Continental Cross Contact UHP

The Continental Cross Contact UHP is a Summer Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a SUV and 4x4.

Continental Cross Contact UHP
72%[average]
Dry Grip
86%
Wet Grip
79%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
74%
Wear
53%
Comfort
72%
Buy Again
64%

Continental Cross Contact UHP Reviews

57%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 2
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 4

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 36,000 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

I got these tyres with my car from my dealer in 2016. I live in Bahrain (Mostly sunny/summer weather). It gets as hot as 45 degrees Celsius. The tyres has excellent dry grip when I initially started using the car. Wet grip was fairly OK. Breaking distance was excellent in the beginning.

However my main concern is how easily the tyres were worn out. I drove 58,000 km (36,000 miles) in 3 years.

The grip has become extremely poor and breaking distance got worse. I ended up in an accident because the car wouldn’t stop (even though I pushed the breaks on time). The car drifted/swayed in long curved roads multiple times (it was a sunny day and i was driving 60-70 km/hr on a dry asphalt surface)

Conclusion: Early on i was very impressed with the grip, comfort, handling and breaking distance. However, they wear out very fast and driving becomes dangerous in these tyres if not changed.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-
0%

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Jeep Grand Cherokee

They came as factory equipped tyres.
Poor performing tyre. Wore very fast, i got around 20000 miles from the set.
Dry in the grip and wet ok. Rigid tyre over bumps.
Around corners they are loosing grip and squeeking (the 18 inch Nokians for Winter don't).
Never buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 265-50-20-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 0 Average miles

Mercedes Benz MB GLK 220 CDI 4 matic

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-19-
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 25,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz ML

I have used these tyres on my ML 320 for the past two years - I have managed to get about 25k out of them during this time. Having also used Pirelli’s, the UHP’s are by far a better wearing tyre. At around £160 per tyre, cost and wear is obviously a primary concern.The driving has been mostly around towns is Wales, so quite hilly, but we’ve done some seriously long haul runs too. I can’t praise these tyres enough.

As far as performance is concerned, I have no quibbles, wet , dry,snow, they perform very well.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-W
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Land Rover Discovery 2


I live in France. I run a late Landrover Discovery 2 TD5 amongst other vehicles. I have been using Continental Cross Contact UHP 255 50 R19 tyres for some years. I must admit that these tyres have proved excellent in most if not all weathers. I believe they are summer tyres but on the French west coast we rarely see any ice or snow. Prior to these I ran Goodyear F1 tyres of the same size and they were also excellent and eve better the the Continental tyres in the wet. I have to admit at this point I used to race cars so I know where the limits are and the differences between understeer and oversteer and how to cope with them.

Tyre size reviewed: 255-50-19-W
54%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Spirited miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

Much much noisier than the factory fitted tyres and transmitted road bumps solidly into the cab. Seem to be wearing poorly too, and now fixing 3rd slow leak. Not buy again.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-V
52%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 1
  • Comfort 1

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Town for 17,800 Average miles

Land Rover Range Rover Evoque

Fronts gone before 18000 miles, rears holding out just fine about twice the tread left compared to the fronts. Noisy tyre and hard riding . Not impressed, not replacing the fronts with these again.

Tyre size reviewed: 245-45-20-
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 40 Average miles

Volkswagen Tiguan Sport 2.0 TDI 140hp

Very happy all round tyres, that do all conditions very well. Over 40k miles from a complete set of 4, which were rotated to balance the wear. Originally had a set of Goodyear performance tyres beforehand, which were excellent in the dry, very good in the wet, but dangerous in mud, snow and on grass - due to their diagonal treads. So, now about to buy another set of the Conti Cross Contacts UHPs.

Tyre size reviewed: 235-50-18-V
53%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 4
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 1

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 15,000 Average miles

Mitsubishi Outlander

Regular wheel rotation to try and balance out the excessive wear, but need to change them after 25000km (15000m).. Very poor wear performance from this tyre, also found them noisy and pretty useless on anything other than dry tarmac. Glad to be rid of them.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-55-18-
81%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 63,000 Spirited miles

Volkswagen Amarok permanent 4x4

63000 miles on my Amarok before they needed changing

motorway and A roads

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-19-H

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.