Continental WinterContact TS 860

The Continental WinterContact TS 860 is a Winter Premium Touring tyre designed to be fitted to a Passenger Car.

Continental WinterContact TS 860
86%[average]
Dry Grip
90%
Wet Grip
95%
Road Feedback
87%
Progressiveness
88%
Wear
82%
Comfort
89%
Buy Again
89%

Continental WinterContact TS 860 Reviews (2)

48%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 4
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,500 Average miles

Fiat LINEA T JET

Ich habe einen Fiat Linea T-Jet, ein 120 Newtonmeter hohes Drehmoment. Im Durchschnitt fahre ich 10 km pro Tag, 20 km Autobahn 20 km Autobahn. Über 80 km / h ist der Conti sehr, sehr laut. Auf dem Eis und auf dem Eis verlieren Sie bald den Griff! Aquaplaning sollte nur bei höheren Geschwindigkeiten erwartet werden. Bei Regen und trockenen Straßen verhält es sich ziemlich gut. Flache Straße und Stadt für Fahrzeuge mit geringerer Leistung und Drehmoment oder ESP- und drehmomentgesteuerte Fahrzeuge. Der 2003 Semperit SportGrip und der 2008 Dunlop Wintersport D 3 sind auf verschneiten und holprigen Straßen besser und ruhiger! Verschleißfest, nach 10.000 km Fahrt, 7 mm des ersten angetriebenen 7,7 mm-Hinterreifens. Ich dachte besser, ich habe das Recht von der weltbekannten Marke Continental erwartet! Könnte der Conti 860 S gekauft werden? Wenn Sie Erfahrung haben, schreiben Sie es bitte.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
48%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 7
  • Wet Grip 6
  • Road Feedback 6
  • Handling 6
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 3
  • Buy again 1
  • Trockenhaftung 4
  • Nassgriff 2

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 6,500 Average miles

Fiat LINEA T JET

J'ai une voiture Fiat Linea T-Jet, un couple de 120 Newton-mètre de 120 chevaux. En moyenne, je conduis 10 km par jour, 20 km par 20 km. À plus de 80 km / h, le Conti est très très bruyant. Sur la glace et sur la glace bientôt perdre la poignée! L'aquaplanage ne devrait être prévu qu'à des vitesses plus élevées. Il se comporte assez bien par temps pluvieux et sec. Route et ville plates pour voitures à puissance et couple réduits, ou voitures ESP et à couple contrôlé. Le Semperit SportGrip 2003 et le Dunlop Winter Sport D 3 2008 sont meilleurs sur les routes enneigées et cahoteuses et plus calmes! Résistant à l'usure, après 10 000 km de course, 7 mm du premier pneu arrière entraîné, de 7,7 mm. Je pensais mieux, j'attendais le droit de la célèbre marque Continental! Peut-on acheter le Conti 860 S? Si vous avez l'expérience de quelqu'un, écrivez-le s'il vous plaît.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T
78%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 8
  • Trockenhaftung 7
  • Nassgriff 5

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 12,427 Average miles

Opel Meriva B 1.4 LPG

I purchased a set of these as new in 2017 (production year 2017 also). Summer tyre is Bridgestone ER300. Comparing to this summer tyre - very quiet tyre, I was astonished - and still am. This is the least noisy winter tyre ever, furthermore it is more quiet then many summer tyres I owned in the past. Big plus. This is their second season. Another big plus - they are visibly more fuel efficient than the said Bridgestones. Wow.

Second of all - I bought these because I was always changing tyres late on, and getting back to summer tyres at first signs of spring. Why? Because of inadequate wet/dry handling of winter tyres. Now these tyres are perfect on wet and dry roads, grip is perfect in all of such conditions, just as the reviews I've read said. Nice.

Unfortunately snow and ice grip is not that good comparing to other winter tyres I have owned. Not that they are not predictable - they simply lack the grip that I had with some other brands. I can definetely feel the car, and a hard stop or corner is predictable. TC off in high snow-mud is a must. Still the tyre is solid in such conditions.

Wear seems to be on the faster side - a tradeoff for wet/dry conditions. Currently on second season front is around 5,0-5,5mm, rear 6,0-6,5mm. I think that at the end of the winter I'll hit them at 4 and 5,5mm respectively. For the third season I'll change frontrear and finish them off during the spring/summer. The tyres I think are good for 30000-40000km in winter and then maybe 10000km as summer finish.

First season they have been definetely better then in the second season. Small skidding has been now observed on wet roads. Still something that is not unexpected, but I guess that with age the tyres will have to behave worse. Seems that the compound hardened - my impression.

All in all a great winter tyre especially if most of Your winter is on wet/dry roads.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 8
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 7
  • Comfort 9
  • Buy again 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,000 Average miles

Mercedes Benz C180

Bought these tires last year as winter-tires and I now using them again for the winter.
Surprisingly good performance on dry roads even at temperature up to +20 C, very stable and good handling, comfortable and low noise-level.
The grip on dry roads in corners and turns are very good for a winter tire, not exactly as firm as a good summer tire but it is not at all far away.
Very good in wet and heavy rain, very safe in the wet regardless of temperature.
Regarding snow and ice conditions, my car is a 2013 Mercedes C class with a rear wheel drive, it is not a very good car for snowy and icy roads, I can only give my review based on this type of car, I have never driven with these tires on any other car.
The snow and ice performance on my car is most likely significantly reduced compared to basically any front-wheel drive car.
On this car the Continentals are, with reservation, acceptable on snow and ice conditions, but not more.
They are obviously much better than worthless summer-tires in the winter but it is obviously important to be aware of their limits.
On soft and relatively deep and dry snow , they are capable of climbing a 4 km long steep uphill curvy road without too much problems.
On wet and heavy snow and also in heavy slush these tires have huge problems on this car, on that same uphill road I have a very difficult time even to get halfway to my home and while my car gets to a complete standstill when my anti-spin effectively stops any spin, but also consequently any forward movement, my neighbors with their front-wheel drive cars in any shape and sizes are just sailing by me without any problems.
On pure icy roads it is better to leave the car in the garage, certainly if you are going up or downhill, basically no grip at all.
I must always be very careful in any corner and turns when there is snow and/or ice, the car slides very easily.
I can recommend these tires for winters with only occasional snow and ice conditions, but always be aware of their limits, and be aware of your cars limits.
For real lasting winter conditions I strongly recommend so-called "Nordic" winter tires if you can get them, they are usually far better for snow and ice although with reduced dry performance, maybe even reduced wet performance.
Continental, Goodyear, Pirelli, Nokian etc have "Nordic" winter-tires as options, much better for long lasting winters especially if your car, like mine, is not very suitable for winter conditions.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-T
80%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 8
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 7

Tyre reviewed on

Track for 10,000 Average miles

Opel insignia

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 225-50-17-
86%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 8
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 8
  • Wear 6
  • Comfort 8
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 8,700 Spirited miles

Renault Megane II Break 1.5dCI 105Hp

Been driving them for 2 winters for around 14000 km-8700 miles. Thread left is 5mm, so for another winter. Drive is great, when new there was a little wobble in corners, now there great,,, good on snow, especialy good on wet road. Will buy again even thou i think the wear is avarage.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
94%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 7
  • Handling 9
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

Mostly Motorways for 3,900 Spirited miles

Mercedes Benz SLK 200

Never had better winter tyre. Grip in wet, dry and snow is perfect. Wear is also good, after 6000km they have worn for 1-1,5mm. And they are quiet.
There are only two downsides. Sidewalls are pretty soft so car will loose a bit of steering response but not handling and because of thread design they pick up sand and stones so much that i have no color left on side skirts and rear bumper.
If roads in your country are sanded during winter you should consider buying mudflaps.

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-
99%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 9
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 2,180 Average miles

Hyundai i20

This is my initial review for this tire coming close to the end of the winter season. So far I have driven it on dry, wet and icy roads, bit of snow at some places. The tires feel comfortable and safe in all of these conditions. I had to do an emergency brake on dry and it felt almost like the summer tire. It only feels a slight wobbling, when in tight corners or when suddenly turning the steering wheel, compared to the sumer tires which are stiffer. It's barely noticeable though and I recon its due to the tire thread which is deeper compared to the summer tire. So far I'm very pleased with these tires and I hope they will last for a couple of more winter seasons.

Tyre size reviewed: 185-65-15-T
100%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 10
  • Wet Grip 10
  • Road Feedback 10
  • Handling 10
  • Wear 10
  • Comfort 10
  • Buy again 10

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 10,000 Average miles

Ford Cmax

No comments left

Tyre size reviewed: 205-55-16-V
90%
Breakdown Score
  • Dry Grip 9
  • Wet Grip 9
  • Road Feedback 9
  • Handling 9
  • Comfort 9

Tyre reviewed on

A Combination of Roads for 600 Average miles

Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi

I have these tyres for 1 week and I will talk about my first impressions. I drive Golf MK5 1.9 tdi. My tyres are 03534870000 195/65R15 91T WinterContact TS 860.
So far I drove 1000km on dry, wet and snowy roads. Tyres perform excellent on all road conditions. Especially on snow, it grips on snow like no other winter tyre. It has ton of grip on snow, you feel extremely safe.
Driving on dry road is also safe, there is no under steer like many other winter tyres tend to do.
Grip on wet road is also excellent.
The tyres and comfortable, and noise level is very low.
I have no idea how long they will last or if they will behave this good during the next few seasons.

Tyre size reviewed: 195-65-15-T

About Tyre Reviews

With over 1 Billion miles of real world reviews covering more than 1000 tyres, combined with over 60 expert tyre tests from across Europe, Tyre Reviews is the leading source of independent tyre information in the world.

Impartial & Trustworthy

Tyre Reviews is completely independent. We have no ties with manufacturers, and no preference of tyre brand. We simply recommend the best tyres available based on real world reviews and independent tyre tests.