ventus V12 and Pirelli’s fitted. Wear and comfortwise the Sportmaxx RT2 are the best of all tyres I’ve had on the car. The Falken’s had slightly better grip on warm dry days but where down in all other conditions and only lasted 30.000 km / 18.750 mi. The Hankook’s were slightly better on wear compared to the Falken’s but wore unevenly and gave the car an unresponsive feel. The Pirelli’s had the least grip, the least comfort. Can’t comment on wear, they started showing cracks in the sidewall after 2 years. Switched to the Sportmaxx RT2 after the Pirelli’s and a new set will def. be fitted after winter. Tyres give excellent grip in dry and wet weather. The tyres give the car a comfortable ride and responsive steering feel. Plus the noise they produce, our should I say lack off, is less compared to the Falken’s and Pirelli’s. If I had to name a slight downside it would be cold (

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro

Habe den Sportmaxx RT2 seit Anfang 2018 an meinem '06 A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro montiert. Im November habe ich Winterreifen montiert. Die Reifen haben 45.000 km zurückgelegt und sind bis zu 2 bis 2,5 mm tief. Zuvor hatte ich Falken ZIEX, Hankook Ventus V12 und Pirelli montiert. Verschleiß und Komfort sind die Sportmaxx RT2 die besten aller Reifen, die ich im Auto hatte. Die Falken hatten an warmen, trockenen Tagen etwas besseren Grip, waren aber unter allen anderen Bedingungen unten und dauerten nur 30.000 km. Die Hankooks waren etwas strapazierfähiger als die Falken's, trugen sich jedoch ungleichmäßig und gaben dem Auto ein nicht reagierendes Gefühl. Die Pirelli hatten den geringsten Grip, den geringsten Komfort. Ich kann mich nicht zum Verschleiß äußern, sie zeigten nach 2 Jahren Risse in der Seitenwand. Nach dem Pirelli auf den Sportmaxx RT2 umgestellt und ein neues Set wird def. nach dem Winter angepasst werden. Reifen bieten hervorragenden Grip bei trockenem und nassem Wetter. Die Reifen geben dem Auto ein angenehmes Fahrgefühl und ein ansprechendes Lenkgefühl. Außerdem ist der Lärm, den sie erzeugen, weniger als der von Falken und Pirelli. Wenn ich einen kleinen Nachteil nennen müsste, wäre es kalt (

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro

J'ai fait monter le Sportmaxx RT2 sur mon '06 A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro depuis début 2018. En novembre-mars, j'ai installé des pneus hiver. Les pneus ont parcouru 45 000 km / 28 000 mi et sont descendus de 2 à 2,5 mm. Auparavant, j'ai fait monter Falken ZIEX, Hankook Ventus V12 et Pirelli. Usure et confort, le Sportmaxx RT2 est le meilleur de tous les pneus que j'ai eu sur la voiture. Les Falken avaient une adhérence légèrement meilleure lors des journées chaudes et sèches, mais en baisse dans toutes les autres conditions et ne duraient que 30 000 km / 18,750 mi. Les Hankook étaient légèrement meilleurs sur l'usure que les Falken, mais portaient de manière inégale et donnaient à la voiture une sensation de non-réponse. Les Pirelli avaient le moins d'adhérence, le moins de confort. Je ne peux pas faire de commentaire sur l'usure, ils ont commencé à montrer des fissures dans le flanc après 2 ans. Passé au Sportmaxx RT2 après le Pirelli et un nouvel ensemble sera déf. être installé après l'hiver. Les pneus offrent une excellente adhérence par temps sec et humide. Les pneus donnent à la voiture une conduite confortable et une sensation de direction réactive. De plus, le bruit qu'ils produisent, je devrais dire qu'il manque, est moins comparé aux Falken et aux Pirelli. Si je devais nommer un léger inconvénient, ce serait froid (

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
39%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 7,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

Big noise after 9.000 km,because of,uneven grinding of the tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-W

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.