Firestone TZ300

The Firestone TZ300 is a Summer High Performance tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Firestone TZ300
72%[average]
Dry Grip
81%
Wet Grip
71%
Road Feedback
75%
Progressiveness
63%
Wear
68%
Comfort
76%
Buy Again
70%

Firestone TZ300 Reviews

61%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 1
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,500 Average miles

Opel insignia

Have it on Opel Insignia. Good tyre in a dry condition but in wet and rain is really bad. Braking catastrofic, be very carefull. A little bit noisy but confortable. M.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
87%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 22,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 147 JTD

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 195-60-15-
63%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 5
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 0 Average miles

Hyundai Coupe 2.0L

Just replaced my old Michelin tyres for these on my Hyundai Coupe. The tyres or good, not brilliant but just good. I find cornering is ok, although when pushed they can be slightly unpredictable when compared to my last tyres. There was a big noticeable difference here. My main criticism is straight line speed where they become quite didgety and to be honest quite scary. Steering goes very light over 85mph, and this is not down to my suspension set up as the previous tyres didn't do this. Overall a comfort tyre rather than a sport tyre but thats what they are being marketed as. I might change them over next year back to Micheline or Vredestein tyres if i keep the car.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
77%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Spirited miles

Ford Fiesta

Very good overall tyre, Very good dry grip as well as in the wet, only loses grip in the wet when really pushed.

Not bad for road feedback but in my opinion not as good as previous Kuhmos

Wear is good though, done 10k on them so far and only about half worn

Tyre size reviewed: 195-50-15-V
59%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 7
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 3
  • Comfort 7
  • Buy again 3

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 16,000 Easy Going miles

Ford Focus MK3

not sure what most of the categories mean when trying to mark the tyres but just want to add my feelings regarding wear .... mine have lasted only 16,000 and im no Nigel Mansel !

Just wondered if I should have gone back to Firestone and report this meager mileage ?

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Country Roads for 5,000 Spirited miles

Skoda Octavia

Marks given are relative to the OE Dunlop tyres that have been on the car since new. I was never really comfortable with the OE Dunlop 2000's but I migrated to the Dunlop 200's to keep consistency with a view to exchanging after 3 years. As it turned out, we kept the car so when the time came I looked for something better. I used this site to cross reference good reviews vs what the local garages were stocking and I picked the Firestones. Well, they are soooo much better. I live in Scotland so it is all twisty-turny A-Roads with the odd down-pour to deal with. Firestones ace the Dunlops in every respect. They make driving the car fun. And when my other mode of transport is a 1200cc motorbike, that's high praise indeed.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-60-15-
56%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 6
  • Wet Grip 5
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 6
  • Buy again 5

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,500 Average miles

Renault 19

Good tyre in the dry and average in the wet.
In summer days when the tarmac is hot the tyres are very noisy and start to loose grip which leads to understeer in sharp corners or roundabouts.
The front ones are wearing even but a little faster than expected.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-60-14-H
84%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 18,000 Spirited miles

Alfa Romeo 156 2.4 JTD mjet

Alfa 156 2.4 20v. With it's very heavy engine (and my "keen" driving probably) it's incredibly hard on front tyres. T1Rs did about 12k, Sportrac 3 managed 10k (!). I tried the Firestones through needing something a bit longer lasting, expecting to have to compromise on grip. Nope!

Really really good tyres for the price. Quiet, good firm sidewalls so positive handling when pushing on, almost as good in the wet as in the dry and have managed 18k on the fronts! The rears have loads in em yet.

I've just decided to put another pair on as I can't find anything to suggest another similar priced tyre would be any better.

One caveat - they're not that good in the snow due to the channelled tread design. There are no blocks to "bite in". The Toyo T1Rs I had were superb in snow, if not so hot the rest of the time....

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 5
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 129 Average miles

Vauxhall Astra

2003 Astra fitted with Firehawk from new. I'm not a speed merchant but usually 80 + on good roads. Replaced front tyres at 45,000 with equivalent Firestone in 2006! Replaced all round at 87,317 miles with TZ300 88H in Feb 09! now replacing front again at 129,000! can anyone beat that? Poor road surfaces now make more road noise.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-R
70%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 8
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 7
  • Wear 5
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 6

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 20,000 Spirited miles

Ford Puma 1.7

Good tyre to start with, have these fitted to my 1.7 Puma but they are not wearing well. Not even done 20,000 miles. Yes I dont hang around, I dont wheel spin though! Other tyres have lasted much longer. If you dont mind changing tryes sooner rather than later then for the price they arent a bad option.

Tyre size reviewed: 225-45-17-

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.