Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2

The Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 is a Summer Max Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2
79%[average]
Dry Grip
85%
Wet Grip
79%
Road Feedback
79%
Progressiveness
81%
Wear
76%
Comfort
81%
Buy Again
70%

Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 Reviews

69%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,000 Spirited miles

Renault Clio 182 Cup Pack

Would buy again because of the price, but handling isn't very good. I got these for my Clio 182 and the car response became too darty and lacked linearity in the way lateral forces were built-up, making you feel there's not enough lateral support. Precision wasn't really good, as in assessing the required steering angle for some corners. Grip in the dry is good, a little lower than expected in the wet but progressive enough and predictable at the limit. Wear in this light car is good. Comfort is good, impacts feel rounded and rolling noise is low (205/45R16). I got the same tyre for the Megane rs175 (225/40R18) in the A0 spec from Audi, as I had driven an A3 on those tyres in circuit and found it superb in terms of driving pleasure. Balance is playful and with low understeer, but lower understeer in this type of car would be better. Grip when new in wet or dry was good and predictable when approaching the limit. In the Megane this tyre lasted many spirited miles (8k+) but now towards the end of their life they got cracks on the outer edge of the pattern and the grip in the dry is just not enough, especially traction/braking. Comfort is terrible since the beginning, with too high impact forces and too high noise (low frequency noise), especially rolling noise. Roundness is fair and the shake is well controlled, absorbing impacts with enough quality feel.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 10 Average miles

Jaguar XKR 5.0

I bought and fitted these tyres to a 2013 Jaguar XKR Coupe in November 2019. Now 10,000 miles and 15 months later all tyres are showing hair line cracks running along the valleys between the treads. I admit car because of COVID not used so much in last 12 months. But at £800 cost I feel these tyres should be able to cope with diverse use and mileages. As I write I am not aware whether this is an MOT failure or not. Performance of tyre In wet and dry conditions generally good and with out issues. I only discovered these cracking problems yesterday and have not yet taken it up with Dunlop but will be. There was nothing I could do to prevent this and through the ownership period I have maintained the the recommended pressures. VERY POOR DUNLOP!!! Roger

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
91%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI

Having had two sets of the previous generation Dunlop SP Sportmaxx RT on my Mondeo before, I had no hesitation going for the next generation RT2 when they came for replacement. As with the previous generation I was impressed with this tyre but the biggest upgrade from the previous generation I found the wear rate to be much better. I tend to carry speed through bends where I can and these were certainly communicative and grippy both dry and wet. High speed motorway running in heavy standing water wasn't a problem for these and I was able to carry on when other cars were slowing down or spinning off. Snow grip isn't anything to write home about but then this is a performance summer tyre not a winter one. The tyres weren't unduly noisy or harsher than any other tyres I'd had on the car. They were pretty low profile and with the -20mm lower sports suspension pack on the car they weren't overly thrashy around potholes. Fuel consumption was pretty good too.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-40-18-W
76%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 12,000 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz A

On a A-class 220 with 560NM torque this tyre is a problem in wet conditions and simply unreliable. Maybe the problem lies in the AMG sportline shocks. For the rest it's good value for money.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-18-W
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 28,000 Spirited miles

Audi A6 3.0 TDI Quattro

Have had the Sportmaxx RT2 fitted to my ‘06 A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro since early 2018. During nov- march I’ve got winter tyres fitted. The tyres have done 45.000 km / 28.000 mi and are down to 2 to 2.5 mm. Previously I’ve had Falken ZIEX, Hankook Ventus V12 and Pirelli’s fitted. Wear and comfortwise the Sportmaxx RT2 are the best of all tyres I’ve had on the car. The Falken’s had slightly better grip on warm dry days but where down in all other conditions and only lasted 30.000 km / 18.750 mi. The Hankook’s were slightly better on wear compared to the Falken’s but wore unevenly and gave the car an unresponsive feel. The Pirelli’s had the least grip, the least comfort. Can’t comment on wear, they started showing cracks in the sidewall after 2 years. Switched to the Sportmaxx RT2 after the Pirelli’s and a new set will def. be fitted after winter. Tyres give excellent grip in dry and wet weather. The tyres give the car a comfortable ride and responsive steering feel. Plus the noise they produce, our should I say lack off, is less compared to the Falken’s and Pirelli’s. If I had to name a slight downside it would be cold (

Tyre size reviewed: 245-40-18-W
39%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 1
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 7,000 Average miles

BMW 320D

Big noise after 9.000 km,because of,uneven grinding of the tires.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-35-18-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 4,500 Easy Going miles

Lexus CT200h

Fitted these tyres to my Lexus and I only have positive things to say about them. Firstly dry grip is great and same for wet grip. I avoid standing water so can’t comment on aquaplaining. I’ve had no issues with breaking distances in dry or the wet. I do drive sensibly and not someone who pushes the car over 75mph or at speed around corners. You may describe me as a Sunday driver. Comfort of the tyres and driving experience is better than my previous tyres which were Hankooks, I get many many miles out of my tyres due to my way of driving but can’t say what I’ll get out of these yet, only covered 4500 miles on them so far and there still like new. My Hankooks on the front covered 17000 miles and rear the same, but they were not worn out when I changed to the Dunlop’s. They were about half way worn. People say change tyres in pairs and that is good advice but I change all 4. It’s something I’ve always done. If one tyre goes they all go... so overall I like the Dunlop’s and can’t think of any reason why I wouldn’t buy them again.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
50%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 5
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 18,000 Average miles

BMW X2 sDrive 20i M Sport X

I BOUGHT A BMW X2 1.6D SDRIVE WITH 14000KM BEFORE TWO MONTHS THE CAR WEARED THOSE TYRES. AT 18000KM THE TYRES BECAME VERY SLIPPY THIS IS MORE DANGEROUS IN DRY ROAD INSTEAD OF WET ROAD. I WOULDNT CHOOSE THEM AGAIN.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-
47%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 4
  • Road Feedback 3
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 3,000 Average miles

Jaguar XKR

No wet grip.Hydroplaning occurs, no feeling of ground contact.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 3
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Audi A3 2.0T quattro

very performing tire in the first months of life up to 15000km after it becomes very slippery hard both on dry and not to mention the wet highly not recommended in my opinion, I was a dunlop enthusiast most likely I will move to goodyear

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.