Continental Cross Contact UHP

The Continental Cross Contact UHP is a Summer Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Continental Cross Contact UHP
72%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
79%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
53%
Comfort
72%
Buy Again
64%

Continental Cross Contact UHP Reviews

57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 36,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

I got these tyres with my car from my dealer in 2016. I live in Bahrain (Mostly sunny/summer weather). It gets as hot as 45 degrees Celsius. The tyres has excellent dry grip when I initially started using the car. Wet grip was fairly OK. Breaking distance was excellent in the beginning.

However my main concern is how easily the tyres were worn out. I drove 58,000 km (36,000 miles) in 3 years.

The grip has become extremely poor and breaking distance got worse. I ended up in an accident because the car wouldn’t stop (even though I pushed the breaks on time). The car drifted/swayed in long curved roads multiple times (it was a sunny day and i was driving 60-70 km/hr on a dry asphalt surface)

Conclusion: Early on i was very impressed with the grip, comfort, handling and breaking distance. However, they wear out very fast and driving becomes dangerous in these tyres if not changed.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 36,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

Ich habe diese Reifen 2016 mit meinem Auto von meinem Händler bekommen. Ich lebe in Bahrain (meistens sonnig / Sommerwetter). Es wird so heiß wie 45 Grad Celsius. Die Reifen haben eine ausgezeichnete Trockenhaftung, als ich anfing, das Auto zu benutzen. Der nasse Griff war ziemlich in Ordnung. Die Bremsstrecke war am Anfang ausgezeichnet.

Mein Hauptanliegen ist jedoch, wie leicht die Reifen abgenutzt sind. Ich bin in 3 Jahren 58.000 km gefahren.

Der Griff ist extrem schlecht geworden und der Bremsweg hat sich verschlechtert. Ich hatte einen Unfall, weil das Auto nicht anhalten würde (obwohl ich die Pausen pünktlich verschoben habe). Das Auto trieb / schwankte mehrmals auf langen, kurvigen Straßen (es war ein sonniger Tag und ich fuhr 60-70 km / h auf einer trockenen Asphaltoberfläche)

Fazit: Schon früh war ich sehr beeindruckt von Grip, Komfort, Handling und Bremsweg. Sie nutzen sich jedoch sehr schnell ab und das Fahren in diesen Reifen wird gefährlich, wenn sie nicht gewechselt werden.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-
57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 36,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

J'ai obtenu ces pneus avec ma voiture chez mon concessionnaire en 2016. Je vis à Bahreïn (surtout ensoleillé / été). Il fait aussi chaud que 45 degrés Celsius. Les pneus ont une excellente adhérence sur le sec lorsque j'ai commencé à utiliser la voiture. L'adhérence sur sol mouillé était assez correcte. La distance de rupture était excellente au début.

Cependant, ma principale préoccupation est la facilité avec laquelle les pneus s'usent. J'ai parcouru 58 000 km (36 000 milles) en 3 ans.

L'adhérence est devenue extrêmement mauvaise et la distance de rupture s'est aggravée. J'ai fini dans un accident parce que la voiture ne s'arrêtait pas (même si j'ai poussé les pauses à l'heure). La voiture a dérivé / balancé plusieurs fois sur de longues routes courbes (c'était une journée ensoleillée et je roulais à 60-70 km / h sur une surface asphaltée sèche)

Conclusion: au début, j'ai été très impressionné par l'adhérence, le confort, la maniabilité et la distance de rupture. Cependant, ils s'usent très vite et la conduite devient dangereuse avec ces pneus s'ils ne sont pas modifiés.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Jeep Grand Cherokee

They came as factory equipped tyres.
Poor performing tyre. Wore very fast, i got around 20000 miles from the set.
Dry in the grip and wet ok. Rigid tyre over bumps.
Around corners they are loosing grip and squeeking (the 18 inch Nokians for Winter don't).
Never buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-50-20-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Jeep Grand Cherokee

Sie kamen als werkseitig ausgerüstete Reifen.
Reifen mit schlechter Leistung. Trug sehr schnell, ich kam ungefähr 20000 Meilen vom Set.
Im Griff trocken und nass ok. Starrer Reifen über Unebenheiten.
Um die Ecken verlieren sie den Halt und quetschen (die 18-Zoll-Nokians für den Winter nicht).
Nie wieder kaufen.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-50-20-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Jeep Grand Cherokee

Ils sont venus en tant que pneus équipés d'usine.
Pneu peu performant. Porté très vite, j'ai parcouru environ 20000 miles de l'ensemble.
Sec dans la poignée et humide ok. Pneu rigide sur les bosses.
Dans les virages, ils perdent leur adhérence et se resserrent (les Nokians de 18 pouces pour l'hiver ne le font pas).
N'achetez plus jamais.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-50-20-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4 matic

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-19-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz ML

I have used these tyres on my ML 320 for the past two years - I have managed to get about 25k out of them during this time. Having also used Pirelli’s, the UHP’s are by far a better wearing tyre. At around £160 per tyre, cost and wear is obviously a primary concern.The driving has been mostly around towns is Wales, so quite hilly, but we’ve done some seriously long haul runs too. I can’t praise these tyres enough.

As far as performance is concerned, I have no quibbles, wet , dry,snow, they perform very well.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Land Rover Discovery 2


I live in France. I run a late Landrover Discovery 2 TD5 amongst other vehicles. I have been using Continental Cross Contact UHP 255 50 R19 tyres for some years. I must admit that these tyres have proved excellent in most if not all weathers. I believe they are summer tyres but on the French west coast we rarely see any ice or snow. Prior to these I ran Goodyear F1 tyres of the same size and they were also excellent and eve better the the Continental tyres in the wet. I have to admit at this point I used to race cars so I know where the limits are and the differences between understeer and oversteer and how to cope with them.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-19-W
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

Much much noisier than the factory fitted tyres and transmitted road bumps solidly into the cab. Seem to be wearing poorly too, and now fixing 3rd slow leak. Not buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-V

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.